We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome Respite!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nauntons Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Nauntons Guest House
Ranked #2 of 18 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Welcome Respite!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

A warm welcome from Wes set the scene for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The room was more than adequate, the food generous and really well cooked (and I'm fussy!!) and the overall ambiance relaxed and comfortable. Easy to reach just outside Ladysmith this little oasis is a welcome respite in a hot part of the world. Aircon works like a charm and the free wifi was useful. The well stocked honesty bar is a pleasant diversion as well as good chats with the host. This is a rare gem!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianS992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    47
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
56
6
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had a nice stay and the staff was amazing and very helpful, the rooms were clean and there was adequate number of satellite tv channels which is a winner for me. I will definitely book at Nauntons again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Themba K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenvale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were invited to a special friend's wedding in Ladysmith. It was not only super convenient to stay at the guesthouse where the wedding reception was held, but also delightful! My young family and I were met with friendliness and warmth. All our needs were met and the meals were delicious! The entire guesthouse is superbly decorated and the staff were excellent!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clansthal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Friendly reception, friendly staff. Room fine. Insufficient plug points for convenience.(had to put kettle on the floor to reach the adaptor ) Bathroom very small. Large person would battle getting around the basin to the toilet.
Bed super comfy. Slept like a baby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary & Liane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Between business & social visits, I've stayed in quite a few B&B's / Guesthouses in Ladysmith... and Nauntons is certainly the best - from a comfort, food, service & management / staff friendliness point of view!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David & Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

At first glance the guest house appears to be in a less than desirable location. However the interior makes up for any misconceptions that the location presents.

The rooms are more than adequately comfortable with a complimentary glass of sherry and bottled water in your room. The proprietors are friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts and dinners are ample in quantity and of a very high quality.

Room Tip: Personally I think room 6 is the most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladysmith hotels
3.6 mi away
Buller's Rest Lodge
Buller's Rest Lodge
#1 of 18 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
9.2 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
3.2 mi away
Memra Guest House
Memra Guest House
#3 of 18 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#8 of 16 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
8.0 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#4 of 16 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
7.7 mi away
Springbok Lodge
Springbok Lodge
#9 of 16 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nauntons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauntons Guest House

Property: Nauntons Guest House
Address: 11 Newcastle Road | Model Kloof, Ladysmith 3370, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nauntons Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some of our offerings include: • 4 Star Guest House graded by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa • FREE WiFi Internet access to all guests • Over 60 DSTV channels in every room • Our 10 Rooms include either King, Queen, Double or Single beds • Hospitality 4 - 5 Star Polycotton Percale 200TC Linen on all beds • A 3 Course Dinner Meal (on request) • VIP Gold & Mocha Java Filter Coffee in every room We offer a relaxing environment for both tourists and businesspersons, situated on the outskirts of a town full of historical interest. At Nauntons Guest House we pride ourselves on spoiling you and making it a perfect home away from home. Our estate is situated 2km outside Ladysmith, Kwa-Zulu Natal. Our 10 en-suite bedrooms are beautifully furnished and each room includes a 32inch Flat Screen TV with over 40 DSTV channels and is air conditioned. A superb 3-course dinner is available on request. We cater for all special dietary requirements. We take immense pride in our food and serve only the best quality. Laundry is also available. Our staff is dedicated to making your stay as pleasant as possible. We have a huge living area where you can either enjoy the home-theatre system or simply relax at the honesty bar after a long day's work. Guests are welcome to make use of the swimming pool area. We also co-ordinate weddings from beginning to end. All kinds of weddings can be organised - Western, Eastern and African. No matter how small or how big the budget, our team can create a wedding to suite your tastes, themes and colours. A choice of on-site venues are available from Thandana Wedding & Conference venue to garden weddings where the couple can get married under a gazebo in a very tranquil setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nauntons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing