We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm at night during winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Egerton Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ladysmith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Egerton Manor
Ranked #9 of 18 Ladysmith B&B and Inns
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
183 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Warm at night during winter”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have stayed elsewhere in Ladysmith, I am happy to say that when you visit Ladysmith in winter, it's nice to have a warm room. The Aircon worked well. I assume it would work equally as well in summer when you need to cool a room down.
We enjoyed the evening meal cooked personally by Pierre. Complete multi-course meal and very affordable.
Room was spacious. TV and internet worked well. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was sumptuous (buffet style).
We really enjoyed the personal attention by Pierre and his staff. We truly felt like a valued guest. Will we return? We have found a new "best" place to stay in Ladysmith!
Although our room was right next to the main road, the road noise was not noticeable at night -- didn't hear a thing except the birds in the morning!

Room Tip: Shower early as the system can run out of hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SequimWATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Having the blessing of being able to celebrate 40 years of married life we wanted to have an informal get together with family and friends...but where to go???
Thank goodness for EGERTON MANOR!!!
They delivered what we requested and more!!!nothing was too much trouble for them...family and friends that stayed over also remarked on the friendliness of the staff and the comfort of the rooms!
Thank you so much to Pierre and Sorika for making our evening a memorable one!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 4GNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

An absolute no-brainer when visiting Ladysmith, this B&B. Clean, safe, well equipped for all your needs. Security guard patrolling the grounds and the owners are rather charming to choose one word. Well done guys!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netsurferj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The thing that makes Egerton Manor different from any other guest house, are the owners - Pierre and Sorika Massyn. Yes - they have beautifully decorated rooms, yes - their place is always spotless; yes - they cook the best food in the county - but Pierre and Sorika are still their competitive advantage. They are hands on and always willing to share a joke, to see to it that you are comfortable, to go the extra mile!

Egerton Manor should always be your first choice when coming to Ladysmith or the surrounding areas - its worth the travel!!

Room Tip: Room 6 is my favourite - although all rooms have their own entrances and are so beautifully decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The whole concept of "guest house" is often misunderstood - staying at Egerton Manor, however, reminds you of the true and intended nature of a "Guest House". Situated in lush gardens with private entrances to beautiful and well equipped rooms coupled with the superb warmth of the hosts, Pierre & Sorika - Egerton Manor offers true hospitality PLUS the privacy one so often need when traveling. The ambience and character offers a wonderful experience on par with the very best - with the added value - its amazing hosts!
PS: Bespreek vir aandete! Dis 'n belewenis!!
Thomie

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I had a very pleasant stay at Egerton Manor, Pierre and his wife (owners) are very friendly hosts. From their cleaning services through to the free Wi-Fi, everything was just commendable. Dare I forget the tranquility of the environment. I would recommend this BnB anytime.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lebo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was my second stay of many to come in Ladysmith and possibly the immediate region. I am busy with a six-month project. The establishment is neat and conveniently located. It is reasonably close to the town and in a quiet suburb. The host was excellent and the staff great and friendly too. The rooms are comfortable and neat for a good night's rest. I stayed in a room with two 3-quarter beds side-by-side.

The breakfast was okay The room I stayed in had a shower only and no bath.

All-in-all the stay was pleasant. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezign99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladysmith hotels
0.7 mi away
Buller's Rest Lodge
Buller's Rest Lodge
#1 of 18 in Ladysmith
219 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nauntons Guest House
Nauntons Guest House
#2 of 18 in Ladysmith
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Memra Guest House
Memra Guest House
#3 of 18 in Ladysmith
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
18.6 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#9 of 17 in Ladysmith
270 reviews
10.6 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#4 of 17 in Ladysmith
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egerton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egerton Manor

Property: Egerton Manor
Address: 42 Cochrane Road, Ladysmith 3370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ladysmith
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, well appointed accommodation offering you a restful night. A real home from home allows for a friendship to develop in a few hours. All rooms are air-conditioned and has its own DSTV decoder.Centrally Situated: We are situated in the middle of Ladysmith, easily accessible.Delicious Cooking: Pierre is an experienced cook and makes each meal a culinary delight. He is not afraid to try new ideas - ask him about the famous KwaZulu-Natal style curries. To share in the delight, book for dinner in advance.Safe: Kikay, our trusty French Poodle, is on duty 24/7 and protects the premises from unwanted elements. Failing her, there is a security guard on duty at night. Egerton Manor is situated in a safe neighbourhood. Undercover parking. Remote controlled entrance & secure fencing.Optional Extras: We have been living in Ladysmith for most of our lives and know every nook and cranny. We can help you to arrange guided tours, a picnic, scenic trips to the Drakensberg, just ask and we will do our very best to assist.On Our Doorstep: Golf course, various Anglo Boer War Battlefields, World Heritage Site: Drakensberg Mountains, a few interesting restaurants.Your Hosts: Pierre and Sorika Massyn. We would like to welcome you to our Manor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing