We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing luxurious lodge”
Review of Springbok Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Springbok Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

luxurious accommodation in beautiful setting, perfect place, outdoor shower under the stars, complimentary brown sherry in the room, balcony with a view and a lovely hot bath run for us on our last night - lovely touch. Food was good and plentiful, staff very attentive and helpful. Our ranger Nicole was superb- very friendly and knowledgeable. We saw a huge range of birds and game, in fact the only one of the big five we didn't see was the leopard. Sundowners during the drive before dinner were a great idea as was the light breakfast on the morning drive.Visited the Kwa cheetah breeding centre and there we saw leopard and cheetahs who will eventually be released back into the wild. well worth a visit. Having been to big resorts in Kenya, I thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend this resort. NB - it is a long way from the road along a dirt road, about 10 KM. Pity I cant add photos, I have some great shots

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueh866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Springbok Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 216 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful appointed luxury tent accommodation. Game drives were very nice and the ranger very knowlegable. Food was mediocre and staff at the restaurant could be more attentive. Overall a relaxed weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hctal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent the weekend 1-3 November 2013 at Springbok lodge with the Wild-Eye Wildlife photography course. From the word go, the lodge was fantastic. It isn't over the top in the typical, paying dollars type of Big Five resort that you'd see in the Sabi sands or Madikwe, but this is part of the charm.

It is luxurious without being pretentious. The staff are attentive, the food is plentiful and simple, but good. The guide, David was knowledgeable and, most importantly able to position the vehicle in the way we wanted for photography. He adapted well to our strange desire to photograph the smallest, most "uninteresting" animals.

The accommodation is in permanent tents which are extremely comfortable and quite luxurious. The outside shower is a nice touch and there are stunning views of the sunrise from the decks of the individual tents. The units are air-conditioned which is a nice touch.

Nicole was the acting manager over the weekend and she runs a tight ship. She is extremely efficient and friendly. All in all, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were received with a damped cloth and welcome drink on a Saturday afternoon. Although we only arrived at 14h30 we were served with a nice lunch. During the two game drives we saw 19 different wild animals and a number of birds. The fact that only the game vehicles are allowed on the premises, it is very quite and you feel part of nature.
Arriving back from the game drive, your bath are filled with warm water and flowers. The Old Brown Sherry in the room is a bonus. The shower in sunshine was also great.
Be carefull with GPS directions for Springbok Lodge, we had two who took us to difference places both wrong. Confirm the co-ordinates before you go.
The food and service all over was great.

Room Tip: Rooms at the bottom have a better view
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MACHUBODIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A fantastic 3 days, spent with friends at Springbok Lodge. We had excellent game sightings of lions, elephants, and lots of antelope. Our ranger, Nicole, was outstanding! She was friendly, very knowledgeable, and an excellent driver. The staff at the lodge were very hospitable, and we were well looked after. The tents were very comfortable. The food that plentiful, although nothing spectacular. All in all, a very pleasant stay, even though it was a little on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill_de_Bruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent value for someone wanting a big five experience without having to visit the Kruger Park. Very accessible if you are only visiting Durban, and for locals in Kwazulu Natal it is a very quick and convenient bush escape. The food on our visit was a bit disappointing but this should not discourage a visit. The nearby cheetah project is a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Springbok for 3 nights in August 2013 as part of a tour around the Kwazulu Natal with our two girls aged 13 and 12. What a delight this place is. We were welcomed at the door with drinks and cold towels to freshen up whilst the hotel staff sorted out luggage and got us settled in. The tents are very luxurious and the views over the Nambiti reserve second to none. The food here is also of the highest quality and you are really well looked after - its great to snuggle up in the lodge main room by the fire and we spent a couple of evenings talking to Wendy the manager and some international rugby stars who also frequent the lodge from time to time. The Nambiti reserve is a special place to stay and the animals are clearly well respected by the reserve - our guide Mike was simply great and went out of his way to make the drives really special - we will always remember the friendly encounter we had with 25 of the reserves elephants who were really keen to say hello - Mike was very calm and talked to the animals like he knew them and they respected this - we saw all of the big 5. We were very happy to arrive and very sad to leave - but memories will be great ones from this place. In a word - WOW.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieandLeeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladysmith hotels
2.2 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
5.1 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
0.9 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#3 of 17 in Ladysmith
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Umzolozolo Lodge
Umzolozolo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Ladysmith
186 reviews
27.9 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ladysmith
291 reviews
6.5 mi away
Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge
Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge
#10 of 17 in Ladysmith
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springbok Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springbok Lodge

Address: Nambiti Game Reserve, Ladysmith, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range: $95 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springbok Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nambiti Game Reserve is a 20,000 acre Private Reserve located 25 km from Ladysmith in Kwa Zulu Natal and is home to the Big 5 as well as cheetah, hippo and over thirty species of plains game which roam freely through the extensive grasslands and thornveld. Nestled in the heart of Nambiti Private Game Reserve is where you'll find Springbok Lodge. Escape to this pristine MALARIA FREE wilderness; relax and celebrate nature, her beauty and the small moments with us. The Sundays River provides an abundance of water through the Reserve and creates a unique sanctuary attracting several rare bird species and an enviable array of raptors and vultures. A birders delight! While the Big Five experience alone is enough to attract visitors, guests staying at Springbok Lodge leave with a different idea of "camping"... Accommodation is offered in elevated, luxury safari style air conditioned en suite tents with outdoor shower. Wake to the calls of the wild and enjoy picture perfect moments under the glorious African sky. Activities offered at Springbok Lodge include Game Drives and guided walks within our fenced area. Bass fishing (catch & release) is popular in season in the reserves well stocked dams. Day Trips to the nearby Battlefields can be arranged. Springbok Lodge is easily accessible from the N3 route Johannesburg and Durban bound. Springbok Lodge is an ideal venue for your next conference, company getaway or soul rejuvenation. Springbok Lodge offers a 'value for money" stay. Accommodation specials available throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Springbok Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing