We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
75
1
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat funthere are so manyfeel at homegreat companyan added bonusfabulous holidayfellow guestsplentiful supplydining tablehome madean amazing experiencehis teambirthday cakeeight yearslearn somethingtaking lessonsmeet interesting people
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 77 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was our third holiday with French Riding Holidays, and we hope to go back again and again!
Derek and Anne have a truly lovely place in South West France where the riding is sublime and the horses are beautiful.
Guests are treated to some superb days out on horesback. Derek will match you to a horse that suits your ability, so this holiday would be suitable for most levels of rider; having said that, some experience of faster riding on trails would be an advantage.
First; the horses are amazing...all of them are so fit and well cared for.
Secondly, the accomodation is homely, relaxing and fun.
You will be well fed, either at the gite, on a picnic or on a restaurant ride. Louise and Anne prepare and serve hearty meals, with wine, and cater for veggies and meat lovers excellently.
If you want to visit a beautiful, quiet, warm part of France, ride brilliant horses on trails and over terrain that is truly breathtaking, join with a small group of likeminded people, and enjoy good food, wine and company, then French Riding Holidays is the place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fiduroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We've just got back from another fantastic week in Asprieres. Despite the rain (July??) we had some amazing rides. We galloped across fields, through forests and along long country lanes. No gates to worry about - you can ride for miles and miles. The day rides were incredibly exciting - 6 hours of riding with a fabulous pic nic in the middle of the day. We also met some great people - and sitting discussing 'that canter' or 'that view' in the evening over a glass of rose was wonderful. Both my girls (age 15 and 12) loved it - from catching the horses in the morning, grooming, taking up, riding, untacking and washing down at the end of the day to feeding and generally loving the horses - they were busy from the beginning to the end of the day. The food - all cooked by Louise and Anne was fantastic - and they catered for every dietary wish and food fad with flair. This was our second time in Asprieres - and definitely won't be our last. If you love horse riding - book early!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keentravellerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We spent in the middle of May 2011 the most marvelous riding weekend in Asprieres. We have a regular group of riding ladies from Finland and this is the best trip we have ever been so far. One of the best parts of our journey was the very different type of trails - a mixture of very high hills, forest, water and open countryside. Views were spectacular and the weather was nice and warm.

Derek is brilliant starting from the selection of horses for your skills and personality and tayloring fluently the program of the day for each of us based on our wishes and skills. He is also very encouraging person and we succeeded to go beyond our comfort zone by just hearing him say: "Well done!" or "You work excellent with your horse." Derek, Anne and Louise are marvelous hosts from the very beginning to the final end of the weekend. And Anne and Louise are so excellent chefs to offer us delicious meals.Thank you for the unforgettable weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pia2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, Ann, Derek and Louise make you feel like part of the family. The food and accomodation are fabulous, the riding and scenery are stunning, and the horses are all a complete joy to spend time with. Derek is such a natural horseman, he gives even the most nervous beginner the confidence to progress and enjoy their holiday on horesback. Ann and Louise are the perfect hosts... no-one will ever go hungry! See you again soon. Maria, Nadine and Steve. x

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Another great trip! What great fun we had and wonderful people we met. This was our 2nd trip (the first was Oct. 2009), and we talked about it so much that we just had to return again. You can't find a better place to unwind, relax and enjoy country life. And most importanly, ride fantastic horses!

Derek is brilliant at selecting horses for your skill and comfort level, and riding at the pace most suitable for your skills. There's nothing more rewarding than hearing him say "Well done you." The different trails were amazing - a mixture of forest and open countryside. Spectacular views!

Derek, Anne and Louise are marvelous hosts; Anne and Louise are excellent chefs. We've never had a bad meal, and they cater to all tastes.

It's the perfect getaway from everyday life!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaSisters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews