We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Safari Tents”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Springbok Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Springbok Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury Safari Tents”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I would stay here time and time again. Everyone is so friendly and make you feel welcomed. The food is delicious and the game drives are well ran. Jono was our ranger and he done an amazing job. He asked us what we would like to see and he pulled it off :) Pack warm for the winter months as it can get a bit chilli. A great surprise was the warm poncho which was sitting on every seat of the game drive. Expect the tent to be a little cold at night, but rest assure that there is an electric blanket to make it nice and toasty for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    37
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
63
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

To start off this review, I would like to compliment the reserve first. Nambiti is an absolutely beautiful reserve, and it is a must see.

Springbok lodge in my opinion is the way to experience safari in South Africa. Staying in a fancy manor house or a lodge is just not the way to experience it. We stayed in room 15 (a 5 star tent), which had a beautiful view of the entire reserve.

Our arrival saw the game driver waiting for us to take us to the resort and drop our luggage off at our room. The ranger was very friendly and easy to get along with. Upon our arrival at the lodge, we were welcomed with nice warm face towels and lemonade, the right way to start our afternoon off. Service from staff in general is exceptional. We were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room after dinner to find that they had run a bath for us with candles and rose petals. The food at the lodge was fa-nominal, the only thing I advise I can give when you are ordering sea food is to double check whether it will be coming with shellfish. I had fish, and it unfortunately came out with prawns. Normally that would not be a problem, but I am highly allergic to prawns.

Our first game drive was very eventful, we saw 3 out of the big 5, and was a great experience. Sadly our drive in the morning was not as eventful, I'm guessing that the animals were as cold as we were, but that is the luck of the draw.

A MUST do when you are there is the cheetah encounter. To see the work these guys and gals do to populate cheetahs in our country is amazing. It was also quite special to get up close and personal with these big cats, it allows for some awesome photo opportunities and it is something that simply cannot be missed when you are there.

All in all it was a very good experience, and I highly recommend the lodge

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynand B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Such a fantastic time had at Springbok Lodge for my milestone birthday. From excellent service, to magnificent food, and absolutely awesome Game Drives with Jono where I managed to get the most spectacular pictures of animals and sunrise and sunset views.
The luxurious tents and the little special extras done to make my stay a memorable one just shows what a wonderful place this truly is.
Thank you so much to all the staff at Springbok Lodge - you guys were AWESOME!!!!!
Belinda

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bels7470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Eight of us spent the first 2 weeks of April in South Africa. Five adults and three children, 14 months, 9 and 12 years old. Having spent 5 nights in the Drakensburgh region, we drove some 3 hours for 3 nights stay at the Springbok Lodge. I was still catching my breath from our time at the Burgh, but there was no chance of this whilst in Nambiti. Breathtaking is the only way that I can describe our stay.

Upon arrival, cold lemonades awaited us along with fabulous hospitality. During a stay, all visitors are assigned a guide who will act as a personal host during the stay. Greg was our guide, and if you're fortunate to have him, you will very much look forward to each and every game drive you go on. Greg is very knowledgeable both of the animals and the environment and he is sure to make you laugh a plenty.

Each hut has a very welcoming feel to it as you enter. Everybody has their own tastes so check out the pics. The rooms were spacious and the storage/bathroom area behind the bed is well designed. The outside showers are well secluded and work well.

My 15 month old had special dietary requirements which the chef personally catered for to perfection. The buffet breakfast and lunch were delicious as was dinner.

The game drives were fantastic, you go on two, 3 hour drives a day. One at 0600 the other at 1530. During our drives, we saw all of the big five including the very rarely seen leopard.

Tip: We had a 15 month old who couldn't go on the actual game drives due to being too young. Between drives during the day when everybody is lounging around, there is little to entertain a child of this age, so make sure you bring plenty of entertainment if you're planning on travelling with younger children.

Room Tip: IGNORE all the room tips about the views . None of the huts offer a particular view over and above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquilono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterossa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Unfortunately we only had the time to be day visitors to Sprinkbok Lodge. That was our loss. From the initial communication with Wendy to the end of our game drive with Steve and William it was the smoothest of experiences. Clear directions to get there, friendly staff who thought of everything in advance and sightings of lots of game. We had a lovely lunch at the lodge preceded by a welcome refreshing homemade lemonade and hot towel on arrival-an example of the thoughtfulness of Lodge staff.
Highly recommend a visit to the cheetah breeding program whilst in Nambiti Reserve. The chance to interact with and learn about these magnificent cats is not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenmac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I recently went to Springbok Lodge with my husband, niece, daughter from London her boyfriend and his daughters. The tents are lovely, the setting of the lodge very good and were totally entertained by a fantastic Game Ranger by the name of Gregg, who was both knowledgeable and funny! We saw 4 of the Big 5! Wendy was very good and its because of her that we booked! We also visited the Cheetah Experience! Definitely worth a visit. Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I treated ourselves to 4 days at Springbok Lodge over the Easter weekend. We were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary and this was the perfect place to do just that. From the moment we got off our game vehicle we felt welcomed and relaxed. The food was amazing, and the scenery breathtaking. We were in chalet 1 which has a beautiful view of the reserve from our deck - perfect for searching for game through your binos. The tent kept us cool during the day and cosy at night. Our ranger Graeme was great - very knowledgeable on all animals and birds, lots of cheesy jokes ;) and he went the extra mile. We will recommend Springbok Lodge to all our friends and family and will be back in the future. Thank you Springbok Lodge.

Room Tip: Tent no 1 is on the edge of the reserve so your view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chantal_hindson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladysmith hotels
2.2 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
0.9 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#3 of 17 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
8.3 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#9 of 17 in Ladysmith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
4.4 mi away
Umzolozolo Lodge
Umzolozolo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Ladysmith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
6.5 mi away
Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springbok Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springbok Lodge

Property: Springbok Lodge
Address: Nambiti Game Reserve, Ladysmith, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Springbok Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nambiti Game Reserve is a 20,000 acre Private Reserve located 25 km from Ladysmith in Kwa Zulu Natal and is home to the Big 5 as well as cheetah, hippo and over thirty species of plains game which roam freely through the extensive grasslands and thornveld. Nestled in the heart of Nambiti Private Game Reserve is where you'll find Springbok Lodge. Escape to this pristine MALARIA FREE wilderness; relax and celebrate nature, her beauty and the small moments with us. The Sundays River provides an abundance of water through the Reserve and creates a unique sanctuary attracting several rare bird species and an enviable array of raptors and vultures. A birders delight! While the Big Five experience alone is enough to attract visitors, guests staying at Springbok Lodge leave with a different idea of "camping"... Accommodation is offered in elevated, luxury safari style air conditioned en suite tents with outdoor shower. Wake to the calls of the wild and enjoy picture perfect moments under the glorious African sky. Activities offered at Springbok Lodge include Game Drives and guided walks within our fenced area. Bass fishing (catch & release) is popular in season in the reserves well stocked dams. Day Trips to the nearby Battlefields can be arranged. Springbok Lodge is easily accessible from the N3 route Johannesburg and Durban bound. Springbok Lodge is an ideal venue for your next conference, company getaway or soul rejuvenation. Springbok Lodge offers a 'value for money" stay. Accommodation specials available throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, South African Hotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your Springbok Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing