We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with excellent food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Grotto Bagat
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel with excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed for a week in March 2013. Room was clean, large and king size bed. Balcony overlooking the lake was a bonus.

Being out of season we didn't expect too much from the restaurant - wrong - it was superb with great personal attention and service. Lovely food and very helpful waiters who laughed with us at our pathetic attempts at Italian, but helped us with that too. They spoke pretty good English fortunately. Busy every night, mainly with locals (always a good sign.)

We are back there soon (staying in a villa) but will be eating at the restaurant without a doubt. Bonus was free wifi which was good strength.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room at the front with double bed for balcony overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BazHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    48
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
41
50
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is located along the lake at Ponte Tresa, so we had a nice view from our room, which opens up to a common balcony. The room was adequate. There was a queen sized bed and a sofa bed, and one bathroom. It's good for 2 couples or a family; but don't expect to get any privacy since it's all in one room. The room was clean and the hot water in the shower was consistent.

Our stay included breakfast, which was adequate. There was an assortment of pastries and cake, and coffee, tea, and yoghurt.

The highlight of our stay was the food from the restaurant below. There was a good range, and the food was excellent. The waiter even brought it up to our room at our request, and we had a lovely meal on the balcony, overlooking the lake, away from the noise of other restaurant patrons,

In summary, the room was decent for the price. But definitely, give the restaurant a try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The service, food, atmosphere at this hotel and restaurant was exceptional. We eat in the restaurant on three evenings and the staff were really welcoming along with English menus being available to help you decide. The staff on reception were always prompt and professional and there appeared to be a real sense of pride in their hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geocachegang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Excellent stay in a town that is less busy, but equally, if not more beautiful than Lugano.
Hotel was exceptional value with decent size and very clean rooms. We were very to find this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavena Ponte Tresa
0.8 mi away
Caroline Hotel Brusimpiano
Caroline Hotel Brusimpiano
#1 of 1 in Brusimpiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.1 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Stampa
1.4 mi away
Tresa Bay Hotel
Tresa Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponte Tresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Albergo Gardenia
Albergo Gardenia
#1 of 3 in Caslano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Vittoria
2.2 mi away
Hotel Motel Pegaso
Hotel Motel Pegaso
#1 of 1 in Marchirolo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Grotto Bagat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Grotto Bagat

Property: Hotel Ristorante Grotto Bagat
Address: Via Brusimpiano 20, 21037 Lavena Ponte Tresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Lavena Ponte Tresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lavena Ponte Tresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Grotto Bagat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Grotto Bagat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing