We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Weekend”
Review of Umzolozolo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Umzolozolo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Unzolozolo lodge. The lodge has stunning views over the reserve, and the service at the lodge was outstanding. Everyone was extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was first class with a good choice of menu for such a small lodge. The reserve itself is much smaller than some we have been too, however the scenic views and variety of game were some of the best we have experienced. We had some great game encounters, including elephants swimming in the dam, black and white rhino, lion, hippo, buffalo and large numbers of plains animal. The nearby KWA Cheetah project is a must do, with up close encounters with these beautiful animals. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locket_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Umzolozolo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 186 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a family reunion and took over the entire lodge for two nights last week. Dave and Deb run an amazing operation and their hard work with all aspects of the stay - especially our crazy food requirements - made for a wonderful and memorable break. And that was just the lodge. The game drives and well informed rangers Rohan and Chris, created an experience of a lifetime for the kids (and us jaded adults). A superlative experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and unique. Call ahead to get the one that best suits your need.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Wow what an amazing weekend Andre and I had. We were fortunate enough to have won a trip to Umzolozolo and it was just the perfect weekend from the moment we stopped at the gate.
The service we received was truly the best we had in a very long time. Everybody made us feel right at home. Rohan, The Legend, thanks for the very interesting and very entertaining game drives. He went the extra mile to make sure we saw the animals we wanted to see. The food was just delicious at every meal. I feel proud knowing that we have such a spectacular reserve in our province. Dave and Debbie thank you from the bottom of our hearts for everything. Tracey and Andre Coetzer.

Room Tip: The Presidential Suite is worth every one of its seven stars!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to find such a wonderful Big Five game lodge so accessible to us in Natal. We have been to much more expensive lodges in Botswana and near Kruger, but found the service and the game viewing equal to or superior at Umzolozolo. We were especially impressed with the staff. Dave and Debbie gave us a warm welcome and were attentive to our every need during our stay. We will definitely go back and highly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms -- they do have a 'presidential suite' with a private jacuzzi though...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We really did our research before we decided to choose Umzolozolo for our honeymoon - and we certainly werent disappointed!
Dave and Debbie, from the moment we arrived you really made us feel like family.

Our room was amazing with a spectacular view of the range from our own private balcony, the romantic dinner and bubble bath was so relaxing and special - exactly what we were looking for

The food was exceptional and our game drives were unforgettable.
Chris, our game Ranger, was absolutely amazing and catered to our every need. from supplying us with Binoculars and a warm blanket for the chilly morning drives, to absolutely blowing us away by listening to our requests of what animals we would like to see and not only finding them for us, but also giving us amazing and breathtakingly close experiences with them. Especially with the Elephants!

We have so many wonderful memories from our magical safari honeymoon and we have you to thank for that! We will definitely be back when we visit South Africa!
Thank you for everything, Stacy & Mike Barnard

Room Tip: The Honeymoon suite was perfect for us. It was close enough to the main dining area, but secluded en...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

What a fantastic surprise. An unspoken about game lodge which deserves all its 5 stars and more - from accommodation to staff, attention to detail and the food, the majestic mountains and game viewing. A wonderful team that made us so welcome. The game viewing was magnificent. Neil, you have an awesome team - take good care of them!!! It was good to convey my appreciation during our phone call. We would definitely return - an incredible experience. I cant say what the winter months would be like but summer was glorious although we did have rain. Still went out on game drives and waterproof coats were provided. The moccachocarula's were also very memorable! Thank you for making our stay so special. Brian , Caren and Marc Burnton (Royal Tunbridge Wells UK)

Room Tip: All rooms were amazing!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caren_burnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and everything was great: accommodation, game viewing, staff, food. We have never seen so many animals anywhere else in South Africa, including the big 5. It is an easy drive from Durban and really heaven on earth.

Room Tip: If possible try the Presidents room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
6.6 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
7.4 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
5.2 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#3 of 17 in Ladysmith
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge
Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge
#10 of 17 in Ladysmith
190 reviews
4.4 mi away
Springbok Lodge
Springbok Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ladysmith
216 reviews
18.8 mi away
Zingela Safaris & River Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umzolozolo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umzolozolo Lodge

Address: | Nambiti Private Game Reserve, Ladysmith 3370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range: $501 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Umzolozolo Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious 5 star Safari Lodge with full board and game 2 drive a day. Situated on the Nambiti Private Game Reserve, Kwa-Zulu Natal. South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Umzolozolo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing