We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best game / safari Lodges you MUST visit in your lifetime. Add it to your bucket list NOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“One of the best game / safari Lodges you MUST visit in your lifetime. Add it to your bucket list NOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The ROOMS - Absolutely beautifull, modern and very large rooms. Each suite has its own private wooden deck overlooking the valley. Everything is stylishly decorated with great attention to detail. The views of the bush and river, valley and cliffs are visible from every window!!
The STAFF - it must be the fresh air or something because all the staff we met were just the nicest and most caring people ever! Well done! Natie and Magda WILL impress you with their knowledge and professionalism.
The GAME DRIVES - One word: Amazing!! Apart from the large variety of Antilope and Gazelle's like the Impala's, Eland, Kudu's and Blue Wildebeest, we also saw Lions, Buffalo, Rhino's, and Elephants!! Wow!! The birdlife is abundant and we even saw Vultures in action. The bush and trees are very unique to the area and great attention is given to remove all alien plants. Well done! What a great experience to go on early morning and late afternoon Game Drives every day - and then, being spoiled with a "half way" refreshment stop in the bush - what an amazing experience!!
The FOOD: The best menu/food and attention to detail we have ever experienced!! Seven star all the way!! It was just too difficult to fit the chef in our suitcases!!
Lastly, All six of us visiting wanted to stay longer. A week was too short!!! THE BEST GAME LODGE IN SOUTH AFRICA!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yolandetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtes, Owner at Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We really appreciate and enjoy receiving reviews like this as this is the experience that we are continuously striving to achieve. Please also spread the word to your friends because as a small lodge we can not afford to advertise much, so we rely on our happy guests spreading the word...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
81
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Esiweni Lodge offers 5 star accomodation at one of the most picturesque sites in Nambithi with personalized service.

On arrival we were warmly greeted with warm face-towels and a cold drink. After being shown our fantastic rooms we joined the rest of the guests for tea and snacks on the deck after which we set off on the afternoon game drive with Nathie. We were fortunate enough to see a lioness and her cubs feeding off a freshly killed wildebeest.
Supper was of gourmet quality (although the regular chef was off sick). There was a tomato soup accompanied by a poppadom, followed by a choice of a rack of lamb or stuffed chicken breast and ended with a poached pear and vanilla parfait drizzled with honey.
Early the next morning we received a courteous wake-up call. Before the morning game drive hot drinks, cereals and muffins were provided. Again we were quite lucky to spot elephant after a game drive that covered a large portion of the reserve!! Nathie was a fantastic guide - he was determined that he should find some big game for us to see!
On return to the lodge a cooked breakfast was served.
Once again we regretted only staying one night!!!

The title sums up our stay: PARADISE FOUND, However we'd like to find it again...next time in spring or summer.

Room Tip: Any ... there are only 5 to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were blessed to go to Esiweni Lodge recently. Natie and Magda are the perfect hosts and we enjoyed every single minute of our stay there! The game drives delivered on its promise of being 'action packed' and we saw 3 of the big five in a single drive! The room was in one word - fabulous!! Food awesome! Do not let this jewel of Nambiti pass you by!!! We cannot wait to go again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik-Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We turned up on chance and they had had a cancellation. Beautiful rooms in a wonderful location in small private game reserve. Excellent dinner and charming hosts and staff.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms ours was no. 4 and it had a wonderful view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntheaJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just had another visit to Esiweni and as always it was an amazing experience. We saw 4 of the big 5, had wonderful meals, enjoyd the best views from the deck and relaxed like nowhere else in the world. Thanks Natie and Magda for being such wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: All the rooms have wonderful views from their decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalize V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was to be the highlight of our trip - and so it proved to be. We stayed for 2 nights but due to our timing we only got 3 Bush Drives rather than 4.
The Bush Drives were fantastic - with one guest 90 years of age - boy did she enjoy it.
The food was great our Chef Kim produced great meals and our guide Elise very knowledegable and engaging.
Video of trip available on Vimeo - Title Esiweni Lodge by David Mark
We saw 4 of the Big 5 and lots of other beautiful game.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The staff are all really passionate about what they do. Thanks Elise, Magda, Natie and Kim and the begind the scenes staff who made our stay so warm and welcoming despite the peculiar weather. The game deserves a mention too as it was excellent and i got some amazing photos.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladysmith hotels
6.7 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
12.7 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
6.8 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#3 of 17 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Umzolozolo Lodge
Umzolozolo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
6.5 mi away
Springbok Lodge
Springbok Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
34.3 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#9 of 17 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge

Property: Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge
Address: Nambiti Private Game Reserve | Elandslaagte, Ladysmith 3371, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esiweni Lodge offers five, luxurious, individual suites. Each has an indoor shower, magnificent views from the bath and a private, outdoor shower. Two of the suites are interconnected for use as a family unit. Each suite has underfloor heating for cold winter nights and overhead fans for warm, summer evenings. Our honeymoon suite has a private, outdoor bath with stunning views across the valley.Fully retracting patio doors open onto private decks where you can enjoy the majestic views of the Sundays River, waterfall and valley below. The decor of the main lodge is elegant depicting a colonial safari theme. Large, stone hearths warm the lounge and dining areas on cold, winter nights. During good weather, outdoor dining overlooking the valley is served on the vast, wooden deck. An intercom system is in place to connect each suite to the lodge staff in case of emergencies. Safes are also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing