We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Porro Pirelli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Induno Olona
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

Stayed at this hotel as overnight stopover during our trip from Switzerland to Milan. And to tell the truth, this hotel has nothing to be excited about. While during better weather, it might be nice to spend some time walking outside in the large hotel park, but during our stay it was raining heavily, leaving us trapped in the hotel. And believe us, it is very, very sad to be in the hotel for a whole day - there's basically zero things you can do. Maybe due to hotel being mostly empty during our stay, but staff was terribly slow as well (but they did their best trying to be useful): for example, we went to restaurant and ordered some light dinner (pasta and gnocchi) - it took almost an hour to get our food served.
Rooms were also rather mediocre and showing signs of aging, common hotel areas looked used as well.
In overall - I think this hotel barely makes it to 4 star rating, would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noblige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    171
    61
    43
    20
See reviews for
88
184
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

Great hotel for exploring the Italian lakes. We only stayed for 4 nights but visited Lake Maggiore, Milan and we even drove to Venice (dont ask!!). The hotel was a very grand Italian villa. Nice bar area. Did not eat in the restaurant so I cannot comment. We flew into Milan and had no difficulty in finding Varese but really struggled to find the hotel. We contacted reception who were very friendly and they helped us reach the hotel. Lovely breakfast. I liked Varese - it was not what I expected... it had a very yound vibe to it being a University town and had plenty of bars - the Sunday night was great for people watching over a beer.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

We a had very pleasant stay at Boscolo Porro Pirelli.
The hotel is very beautiful and offers the experience of a stately Italian Villa.
The rooms are very spacious and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
The location is very convenient since it offers easy access to the lake region and the Swiss border.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

I would go back to this beautiful hotel. Very kind staff and a good breakfast and a very tasteful dinner.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

We booked the hotel simply as a stop over from Luxe on our way to Cinque Terre. We arrived in a driving rain storm and the Hotel staff were ready and waiting with umbrellas and smiles to help us in. It was a Sunday evening and the National Soccer finals were taking place but they kept the resturant open for just us and we enjoyed a good meal and the game on TV. I think there were only a few others at the hotel that night but we found the staff friendly and accomidating. The baths were wonderful! The next morning was beautiful and we walked the grounds and discovered a lovely little chapel.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

We chose the Porro Pirelli for our honeymoon as the photos looked gorgeous and we thought it would be a nice treat for the last few nights of our honeymoon. After the long journey from Verona and the difficulty we had finding the place, our first impressions on driving up to the hotel were good (despite the horrible car park!) We wandered into Reception with our luggage and our view changed immediately. The lady on Reception looked us up and down as we wandered in (we were wearing shorts and vests as it was 37 degrees out) and the greeting was far from friendly. She asked for our passports and told us to take a seat while she checks us in, she then called us, gave us our room key with an envelope and pointed us in the direction of the lift! We had booked the 'romantic package' which we paid more for which entitled us to chocs and flowers in the room, breakfast in the room and a meal in the restaurant and yet she didn't even bother to ask what the occasion was or tell us what we were entitled to and how we go about getting it. She didn't even ask if we needed help to our room with our luggage and our room was in a separate building from Reception! We arrived at our room which was really nice but to be honest at this point I was seriously thinking of checking out. Our conversation when we got to our room was 'well we don't have to stay, we could find somewhere else! Not what you should be saying on arrival. We just found the place cold, unfriendly and empty of other guests. We decided to give it a chance so my husband walked back to Reception to find out what our package entitled us to. She curtly gave the information and from then on we decided to try to make the most of it. We went for our meal in the restaurant and I must say the quality of the food good although a lot of the items on the menu were not available. The restaurant was very grand and a little intimindating for us but we got chatting with the lovely Maitre'd who lightened up when he realised we were not used to eating in 'stuffy' places. He turned out to be really nice and recommended places to go (and chose a great wine!) We were the only people in the restaurant, in fact we hardly saw other people around the hotel really!

The hotel itself is beautiful but the gardens seriously need attention. Its a shame they really are not looked after as they should be. Also, the pool looks like its never been used since the building was built so don't book this hotel thinking you'll sit around the pool because chances are when you see it you won't.

To summarise, I would say that the cold welcome on arrival got us off to a bad start. Had we been made to feel more welcome, we probably wouldn't have the view we have. But no, I would never return. Shame.

  • Liked — The room was very spacious and the Lindt chocolates were nice
  • Disliked — Reception staff and location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadamMuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

I really like the apprearance of the hotel itself, it has a really wonderfull old Italian feel to it, and the reception rooms and the little chapel are really nice to see.

We stayed in the cheapest dbl rooms, but it was a really good size, and the decor was contemporary and nice (although was hoping for more authentic looking furniture as pictured, but i suppose that was in the superior rooms). The staff were very friendly, in particular the bar/restaurant server, who was happy to chat with us for quite some time about Italy and the area.
The staff on recpetion were also very helpfull, and as we had an incident with some hired bikes they dealt with the problem very well.

The only real taint was not so much with the hotel itself but rather the distance form the train station, as the required taxi fares do add up. Also, ensure that if you ask the receptionist to order you a taxi that they use the varese radio cabs, we used these for all our journeys except the last, and although pricey, the journey is metered and the drivers were all very pleasant. The last trip however a different taxi arrived, with no livery, no meter and a rather horrible driver who tried to rip us off for the fare to the train station.

Varese itself wasn't the prettiest place, but the cycle route around the lake was very nice, even though a few more signs in the town to direct you to the lake would have been helpful!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, and the appearance of the hotel
  • Disliked — Distance from train station
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Induno Olona
2.3 mi away
Palace Grand Hotel
Palace Grand Hotel
#7 of 23 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.8 mi away
Art Hotel Varese
Art Hotel Varese
#8 of 23 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atahotel Varese
Atahotel Varese
#4 of 23 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Capolago
Hotel Capolago
#2 of 23 in Varese
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Vecchia Riva
3.6 mi away
Madonnina Albergo Ristorante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Porro Pirelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Porro Pirelli

Property: Villa Porro Pirelli
Address: Via Edoardo Tabacchi 20, 21056 Induno Olona, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Induno Olona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Induno Olona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Porro Pirelli 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Porro Pirelli is strategically located 5 km from Varese, and 30 Km from Malpensa, between Lake Varese and Lake Maggiore. This noble mansion built in the XVIII century, is nowdays an exclusive 4 star hotel immersed in a manicured Italian garden and surrounded by a beautiful park with an outdoor pool available to guests during the summer season. The 64 spacious rooms are characterized by antique Asian furniture, which transmit the passion for the Far East that had the Conte Porro, the ancient owner of the villa. Inside, the elegant spaces reflect the original splendor of the villa and offer a privileged setting for meetings, private events and weddings. On the Villa’s premises there is also a small Church. A special mention goes to the hotel’s culinary offer, led by the Michelin starred Chef Emanuele Mazzella, who delights it guests with refined dishes served at the Bistro’ Porro Pirelli, in the ancient eighteenth-century greenhouse in the park, and the new Gourmet Restaurant opening soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Porro Pirelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Porro Pirelli Hotel Induno Olona
Boscolo Porro Pirelli Induno Olona
Villa Porro Pirelli Province Of Varese, Italy - Induno Olona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing