We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Nest Hotel(Cathkin Park)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Inkungu Lodge(Drakensberg Region)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$266
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cathedral Peak Hotel(Giants Castle Game Reserve)
$234
$219
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harrismith Inn(Harrismith)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sierra Resort(Mooi River)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
225
25
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
25
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringfig treegame drivesthe reserveserviced dailyindividual cabinswatering holeindividual attentionwould highly recommend staying herewent the extra milefamily suitevast knowledgebig game reserveoutstanding experiencehis jobrelaxing staywater hole
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 257 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

You cannot but relax. The game drives were spectacular. Jason and Gideon made the stay even more pleasant. The Le Seuer Cheetah project needs to be included as part of the experience. Interacting with the Serval, Cheetah, African Wild Cat and Leopard was something you will not forget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spearo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our third visit to Woodlands Lodge, owned by Rob le Sueur who also owns the 14 000 hectare Nambiti Private Game Reserve. Once again, we (including the children and grandchildren) loved every minute of our Easter weekend stay. The food and accommodation was first-rate, the game drives with ranger Ruan outstanding and he ensured we saw as much game as possible with outstanding views. The Cheetah Project is unmissable. The staff are very well-trained, happy and clearly love their work. Two of the grandchildren fell in love with Zulu, the resident, tame Meerkat, who was the sole survivor of a bush fire and hand-reared. With swimming pool, tennis court, waterhole, hide and billiards table, there was plenty to do. We all recommend Woodlands Lodge and Nambiti wholeheartedly and congratulate Rob on his vision for a beautiful reserve in close proximity to Johannesburg and Durban.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorandMerryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We took advantage of a special offer and are so glad we did. This lodge is peaceful and unpretentious and it was amazing to be greeted by Zulu the tame meerkat on arrival. The Rangers (Ruan and Biggie) made every effort to find the big 5 during the game drives and we were delighted to at least manage to see 3 - elelephant, lion and buffalo. We saw many different types of buck as well as giraffe, zebra and wildebeest. The staff were really helpful and the meals were served with style.
The cheetah experience was exceptional and it was wonderful to be able to see these magnificent animals up close and actually pet them - they were so relaxed in human company.
All in all a wonderful 3 days.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Elandslaagte Room which was lovely and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our first time on Safari and to be honest I was a little nervous but ended up having the most memorable time and the highlight of our South Africa tour. Woodlands lodge is beautiful as are the bedrooms. Ours had a large outside shower as well as the bathroom one but unfortunately the weather wasnt quite warm enough to utilise it. We had lovely meals with breakfast and lunch being beautifully served outside under the trees. Had fabulous Game Drives with super ranger Ruan who has the greatest smile and laugh. Woodlands has a resident cheetah Yakira and meercat Zulu who mix with everyone and love being cuddled along with the dog. We visited the Cheetah Project which is a must andb its great to see such dedicated people helping to conserve the cheetah population. Thanks to everyone for a memorable stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed two nights in the Nambiti Game Reserve at Woodlands Lodge and we were not disappointed. On arrival we were welcomed with a lovely drink and hand wipes, then we were shown to our beautiful room (Elandsgaate Room), we had a lovely light lunch sat outside under a beautiful tree, with Zulu the resident Meercat entertaining us. At 4pm we had the 1st of 4 Game Drives. Ruan was our Ranger, and what a breath of fresh air he was. Very knowledgeable and very enthusiastic about the animals. All the game drives were great and we saw everything bar Leopard (there is one going to be released shortly into the reserve, which we did see and was being prepared to be set free in the near future) Also at this lodge they have a resident cheetah, Yakira, which was injured as a cub, she is really beautiful. The ongoing Cheetah Project is someone who visits Woodlands must go and see, what a wonderful job they are doing. Would go back to Woodlands tomorrow, and a big thank you to all concerned especially Ruan for his funfilled drives.

Room Tip: We had the Elandsgaate Room on the ground floor, which we loved. Our friends had the one upstairs which was really beautiful, with an outside shower and views to die for.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 450kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews