We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that we expected”

The Old Forge House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chateaulin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Forge House
Ranked #2 of 4 Chateaulin B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I visited Chateaulin from September 9 through 11, 2011. On a previous visit, we stayed at a hotel in Port Launay where we found the service to be impersonal and the accommodation to be marginal at best.

On this visit, we stayed at the Old Forge House, an old house located an easy walk from the center of the city. Our room was clean and pleasant, breakfast was good and ample, and wi-fi was available. Although the room faced a fairly busy road and there was traffic noise during the night, this was more than compensated for by the warm, personal service of owner/hosts Andrew and Lesley and their bi-lingual assistant, Richard.

After selecting the Old Forge House, on the basis of information contained in its website and Trip Advisor reviews, we made our arrangements for the stay on-line. Andrew replied promptly to each e-mail, answered all of our questions, and upon learning that we would be arriving in Chateaulin by train, volunteered to and then did meet us at the station on arrival. He drove us to the station on departure.

Andrew, Lesley and Richard were helpful thrughout our visit. We are happy that we selected the Old Forge House for this visit and we would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbert29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 32 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

I have read the other reviews and I would have to agree with all of them. Our room was lovely, the bed was by far the comfiest we had slept in all week and our breakfast was just what was needed (we even made up lunch from the leftovers which was great as we were travelling across Brittany by bike). I think the thing that makes the Old Forge House stand out are the hosts. Andrew and Leslie have a little gold mine here, Andrew is such an interesting and endearing character that you feel as though you are chatting away with someone in the pub and Richard is like the B&B version of Richard E Grant, charming, intelligent and someone who would definately be on my list of top ten dinner party guests.
On our morning or departure we had yet again got engrossed in another conversation with Andrew and Richard which resulted in me forgetting my water bottle. We had just left Chateaulin and Andrew roared passed us on his very impressive bike and delivered me my water bottle. What a top man:) :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eld2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We have stayed on two occasions at The Old Forge House while looking for and subsequently buying a permanent home in the region. On the first occasion we arrived at 8pm after a journey from Launceston in Cornwall via the Channel Tunnel. This was due to having two very nervous rehomed dogs. Andrew and Leslie were perfectly content to have the dogs and refused to make an additional charge. We were given a very warm welcome and as it was late and we clearly looked exhausted offered a hot meal. Richard insisted on unloading the car and we unwound almost immediately. The room was comfortable and superb. The rooms have nice touches such as Earl Grey Tea bags and hot chocolate in addition to to tea and coffee, sewing kits, writing paper.
Breakfast was at a time to suit us and was a plentiful Continental. Varieties of cold meat and cheese, croissants and bread fresh from the boulangerie, jams and fruit. Fresh fruit juice and hot drinks on tap. If anybody can find me an English B and B offering this standard for the price I would like to know about it. The rooms and dining area are spotlessly clean and a very high standard of hygiene is evident. The house is close to The Cemetry so no noisy neighbours. There is an excellent vet a few yards down the road and Richard was able to make appointments for the dogs injections prior to the return trips to the UK. He is a font of local knowledge, speaks fluent French and will make any appointments necessary if you find the language a problem. When we needed company, support and advice they were there, when we needed quiet to recoup and to be by ourselves we were able to do so.This excellent Professional team provide a first rate service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller1926673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

A lucky find as I was recommended this place from a hotel in the town who were fully booked. Richard, Lesley and Andrew were fantastic hosts and the service they provided was more than could be hoped for. The room was clean, comfortable, tasteful and good value and the breakfast was wonderful. I enjoyed the stay so much I would go out of my way to visit them again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dooey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This bed and breakfast was a lucky find that was fantastic. We were greeted by Richard, who it turned out was an ex-pat from the UK, and was our host while we stayed there. Since we don't speak French, it was wonderful to be able to ask someone about all the stuff we'd been seeing.

After showing us our room we hung out in the kitchen talking with Richard about our travels (his and ours). He was incredibly warm and hospitable, making us feel like we had met a friend, not a businessman.

Our room was located up the stairs on the third floor. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and clean. The shower even had multiple heads!

Provided in the room was coffee and tea, and other toiletries, and even a sewing kit. The coffee was unusual for the hotels we had been staying at in France up to this point, and very much appreciated.

In the morning we were provided with a great breakfast that included, cheese, meats, pastries, coffee, tea and juices.

We had no problem parking on street, in front of the hotel for our stay. There is rear parking as well.

Free WiFi was provided, but was a bit awkward to connect. A interior latch on the chamber door should also be provided (we didn't find a way).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyactec, Owner at The Old Forge House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2010

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that Richard took good care of you whilst you were here and you enjoyed the stay. With regard to having latches on the chambre doors, all rooms are lockable from both sides with a key, which unfortunately and uncharacteristically Richard forgot to give you!

Thanks again,
Andrew & Lesley Cornell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Actually stayed twice, during purchase and then renovation of a house in Chateaulin (a lovely town.) The B&B rooms are very clean with modern bathrooms, but it's the hosts that make it such a pleasure to stay. Lesley and Andrew really make the effort to ensure guests are happy - they even bought special food for breakfast for my son-in-law's dietary needs.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I stayed 3 nights here on a short biking holiday and must admit I was very impressed with the accommodation and service at this small B&B. The hosts Andrew and Lesley bought the property a couple of years ago when they moved to France from the UK and have done it up to offer 3 double en suite rooms with coffee machines, kettles, WiFi and DVD players with video library.

Nothing was too much trouble - secure parking for our bikes, tea and coffee on arrival, they even whipped us up some food when we arrived back late one night and everywhere had shut. They got up at 5am to make us breakfast on the last morning as we had an early start to catch our ferry back. When we got back from our days out they would always put the kettle on and want to know about our day.

The next time I am in Brittany I will certainly be staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bronthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateaulin
8.5 mi away
Manoir de Moellien
Manoir de Moellien
#1 of 3 in Plonevez-Porzay
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LightHouse
The LightHouse
#1 of 4 in Chateaulin
11 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Residence Au Fil de L'Eau
#4 of 4 in Chateaulin
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Forge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Forge House

Address: 56 rue Graveran, 29150 Chateaulin, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Chateaulin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chateaulin
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Forge House Brittany/Chateaulin, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing