We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop over”
Review of Oasis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oasis Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice stop over”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a one night stop over, Hotel did not open until five so plan your route and do not arrive early as it is locked. Breakfast is additional, I did not realise I had booked room only.
It is outside of the town but only a couple of minutes drive into the centre so it is not really a biggie. We ate at The pizza restaurant which is on site but not part of the hotel... it was okay and after a long days drive the rooms were clean, comfortable and what you needed.
Nice pool table in the bar and a gym on site.

Room Tip: We bought coffee from the bar in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Propriétaire at Oasis Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Google Translation
Toute l’équipe vous remercie pour votre commentaire.Le réception ouvre effectivement à 17 h mais vous pouvez arriver avant en nous contactant.Nous sommes un petit hôtel de 15 chambres et ne pouvons être ouvert toute la journée si nous voulons garder des prix attractifs. Merci et a bientôt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    147
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
279
2
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights last week whilst on business in the area.

Arrival and check in were painless, although the member of staff on duty spoke very little english, so had to make myself understood in French (last used 20 years ago!)

Room was clean and tidy, although a little dated.

The bar was nice and friendly and had a free pool table (not seen in the UK since 1985!)

The onsite pizzeria was very average, and as there is no where else to eat within walking distance, you are kind of limited to that or bar snack type food. The House wine at the pizzeria was dire....be warned !

The jacuzzi in my room worked, but wouldnt turn off, leading to a bit of a fawlty towers session with me trying to explain to the non english speaking staff..It was resolved whilst I was at (nice) breakfast.

Breakfast is reasonable, coffe, fresh juices, local ham, cheese, yoghurts etc.. Typical french fare.

Would happily stay here again, but once you accept it isnt a Sheraton (nor does it claim to be!), it's cool....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dukesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Propriétaire at Oasis Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Good evening Sir, I would like to thank you for your commentary and apologize for the trouble with the jacuzzi and for the pizzeria who's not us.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Charming room, tastefully furnished and comfortable. Bathroom could do with a bit of refurbishment. Concerned that the on site pizzeria was the only place to eat without a 15/20 minute walk or a drive. However, it also did grills and lovely galettes. Thought we might have a post dinner drink in the bar but it shut up at 9pm!
Great for an overnight stop

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Propriétaire at Oasis Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for you commentary , Me Spink. We close at 9 pm that day instead 11 pm because it was really quiet , you were the only guest to check in .Sorry about that.Hope to see you again.Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We arrived about 3pm to find the hotel locked up - the reception only opened at 5pm. However, we went to the local hypermarket to buy (bizarrely - British) beer and had a nose around the village. The manager did turn up at 5pm so all was well.

The hotel is set up like a motel - you park outside the room. Its a fair walk to the local village, and I was a bit concerned what we'd do (except eat at the pizza place opposite). However, I spotted in the hotel information pack that there is a disused railway line nearby (1 km up the road) and the owner directed us to it. It was great - going through lovely woodlands. We loved it . Although the hotel claims to have bikes for guests' use, they weren't available so you should ring ahead if you're interested in doing this - or take your own bikes.

The room was a bit dark, with one window at one end. The bathroom was a bit 70s-ish with unusual artwork on the walls. But the beds were clean, comfortable and the hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonShredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

After some experiences of Dubious quality during our holiday, it was with great joy and relief to spend our last night in France in this charming little hotel. Warm welcome in very pleasant surroundings. Great value too.

We had 3 adjoining rooms in a suite which easily accommodated our family of 5 in comfort. Perfect in fact and how nice to be all in one suite.

Grounds are lovely if compact but we ventured up a set of steps to find a field complete with 2 very friendly donkeys. This topped the evening off nicely for the kids after a good pizza in the restaurant on the same site.

The bar is also a really pleasant place to spend time. The family who run the hotel have really hit the bullseye on how to run this kind of hotel.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - in fact I would happily make a detour to do so - Fab!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve C, Propriétaire at Oasis Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you very much for you commentary.Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Bijou hotel in a quiet village. Lovely rooms and friendly staff. Will be back if in the area again. Was a bit difficult to find but got there in the end with telephone directions from hotel staff. Wifi worked fine in the rooms but not at breakfast in the restaurant. Breakfast selection was a bit limited but that could be down to the fact we pitched up earlier than we said. Did notice replenishments arrive just as we were finishing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yecala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

A very nice and charming family hotel, nicely situated close to all the nicest chateaus and picturesque Normand villages! I highly recommend it! The price|quality ratio is fantastic, better than most 3 stars we've been to. The breakfast is nice. The owners are a lovely french couple, they speak Spanish and English fluently (almost)!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giovinezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villaines la Juhel
9.5 mi away
Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de Charme
Le Gasseau Restaurant - Hotel de...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Leonard-des-Bois
163 reviews
12.6 mi away
Au Relais Du Gue De Selle
Au Relais Du Gue De Selle
#1 of 1 in Mezangers
120 reviews
18.7 mi away
Chateau de Saint Paterne
Chateau de Saint Paterne
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paterne
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Le Manoir du Lys
Le Manoir du Lys
#1 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
656 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel du Beryl
Hotel du Beryl
#2 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
698 reviews
15.5 mi away
Le Grand Hotel de Mayenne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hotel

Property: Oasis Hotel
Address: La Sourderie, Route de Javron, 53700 Villaines la Juhel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Mayenne > Villaines la Juhel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Villaines la Juhel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Oasis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing