We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Our local Roman ruins

Members of our family stayed with us in our Montcaret Vacation rental Mill house last Autumn and we... read more

Reviewed May 5, 2018
sarahgrahambeck
,
Montcaret, France
Hidden gem

Hard to find but well worth a visit. Helpful, courteous staff. We arrived at midday but 30 minutes... read more

Reviewed May 23, 2017
ecos
,
armidale
Read all 67 reviews
  
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
20
14
2
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
14
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mosaic floors roman villa dining room gallo roman ruins church introduction structure leaflet period euros wine dordogne
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018

great little site of ancient roman villa 2000 years old.
Nice mosaics and lay out .
about an hour to visit. very . interesting.

Thank 150810Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

The site is quite interesting, but beware that the opening times - including the 1,5 hrs lunch break - are meticulously respected.

Whoever wants to combine his visit of the Tour de Montaigne with a short stop at the villa, better gets an early start.

1  Thank bramlentacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

An interesting gallo-roman site with church attached in a beautiful village setting. Make sure you visit the church as it has some rare early christian stonework. Very good mosaic floors both outside and inside. Plenty of shade and places for a sit-down on a hot day. Entry 3 euros 50; staff were friendly and helpful. Shop has some interesting-looking specialist books for students of the era. There are toilets but nowhere to get a drink or snack however.

Thank 963Dave_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

We’ve been in the Dordogne for 8 months and finally made it to this site, and we were so happy we did! Ruins of a Roman villa in France would be enough of an attraction, but when you add in a variety of original mosaic floors from several of the villa rooms that are in beautiful condition, well, you have a “must see” attraction. We were warmly welcomed from the get go and then given an informative introduction in English by a young woman, Loriette. After her presentation we walked about the site on our own with a small map. I would HIGHLY recommend making a detour to this site...the modest entry fee (€3.50) is well worth paying for the historic experience. And be sure to walk through the church to see how Roman stones and column capitals were recycled and incorporated into the structure.

Thank detourtodordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018

However not worth a separate trip, only if you happen to be in the area, the compound is interesting and insightful as to the extent of the Roman occupation of the area, I wonder was it due to the wine in the area or had that been cultivated yet, not sure why there was such an extensive building in the area

Thank voproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2018

Members of our family stayed with us in our Montcaret Vacation rental Mill house last Autumn and we visited the local ruins of this important Roman villa with our nieces. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit & recommend it to our other guests.

Thank sarahgrahambeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

I probably wouldn't make this a destination in itself but if in the neighborhood - well worth a visit. I think my visit would have been even more worthwhile if I had researched a bit ahead of time the history of the area, the time period, and perhaps even a bit about the history of mosaics.

Thank paristraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

Charming staff who handed us a leaflet in English and gave us a short presentation in English made this visit for us.

The dining room inside the structure is the most memorable. How did those skeletons get in there??

The recommendation of the staff to visit Montaigne's tower 4 km away was also helpful!

Unfortunately the church was closed when we got there but the mosaics made up for that..

No one shouted at us while we were walking...surely the other reviewer didn't attempt to walk on the mosaic?

1  Thank annemH5511MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

So fabulous the meet & greet & so respective of these amazing archaeological relics. So stunning & Thank you

Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

Hard to find but well worth a visit. Helpful, courteous staff. We arrived at midday but 30 minutes was sufficient to view the whole site. The mosaic floors are the star attraction with at least half a dozen in situ and 3 more as vertical wall displays. The final cruciform room is the most impressive and notable also for the medieval sepulchres in the midst of the mosaics. The nearby church, built on top of the villa, is also worth seeing.

1  Thank ecos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews