We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umzolozolo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Umzolozolo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg KZN Natal South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Lovely lodge beautifully furnished with spectacular views. Food was good and drinks reasonably priced which is an unusual plus. I do hate booking into an expensive lodge and having to pay four times the normal retail price. Umzolozolo wins an extra star for that.
Our game guide was a little inexperienced and was not yet familiar with the park but we had sundowners at a beautiful spot which made up for the lack of game. Dave & Debbie are excellent unpretentious gracious hosts. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobnob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
78
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We choose Nambiti because we wanted to enjoy the Natal coast in addition to the peace and adventure of The Bush. Umzolozolo is a few hours from Durban and Joburg, and near the spectacular Drakensburg which makes it an ideal location to enjoy malaria-free game drives.

Debbie and Dave are exceptional hosts, creating a warm and hospitable 5* environment in the wilderness. Nothing is too much trouble, and the food is outstanding. Although we would have liked a more casual braai occasionally.
The accommodation is luxurious with massive comfy beds and a candle lit bath over looking the most spectacular views.
The sitting on the pool deck, you really feel that you are in heaven.

Of course the highlights of the trip were the adventurous game drives, where Ranger Rohan tracked and found all the animals we could have dreamed of seeing; rhino, hippo, elephant, lion, kudu, buffalo, etc.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShezzN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We choose the Nambiti Reserve and Umzolozolo because we wanted good game viewing without the crowds of Kruger. We were no disappointed- we saw over 35 species of mammals and birds (including the Big Five if you count a captive leopard), enjoyed the peace and quiet, and ate wonderful food. Imagine getting warm hand towels after returning from an evening game drive. The lodge is in excellent condition and easy to find. The staff was attentive and helpful. All the accommodations are nice and there are also outdoor showers. Luxury without pretense.
Go see the Kwa Cheetah Sanctuary. We were hesitant at first, but it was a wonderful experience and I now greatly appreciate the rehab work they do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I've been lucky to stay in many wonderful hotels around the world but its fair to say nowhere comes close to the attention to detail the wonderful people of Umzolozolo Lodge offer to their guests.
From your menu to your room to your games drives everything is simply perfect.

If you only stay at 1 place in SA, make it here!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was a family reunion and we had booked the entire lodge for 3 days. Our hosts Dave and Debbie were superb and the accommodations are just beautiful. What a treat! We had more food than we could eat and the game drives were phenomenal. With Dave and Robin as our drivers, we had so much fun - it was really special. We miss you Robin!
I would recommend this to anyone and go back in a heartbeat. It was worth every cent!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful with amazing views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have spent two nights at Umzolozolo at the end of a really busy trip to South Africa and keep patting ourselves on the back for being so clever! This was the ultimate wind-me-down trip, shere luxury and the perfect venue to recharge batteries before returning to the UK.

The team (headed up by Dave and Debbie) are fantastic - attention to detail comes as standard and their hospitality is exceptional. One of the many highlights was a sumptuous dinner in the Boma - exceptional food, a brilliant choice of wines and great company under a canopy of stars - it doesn't get any better than this.

Our game drives were just brilliant - we saw plenty of game thanks to the carefully managed conservation programme - 4 lion cubs alongside our vehicle and a 5 day old baby elephant sighting were real highlights - Thank you Dave for this experience - your knowledge and passion for what you do is exemplary.

Best wishes to you all.

Room Tip: Go for the Presidential or Honeymoon Suite if available - both offer the most wonderful views and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in April 2011 for 2 nights. It's fair to say we'll probably NEVER have a better holiday!
The presidential suite is spectacular, double showers inside & outside, panoramic windows around the bath, double sided fireplace, hot tub on the decking. Sheer heaven!
The game drives with Brad were fantastic and the stops for drinks were just wonderful.
The food was outstanding and the views from the restaurant by the infinity pool were idyllic.
Would go back in a heartbeat.
Service from Ray & Bart was also excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladysmith hotels
6.6 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
5.2 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#4 of 16 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.9 mi away
Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
4.4 mi away
Springbok Lodge
Springbok Lodge
#9 of 16 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
12.8 mi away
Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umzolozolo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umzolozolo Lodge

Property: Umzolozolo Lodge
Address: | Nambiti Private Reserve, Ladysmith 3370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Umzolozolo Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
luxury 3 star Safari Lodge with all meals and game 2 drive inclusive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Umzolozolo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing