We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Bush Wedding Venue”
Review of Springbok Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Springbok Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had our wedding at Springbok Lodge in October 2012.

All we can say is WOW, what a fantastic experience. We would recommend Springbok Lodge for a bush wedding without any hesitation.

We stayed there with our family on the Friday night before the wedding and they arranged the most delicious potjie dinner for us.

All of the staff went out of their way to help us with whatever we needed and more.
On the morning of the wedding the staff must have been up at the crack of dawn to start preparing for our special day.

To be honest with you, there was not one thing that went wrong on our wedding day, if anything, the staff at Springbok Lodge had everything running more perfectly that we could have ever imagined. The whole day was a total success, what more could a bride want.

We absolutely loved the food and there was plenty of it.

A big thank you to Wendy and the all of the staff for a wonderful experience.

We will definitely be celebrating a few anniversarys there :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 223 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

Some positives & some concerns: During June/July 2012 stayed here for 2 nights. Occupied 2 rooms (lodges) with 4 adults. The lodge is small & intimate. Do not expect luxury or a good 4 star either, it is just above average and suitable for someone with a budget wanting to experience game viewing & South Africa bush. The lodge is placed well for travelers not wanting to spend too much & yet looking for good service & food. The staff are friendly and the management & rangers do go out of their way to make your experience a good one. The food is a hit & miss, and at time they got it right, but most times it was just OK. The one day they forgot to bring me my lunch (a wrap) after my salad. I just left it, as I was not that hungry.
The rooms / lodges were comfortable, clean and romantic - it is suited for a couple (not a family).
The wine menu is average, but is paired well for what you would expect at the price you pay.
Of the 3 meals, I believe dinner rated about the best.
The game viewing was disappointing. They are not stocked well and do not have enough of the big-attraction animals. i.e. they only have 1 leopard and the ranger confirmed she saw that only once in 5 years. The reserve only have a couple of cheetahs and 3 male lions (If my memory serves me correct). This means that every guest wants to go and view this small pride.
Our ranger was knowledgeable and attentive to our group. The vehicle had mechanical problems and at times would not start. Switching the motor off, and then having to turn it on in a hurry when the elephants got near...could have been a scary experience, since moments before the vehicle would not start. However, that said...they do not deny or coverup their shortfalls, the lodge and staff are very open and honest about what to expect and how we going to deal with a challenge. (Honesty goes a long way)
The challenge that I have is a sense of - 'the game park Nambiti Reserve is not working together'. The 5 or 6 lodges that is found in this Nambiti Reserve (Springbok Lodge is one of them) should be marketing the reserve together and finding a strategic angle collectively, rather than looking at promoting each lodge individually.
The territory/park has a beautiful look & feel. This has the potential to be a great reserve, but someone (SA parks ??) needs to spend money here.
The Cheetah Outreach program & visit was a highlight and at +/- R300 to R500 pp for both events, ($30 - $50 pp), I found that this was great value. This is a morning to midday event and I highly *recommend this (*I sell travel tours from USA to SA, and have experience)

Would I stay here again - Yes
Would I recommend this - Yes (but just know what to expect)

**I would recommend this for someone looking for a relaxing time in the bush, good food, decent wine and some game viewing with friendly service.

Room Tip: ask for rooms close to the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the-Safari-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

5 adults and 2 children have just spent 2 nights at Sprinbok Lodge. They still continue to offer a wonderful experience ( for 2 of us, this was our third trip to Springbok Lodge). Our guide - Ruan was very knowledgable and great host . We had some wonderful sightings of 4 of the big five. The tents are very comfortable - the electric blankets on a cold Ladysmith night are most welcome. I would recommend this place for a pampered get away for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringbokLodge, Online Marketing at Springbok Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased you all had a great time and that you would consider coming back time and again. That is what we strive for! Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the near future, maybe when it's not quite so chilly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

It was a wonderful experience .A weekend well spent ..thanks to the wonderful arrangements by Springbok Lodge..The game drive was awesome .got to see 3 out of 5 (Big Fives) in 2 game drives we had over 1 night stay..Stunning lodges , with most of the amenities available. Reaching there was the only thing we had to do..Rest the staff has so well planned out that we just had to be with the flow...enjoyed every bit of it...Kudos to the management..Staff (Rangers , chefs , manager ) is very friendly .Am loaded with a lot of Information..You feel very close to nature..Under clear star studded sky..pollution free...Food was very fresh and tasty..
I will recommend it to all the animal and nature lovers....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieSpr, Online Marketing at Springbok Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are always so glad to hear that our guests had a great time as that is what we continually strive to provide. Thank you and we hope to see you and your friends again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at Springbok Lodge with my Husband and 2 teenage daughters. Was fantastic!!! Our ranger was Lee who was brilliant, made great coffee on the morning drives and was always an excellent host. The accommodation is luxurious tents which was really fun as you could hear the animals at night while lying in your very comfortable heated bed (we were there in winter). Food was amazing and the staff all really friendly and welcoming. The Cheetah rehabilition centre was a well worth visit. Got to play with 7 week old cheetah cubs, 7 month old cheetah/leopard cubs and a tame mongoose called Zulu. Was an absolute treat. Will definately be returning again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellybanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here as wedding guests recently and had a great time, we have stayed before and have never been disapointed. The rooms are very comfortable and look like very large tents even though a little scarey at night when the animals come snorting and wondering around,though they have now installed a fence around the accomodation I believe to protect those people who have one to many. The food is very good and the bar is priced well with a great view to the reserve which is my favourite part as when you go on the game drives every one is different and to be honest I could have stayed out on the drives all day. All staff are very friendly and helpful and you get to know everyone very well as the rangers also help out around the bar and restaurant , thouroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvester36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

A terrific stay. The Lodge is excellent, the accommodation superb, the game drives and destinations truly remarkable. All of the staff deserve a lot of credit for making our stay such a truly unforgettable experience, the friendliness and helpfulness that we encountered from everyone that we met at the Lodge made our stay just perfect. Ranger Lee came up with some wonderful surprises - especially the hot drinks stop at Sundays River and of course the sun-downers in some particularly stunning settings. The visit to the cheetah project was lovely.
The drives were very informative and fun and the sightings just something else, to see the Lion so close and to hear it eating was definitely something new for all of us - to sum up 'a never to be forgotten experience'

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Di_a_nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
5.1 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
2.2 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
0.9 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#3 of 17 in Ladysmith
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Umzolozolo Lodge
Umzolozolo Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ladysmith
190 reviews
17.9 mi away
Zingela Safaris & River Camp
6.5 mi away
Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge
Esiweni Luxury Safari Lodge
#10 of 17 in Ladysmith
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springbok Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springbok Lodge

Address: Nambiti Game Reserve, Ladysmith, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range: $110 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springbok Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nambiti Game Reserve is a 20,000 acre Private Reserve located 25 km from Ladysmith in Kwa Zulu Natal and is home to the Big 5 as well as cheetah, hippo and over thirty species of plains game which roam freely through the extensive grasslands and thornveld. Nestled in the heart of Nambiti Private Game Reserve is where you'll find Springbok Lodge. Escape to this pristine MALARIA FREE wilderness; relax and celebrate nature, her beauty and the small moments with us. The Sundays River provides an abundance of water through the Reserve and creates a unique sanctuary attracting several rare bird species and an enviable array of raptors and vultures. A birders delight! While the Big Five experience alone is enough to attract visitors, guests staying at Springbok Lodge leave with a different idea of "camping"... Accommodation is offered in elevated, luxury safari style air conditioned en suite tents with outdoor shower. Wake to the calls of the wild and enjoy picture perfect moments under the glorious African sky. Activities offered at Springbok Lodge include Game Drives and guided walks within our fenced area. Bass fishing (catch & release) is popular in season in the reserves well stocked dams. Day Trips to the nearby Battlefields can be arranged. Springbok Lodge is easily accessible from the N3 route Johannesburg and Durban bound. Springbok Lodge is an ideal venue for your next conference, company getaway or soul rejuvenation. Springbok Lodge offers a 'value for money" stay. Accommodation specials available throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Springbok Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing