We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic and magical chateau” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine de Raba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine de Raba
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Talence
Certificate of Excellence
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic and magical chateau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

My girlfriend and I wanted a quiet, romantic getaway, and we certainly got it! The four poster bedroom we stayed in was immaculate and stylish, and the service was superb - something that to me is always very important. The grounds of the Chateau itself are beautiful and perfect for a romantic evening walk. To relax, there was the indoor heated pool and sauna, which did wonders for our constitution, and it was located in prime wine country, so we took full advantage of the tours suggested by the friendly staff. Finally, the food available at the Raba is a true delight, not surprising as the chef has a Michelin star! I highly recommend Chateau Raba for anyone who needs a charming romantic escape!!

Room Tip: Go for the prestige room with fireplace and a four poster bed. Unbeatable value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuisnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    49
    16
    15
    12
See reviews for
22
104
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

The hotel is quite small, about 10 rooms but is set in generous parkland. This, for us was ideal as we were travelling with our dog Jojo. The staff were extremely accommodating and friendly, they helped us organise a wine tour and provided us with tram tickets to get in and out of Bordeaux centre so we did not have to master the automated ticked machine at the tram stops. We had the end room upstairs which again was ideal for us because it had an extra entrance area where Jojo could make himself at home. The roof terrace just off our room was a delightful place to relax with a book even though you had to go down to reception if you wanted to order a drink. I would recommend a camera system so the reception staff can know when clients are on the terrace and propose refreshments. We had lunch at the restaurant, where we were sat on the lovely shaded terrace outside; the food was pleasant enough and reasonably priced. Just up the road from the hotel is a very good sushi restaurant which I would also recommend.

We will be looking forward to booking this hotel again when we next come to visit our daughter who is now lucky enough to be permanently living in Bordeaux.

--

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Enz0V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala d'Or, Spain
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for two nights whilst travelling back from Spain to the UK. We enjoyed this lovely hotel and would recommend it strongly. We had a great welcome at reception an were shown to our spacious room on the first floor. Dinner both nights was very enjoyable, however the menu was rather limited if you were staying longer. Breakfast was very pleasant and could be taken in the restaurant or on the terrace. We liked the staff and found the hotel both interesting and rather querky. Both Bordeaux and the surrounding vineyards are easy to access and are thoroughly recommended for touring.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Yorks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

The hotel is set in the grounds of the main Chateau Raba which is still occupied but very run down. The suite we stayed in was lovely, very tastefully decorated & the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath. The service was truly dreadful, verging on the comical (Faulty Towers came to mind!) I have never stayed anywhere in the world where a Gin & Tonic was so difficult to get right! If you wanted coffee/tea you had to get it yourself from a machine in the reception hall - this is unacceptable in an expensive 4* hotel. Drinks were taken from a minibar style fridge in the hall you had to write down what you had taken! Dinner was very mediocre, the waitresses did not know what they were doing, there wasn't a Manager in the hotel in the evening & any complaints were greeted by a gallic shrug. We chose a bottle of wine to have with our meal, when it was served it was only 3/4 full, it was unopened when the waitress brought it to the table to show us the label. The terrace where we had our breakfast served -badly - had the main extract from the kitchen next to it which smelt awful. It was a very disappointing stay and we would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BteamNYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2009

what a wonderful hotel!!! my husband and i finished our honeymoon holidays here,it was above our expectations! the 'chateau' has been recently renovated with beautifully decorated rooms (well done whoever decorated it!) and a terrace overlooking a parkland (which we didn't expect to be so big considering it is so near the cetre of bordeaux!), and a fantastic heated swimming pool/sauna in which to relax (looks pretty amazing at night too!). Delicious meals and a stone throw away from the well known vineyards of the graves including haut brion! we've made plans to come back! thanks to all the staff who made it so pleasant too...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montagueUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

We booked this hotel based on the beautful pictures online and good distance to Brodeaux. After some difficulty finding the hotel we arrived to be upgraded to the master suite. The staff were incredible and made our stay even more memorable with hints and tips on where to go, what to see etc.

The room was beautiful with 4 poster bed, whirlpool bath and a beautiful terrcae above the main gardens which we had to ourselves every day.

The only minor draw back was having to go down to the main reception to make tea and coffee, which would have been a little nicer in the room. But a small price to pay for such a beautiful place.

We ate at the restaurant one night which was delightful and again the staff couldn't do enough to make the stay perfect.

All i can say is we were so sad to leave the hotel and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank genius911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

We spent 2 nights in this charming hotel just outside Bordeaux centre for a short break at the end of summer and we found the peace and quiet we were looking for. Despite the location a little way from the city center it was easy to get into Bordeaux by tram (5 min walk + 20 minute direct tram journey) and this was well worth it because Bordeaux is fantastic with plenty to do. We ate at the hotel on the second night, and the food was lovely but unfortunately the waiter didn’t speak much English and couldn’t advise us, which was a shame because the wine list looked like it had some interesting selections. Apart from the wine waiter, most of the staff spoke a little English and were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely come again for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talence
3.5 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.5 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Chateau Grattequina
Chateau Grattequina
#1 of 2 in Blanquefort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
3.7 mi away
La Maison Bord'eaux
La Maison Bord'eaux
#85 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Raba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Raba

Property: Domaine de Raba
Address: 35 rue Remi Belleau, 33400 Talence, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux > Talence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Talence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Raba 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Reserve au Pavillon du Chateau Raba is a privately owned Boutique Hotel located in the heart of the prestigious Pessac- Leognan wine appellation just 5 km from the centre of Bordeaux.The building, a classified historic monument, set in a centuries-old parkland, has been entirely renovated in 2007 to offer calm, comfort and luxury to its privileged guests. The restoration has been accomplished with complete sympathy to the 18th century heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Domaine de Raba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Au Pavillon Du Chateau Raba Hotel Talence
Domaine De Raba Talence, France - Bordeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing