We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful, unpretentious and good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel et Spa Uriage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This was a stop over for us on the drive down to Provence. It was all booked on line with virtually no reviews to speak of, so it was in at the deep end.

The Hotel is located right next to the beautiful public spa baths. Both buildings have lovely exteriors, and the front door to the hotel is located in a pedestrianised area, which you are still able to drive right up to. The hotel and the spa are the main focal points of this little village, which is a comfortable 9 km past Grenoble.

Our room was extremely comfortable, clean and spacious. The extra bed for our son was a good size and sturdier than the usual camping bed efforts. The bathroom was also large, and came well equipped with one of the best range of hotel freebie spa products I have seen. The products were all derived from the spa waters, so we had small tins of facial spa spray (which was well used on the beach the following week!) and lovely exfoliating and moisturising creams. I usually don't bother much with hotel toiletries, but these were really excellent.

The hotel restaurant was fully booked on the night of our stay, and when we looked at the menu, we could see why. It was pricey, but as it was packed with locals, we thought that this was probably a good recommendation. Book the restaurant in advance if you want to dine there.

Children are not allowed into the hotel spa waters until after 7 pm (which I can understand), but we were rewarded with the place pretty much all to ourselves. The waters were lovely and especially welcome after a 6 hour journey.

The hotel is located next door to the local park which is beautifully maintained. The Hotel terrace overlooks the park, and it was a treat to eat breakfast outside with such a lovely view of both the park and the mountains. Breakfast was good, with a fair selection of local jams and honies as well as some other home made specialities.

There is a lovely carousel in the park, right next to a mini golf course. There are also some 'suky' horses which are pedal race horses - see the photo. Our son absolutely loved it and went racing around the perimeter of the park countless times. All are within 5 minutes walk of the hotel.

The town itself is very quaint, slightly old fashioned, and very relaxing as most spa towns tend to be. There are a few restaurants along the main street, and we enjoyed a plat du jour looking out on the park and the mountains behind. Nothing fancy - just very good.

As a stop over, the town and hotel are highly recommended, especially if you have children who need to so some running around! (Make sure that you arrive later in the day so that you don't need to wait around for the spa). The park is lovely, the hotel is very good and offers excellent value for money. As a base for exploring Grenoble it's perfect, but otherwise a couple of days would be the most that you could probably stay here without looking for something more.

The website pictures don't do this hotel justice - it's a gem.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
8  Thank Maija63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel et Spa Uriage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 211 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2009

This is a lovely old grand building right at the entrance to the peaceful town of Uriage Les Bains. It sits next to the main road to Grenoble and faces the Casino (note: serves meals if needed) in one direction, and overlooks a lovely park in the other. The small group of shops, bars, and restaurants in Uriage are just across the road.

This hotel stands out from others in the area for 2 main reasons:
1) It is joined to the Thermal Baths complex and has its own naturally heated pool and spa treatment rooms
2) It houses the restaurant Les Terraces where celebrity chef Christophe Aribert serves his gastronomic creations
This means it is great for a luxury break and/or for real food-o-philes.

There are luxury suites available (named after celebrities who have stayed here during the hotel's opulent heyday) with their own private terraces overlooking the park.

Having said all that, for the standard rooms, it is a similar price to other hotels in Grenoble, so if you want somewhere that is peaceful at night and don't mind the 15-20min steep drive up from the city (it is however a good main road), then this is very nice hotel in a quiet town.

I have just returned from a 4 night business stay here, and found it very comfortable. The room (a "Classic") was spacious with a very comfortable large bed, more storage than you could ever use, a good size desk for working (and eating), and very restful modern decor. It looks like the rooms have recently been renovated. The bathroom was huge! with a bath and over-bath shower. Air-con, radiators, and double-glazing ensured that although the building is old, the rooms are very warm even when -4oC outside. Plenty of hot water too. There is a lift in the hotel, and secure car-parking if needed.

I didn't try the (expensive) gourmet restaurant (100 Euros set menu), but did have a room service meal from the same kitchen which was of superb quality.

A real plus for me was the indoor / outdoor pool, open until 11pm for guests, filled with hot spring water at a very pleasant 35oC. I swam late one night, outside onto the terrace, with frost all around, kept warm by the water. During the day there are spa treatments (I think you have to pay) too.

Staff were excellent, although beware the standard of spoken English is variable. Breakfast (included in my tariff) was of good quality but limited selection - pastries, cereals, yoghurt, jams, ham, cheeses etc. In common with many European hotels, there are no tea / coffee making facilities in the room.

Also beware that room service is *only* available when the restaurant is open - certain nights of the week - I would check this if you depend on it, I wans't aware and had to go out looking for a meal late on the first night (fortunately the Casino restaurant is open 7 nights a week).

I had a serious problem with no internet (hence a 4 star rating), and spoke to the manager about it. He was very helpful and said I could use his office for emails etc. I was told this was a temporary technical hiccup and that free WiFi in all rooms will be available from Feb 2009.

All in all, a very nice hotel with good staff, in a restful location. I didn't have time to explore, but it is only 20 mins drive from the Chamrousse ski stations.
Uriage seems like a pleasant quiet town, and there is a bus service to Grenoble opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank microbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2007

At the base of the Alps, just outside of Grenoble France, you’ll find the small spa town of Uriage and the Grand Hotel Uriage. A romantic escape from the hustle bustle of Grenoble city. My husband and I spent 2 nights here in December in the Mistinguett suite. 12 of the rooms are decorated after different celebrities that have stayed there, including a Coco Chanel suite.

Enjoy the fitness center, thermal pools, and spa connected to the hotel. Many treatment options, although I did not partake in any.

And the highly rated restaurant les Terrasses is not to be missed! One of the most amazing dinners my husband and I have shared. Food is plentiful, presentation - fantastical, and the staff – ultra professional.

Staff is French and English speaking.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank pascalk1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels
Thank Minou1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre 412 mansardée très cosi!
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND-HOTEL-URIAGE, Responsable commercial at Grand Hotel et Spa Uriage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank Pascal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND-HOTEL-URIAGE, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel et Spa Uriage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uriage les Bains
Hotel Restaurant Les Mesanges
#2 of 2 in Uriage les Bains
81 reviews
Hyper-Centre
Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel et Spa Uriage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et Spa Uriage

Address: 60 Place Deesse Hygie, 38410 Uriage les Bains, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Uriage les Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Uriage les Bains
Price Range: $113 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel et Spa Uriage 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel et Spa Uriage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing