We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect safari lodge- wonderful location and amazing rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Just returned from a wonderful trip to South Africa and we stayed in several places in Kwa Zulu-Natal but Esiweni Lodge was by far the best. Pretty much everything surpassed our expectations ( which were quite high to start with)! This lodge is in the most amazing location and the views from our room were the best we have ever experienced. It really is on a cliff top and you look right out onto the bush and the Sunday river- just stunning. The rooms are gorgeous and we had an outdoor bathroom that shared the same awesome view as the bedroom. The lodge itself is very comfortable and roomy with loads of space if you want privacy after dinner- yet it also lends itself well to being sociable with other guests. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the lodge really well run. We had the most fantastic game drives and saw pretty much everything there is to see on safari.
We were alittle hesitant to book Esiweni as it has only been open about 18 months I think and there are few reviews of the lodge but we had a fantastic experience there and would inreservedly recommend it.
We also found it an ideal location between the Battlefields ( Fugitive's Drift/Isandlwana etc and Jo burg) It was about 90 mins from Rorke's Drift to Esiweni and then about 4 hrs from Esiweni to Joburg.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelsutcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 195 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2010

We had a lovely weekend at the most beautiful lodge. The staff was friendly and made our stay unforgettable. From the early morning game drives to the evening suppers, our pleasure was their priority.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uhrsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

When we arrived at Nambiti Game Reserve we didn't know what to expect but that soon changed. The excellent service, hospitality and warmth of the staff at Esiweni overwhelmed us. We where constantly being waited on, hand and foot. We really felt looked after!

The Lodge's facilities where exquisite. When I first saw the pictures of Esiweni lodge, I thought it was very unique and beautiful. But after actually being there, the pictures don't do it justice! The Lodge's location is a shear marvel. Built on the edge of a cliff, overlooking one of the most beautiful picturesque settings. You really have to see it for yourself to understand what I'm talking about! What really stood out for me was the uniqueness of the room's. Having your own private deck overlooking the valley's river and the reserve. Not to mention your very own secluded outside tub for a moonlight bath.

We also really enjoyed the very informative game drives. We got to see most of the big five which was very exciting!!

This experience has been very unforgettable.
I will definitely be visiting Esiweni Lodge again.

Kind regards

Marlan

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlannaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This is an undiscovered game lodge in a 10 000 hectare malria free game reserve with excellent game and the Big 5 present. It was a real pleasure to have an experienced game ranger take you out on morning and evening game drives as part of the package - you got to see way more than on your own and the rangers keep in contact with each other ensuring sitings - we saw 2 lion prides and watched cheetah lazing in the sun on top of everything else. The lodge is beautifully presented with individual rooms providing spectacular views of the valley and river below. Food, atmosphere and staff added to the experience. A great half way house between Johannesburg and Durban and much easier to get to than Hhluhwe and Umfolozi.

We all enjoyed ourselves and will be back!

Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToniVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

After the 3 times we have been to Esiweni Lodge, we have come back feeling relaxed, rested and refreshed. The accomodation is luxurious; the meals are superb and the staff are friendly and professional. Not only do the game drives give you the opportunity to see a variety of animals and birds in their natural habitat, but you come back more knowledgeable from all the interesting facts the game ranger so readily shares. You get the chance to enjoy coffee, drinks and delicious home made snacks in the bush appreciating the animal and bird sounds and watching wild life. If you don't want to go on a game drive you can enjoy the magnificent views and tranquility sitting on your deck at the lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane1450646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at Esiweni in June and what a fantastic lodge - amazing view being situated on the clifftop. The warm blankets on safari and the marshmallow milo after the safari was by far the best I have ever experienced on safari! A well stocked wine cellar offers a superb venue for small business dinners or a special occassion!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdvisorSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres sont luxueuses (la chambre lion avec sa baignoire en extérieure est peut-être la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ph64200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladysmith hotels
1.5 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
6.7 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
8.9 mi away
Umzolozolo Lodge
Umzolozolo Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ladysmith
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#4 of 17 in Ladysmith
248 reviews
6.5 mi away
Springbok Lodge
Springbok Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ladysmith
224 reviews
34.3 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#6 of 17 in Ladysmith
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge

Address: Nambiti Private Game Reserve | Elandslaagte, Ladysmith 3371, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range: $926 - $1,022 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esiweni Lodge offers five, luxurious, individual suites. Each has an indoor shower, magnificent views from the bath and a private, outdoor shower. Two of the suites are interconnected for use as a family unit. Each suite has underfloor heating for cold winter nights and overhead fans for warm, summer evenings. Our honeymoon suite has a private, outdoor bath with stunning views across the valley.Fully retracting patio doors open onto private decks where you can enjoy the majestic views of the Sundays River, waterfall and valley below. The decor of the main lodge is elegant depicting a colonial safari theme. Large, stone hearths warm the lounge and dining areas on cold, winter nights. During good weather, outdoor dining overlooking the valley is served on the vast, wooden deck. An intercom system is in place to connect each suite to the lodge staff in case of emergencies. Safes are also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing