We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
75
1
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat funthere are so manyfeel at homegreat companyan added bonusfabulous holidayfellow guestsplentiful supplydining tablehome madean amazing experiencehis teambirthday cakeeight yearslearn somethingtaking lessonsmeet interesting people
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 77 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2011

It's almost impossible to find fault with our holiday. The farmhouse is cosy and comfortable with nicely appointed rooms. Food is superbly cooked by Louise and Ann and, despite plenty of exercise I still managed to put on weight! The horses are extremely well trained and we had numerous exciting rides in the beautiful countryside as well as trying out the XC course. I think the highlight of the week was swimming with the horses (sometimes staying on) in the river. The rides were ably led by Derek and Celine and helped by Hannah.
Really really can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

There aren't enough superlatives to describe this holiday. Derek, Ann and Louise were the perfect hosts with delicious food and copious amounts of wonderful wine and ice-cold beers.
But it is the horses that are the true stars - I fell in love with Noiree who gave me the rides of my life. But as if incredible rides in the most spectacular scenery were not enough - we got to swim, and I do mean swim, with the horses. What a truly magical experience. There aren't words to describe this - you have to DO it! And at the end of the day there is the lovely pool welcoming tired, aching bodies. Another important point to make is that all riding abilities are made welcome and catered for, from beginner to advanced. I came away having learnt so much and feeling I had made definite improvements in my own riding and this goes for all the family. Honestly, if you are thinking of having a riding holiday - this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was our third holiday with French Riding Holidays, and we hope to go back again and again!
Derek and Anne have a truly lovely place in South West France where the riding is sublime and the horses are beautiful.
Guests are treated to some superb days out on horesback. Derek will match you to a horse that suits your ability, so this holiday would be suitable for most levels of rider; having said that, some experience of faster riding on trails would be an advantage.
First; the horses are amazing...all of them are so fit and well cared for.
Secondly, the accomodation is homely, relaxing and fun.
You will be well fed, either at the gite, on a picnic or on a restaurant ride. Louise and Anne prepare and serve hearty meals, with wine, and cater for veggies and meat lovers excellently.
If you want to visit a beautiful, quiet, warm part of France, ride brilliant horses on trails and over terrain that is truly breathtaking, join with a small group of likeminded people, and enjoy good food, wine and company, then French Riding Holidays is the place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fiduroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We've just got back from another fantastic week in Asprieres. Despite the rain (July??) we had some amazing rides. We galloped across fields, through forests and along long country lanes. No gates to worry about - you can ride for miles and miles. The day rides were incredibly exciting - 6 hours of riding with a fabulous pic nic in the middle of the day. We also met some great people - and sitting discussing 'that canter' or 'that view' in the evening over a glass of rose was wonderful. Both my girls (age 15 and 12) loved it - from catching the horses in the morning, grooming, taking up, riding, untacking and washing down at the end of the day to feeding and generally loving the horses - they were busy from the beginning to the end of the day. The food - all cooked by Louise and Anne was fantastic - and they catered for every dietary wish and food fad with flair. This was our second time in Asprieres - and definitely won't be our last. If you love horse riding - book early!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keentravellerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We spent in the middle of May 2011 the most marvelous riding weekend in Asprieres. We have a regular group of riding ladies from Finland and this is the best trip we have ever been so far. One of the best parts of our journey was the very different type of trails - a mixture of very high hills, forest, water and open countryside. Views were spectacular and the weather was nice and warm.

Derek is brilliant starting from the selection of horses for your skills and personality and tayloring fluently the program of the day for each of us based on our wishes and skills. He is also very encouraging person and we succeeded to go beyond our comfort zone by just hearing him say: "Well done!" or "You work excellent with your horse." Derek, Anne and Louise are marvelous hosts from the very beginning to the final end of the weekend. And Anne and Louise are so excellent chefs to offer us delicious meals.Thank you for the unforgettable weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pia2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews