We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ladysmith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lions Valley Lodge Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing place”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in January. Lions Valley lodge is by far one of the most special places I've ever been to. The service, food and atmosphere is amazing. Can't wait to go back! I hope your fanastic 'Mango' will stick around.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl F, Director of Sales at Lions Valley Lodge Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Sandra

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on the lodge. It is always good to know when guests have had an enjoyable time. We can't wait to see you again soon at the lodge.

Regards
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
90
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

As a seasoned world traveller, knowledgable game enthusiast and having spent 2 years living in the Kenyan bush, I can honestly say that the staff, cuisine and the "Personal Visit Tailoring" is simply the best I have found in East & South Africa. Whilst many game lodge staff start your safari experience with a shower of information, the staff of Lions Valley start by listening to you, asking your story, establishing your requirements and tailoring a great safari / lodge experience just for you. Nothing is too much - they focus on the safe, special and specific customer experience and appreciate the importance of value for money.

What makes them stand out in a very competitive field? - Awesome Communication Skills, Professional People and Outstanding Execution. Most Game lodge staff "listen" but Lions Valley Lodge Staff "hear and act".

Having visited for the first time in May 2010 and return annually from both Kenya and the UK with both family and friends, my love of the lodge and reserve has grown exponentially. Such are the characteristics of the lodge staff, you instantly feel part of the wider Lions Valley Lodge family, you are always remembered and are made to feel at home by staff.

Why do I love this lodge and the Nambiti Game Reserve? - The Lodge is beautiful, individual and located in a stunning setting. Nambiti is exceptionally accessible by both Road and Air from Johannesburg and Durban (3hrs drive), it is compact but has a varied mix of open savanna and closed in rock and water features. The reserve has great conservation principles whilst it matures and seeks to enhance both the "Big 5" and wider spectrum of the game stock. Every day is a different day on safari but you must get engaged and involved. The Lions Valley Lodge experience seeks to place you in the environment and sees you learning all about game, the bush and history of the reserve. Every animal, flora and fauna is special and the game guides are more than happy to take the time to discuss each in turn.

Why should you choose Lions Valley? - It is the best affordable Safari Lodge customer and game experience that you will find in South Africa. The Lodge is stunning, staff are awesome and the whole experience simply second to none. In May 2013 our South African Durban Family were amazed by both the location and the quality of the complete package. As typically frugal South Africans they were swept of their feet and loved every minute. This has resulted in us booking again for Mar 14. It is not a busy Reserve and you feel like it is made just for you. It is modern, luxurious and yet has that in the bush, non fenced feel.

Final Thoughts - Lions Valley Lodge is a top end, high calibre and awesome Game Lodge. I recommend all to visit and look forward to seeing you there. Greg and Audrey are outstanding hosts with a passion for what they do and a love for natural South Africa.

Room Tip: Review Rooms online at the Lions Valley Lodge website and request your specific lodge in advance. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacMacGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl F, Director of Sales at Lions Valley Lodge Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Mac

Wow, thank you so much for this awesome review on the lodge. It is always good to get feedback, especially when it is such a positive one. It is really good to know that the efforts of the staff are continuing to make each guests stay at the lodge an enjoyable one. We look forward to your next visit at Lions Valley Lodge.

Kind regards
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

What a wonderful place and people. We enjoyed the company of Adri and Greg and the staff consisting of a.o. Nic, Nolan, Charles, Joe, and many more. The lodge is great with very nice chalets, and great views. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay just the best, the service was impeccable.

The food was awesome, and the three cooks did a great job.

The game drives were awesome, with us seeing the big 4 (we missed the leopard) in just one day (we stayed 3 nights) - and that while we were focusing on birds!

Room Tip: See my review of the Nambiti Conservancy also - and the quality of the roads. Something that the lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl F, Manager at Lions Valley Lodge Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hi AvH123
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback on Lions Valley Lodge.
It is always good to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay and that he service they receive is great. We are also glad that your game viewing was good and enjoyable.
We look forward to having you visit us again sometime in the future.
Regards
Cheryl Felt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

One of the best memorable getaways I have experienced. The experience was unbelievable. Loved the game drives . The Ranger, Nolan were very noulagable on all wildlife, plants, birds and even insects. We stayed in the Romance Suite. What an experience to get to your Suite in the evening, since the wildlife are not fenced off and wonders around the Lodge. Friendly staff that meet and greet you everytime you get back to the Lodge after your drive. Even when you book out, staff members come and say goodbye. This Lodge is not just for adults, your kids would love the stay. There were a family when we were there and they interact with the kids just as well as with the adults. I truely enjoyed our stay. Would definitely take the boys next time.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TalitaR76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl F, Manager at Lions Valley Lodge Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi there.
Thank you for your very nice review on Lions Valley Lodge. It is always good to get feedback and to see how well the staff are looking after the guests. I know that they try very hard to make it a very enjoyable stay for all guests who visit the lodge.
Kind regards
Cheryl Felt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at Lions Valley lodge, the lodge is nice and food is excellent, but poor game drives and not much to see if you compare it to Phinda or Thanda game reserves that offer better game viewing experience.

the only positive about the lodge is the food which was excellent and the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl F, Manager at Lions Valley Lodge Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi There
I am very sorry that your game viewing was not so good when you visited Lions Valley Lodge, but unfortunately, that is the bush and we cannot always predict how the viewing will be. We have guests who go on one drive and absolutely rave about the viewing and then the very next one they complain. I hope you do get the opportunity to return and experience the diverse Nambit bushveld in a positive way.
Kind regards
Cheryl Felt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I spent two nights at the Lions Valley Lodge at the end of a recent business trip and it was brilliant! I had the Africa suite to myself which was huge and would have been fantastic for the whole family. The food was very good and our hosts were very attentive. The experiences out in the game park were just awesome. Watching the three male teenage lions hunt even though they did not catch anything was a highlight. Lions Valley Lodge will not disappoint in any way. If you end up going here you must make the time to get to the nearby Cheetah experience which is on the other side of the game reserve. It was only 200 Rand or just over $20 Australian and it was amazing to be able to pet and take photo's with the fastest land animals on earth.

Room Tip: I only experienced the Africa suite which is close to the lodge so very safe and less walking as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl F, Manager at Lions Valley Lodge Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hi
Thank you so much for the very positive and interesting response to Trip Advisor regarding your experience at Lions Valley Lodge. It is always good to hear from happy guests who have stayed at the lodge. We do hope that you can visit us again soon.
Kind Regards
Cheryl Felt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spend 3 nights a Lion's Valley and just loved every moment. The lodge is beautifully decorated and the twin baths in the room is a super touch which the kids are still talking about. The staff is amazing and nothing is too much trouble. The food - WOW - must be some of the best food we ever had in any of the lodges. The "South African" flair such as boboti and vetkoek was really special. Alden was an excellent ranger and managed to share lots of information which entertained the youngest to the oldest. Fishing "or rather attempted fishing" was fun, don't put your heart on catching anything, as the elephants and hippos chased us from our various fishing spots! Mango the "tame" mongoose is a real little character and the kids were happy to be entertained from a distance but got "uncomfortable" when he got too close as Mango love to "nibbel" at fingers and toes. The staff was great at assessing the guests comfort with Mango and took Mango for some time out when he got out of hand.
This was one of those trips that you would really not want to change a single thing about - other than being able to stay longer! Thank you to all the Lions Valley Team!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bothafamily293767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl F, Manager at Lions Valley Lodge Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi
Thank you so much for your very glowing review of your experience at Lions Valley Lodge.
It is always good for the staff to get positive feedback and to know that what they are doing
is appreciated. We look forward to having you stay at the lodge again in the near future.
Kind regards
Cheryl Felt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladysmith hotels
4.1 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
4.3 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#4 of 17 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
10.1 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge
7.6 mi away
Umzolozolo Lodge
Umzolozolo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.2 mi away
Springbok Lodge
Springbok Lodge
#9 of 17 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Valley Lodge Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Valley Lodge Private Game Reserve

Property: Lions Valley Lodge Private Game Reserve
Address: Nambiti Conservancy, Ladysmith 3370, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ladysmith
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive, Malaria-free Big Five Private game lodge situated on the Nambiti Private Game Reserve near Ladysmith, Kwa-Zulu Natal. It is geared for utimate relaxation and indulgence of wild life and natural surroundings of the bushveld. Visitors are accommodated in exlusive suites offering maximum privacy. There are a wealth of interesting activities for visitors to participate in. Lions Valley Lodge is situated near to historic battlefields and trips can be arranged. Bush braais and fishing in the dams can be arranged. Guests who want to unwind can laze around at the pool deck which overlooks the waterhole. Succumb to a massage by one of our trained therapists. Lions Valley Lodge offers a unique setting for corporate or team-building breakaways and conferences whilst being surrounded by the spectular sights and sounds of the African Bushveld. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing