We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Just want to let everyone know that our stay at Elephant Rock was wonderful. The twice daily safaris were unbelievable and Stephanie's knowledge of the animals and area was excellent. Our accommodation was very clean and comfortable and the outside shower was really special. The main lodge, where we had our meals, drank our drinks and just sat and talked was just like home. All the staff were friendly and professional. Thank you all. See you again soon, I hope.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
106
126
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have just returned from an outstanding three day trip to Elephant Rock Lodge- Nambiti
The accommodation is excellent, but it is the warm, friendly, positive attitude of the management and staff that made the stay so fantastic. The game drives are made exceptional, by the friendly knowledgeable ranger Steph, who always has an interesting base of anecdotes and knowledge.
The food is excellent and the fact that the lodge is small and intimate, that makes the stay exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timnik46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

we spent 3 days at Elephant rock lodge in Nambiti Game Reserve outside ladysmith. Being only a 10 guest lodge the attention to detail is outstanding from all the staff you encounter - this is our second stay there and will definitely go again. In addition, they accommodate any preferences re likes/dislikes and the food is great. We stayed in the two roomed chalet which has a common verandah (separated by a screen incase you don't know the person next door) and an interleading door - ideal accommodation for two couples that know one another, or kids and parents, and very close to the main lodge (not that you were aware of that). The verandah looks straight down onto the waterhole - had some great sightings whilst enjoying the coffee/tea/water and homemade biscuits provided in the rooms. The bathrooms have two basins, decent bodywash/shampoo/body lotion & soap & fluffy towels provided, shower & bath, with a fabulous outdoor shower. The beds are firm, the linens good cotton. Two game drives per day (morning and late afternoon/evening) with stops for whatever you chose to drink (coffee spiked with amarula is a great warmer-upper) and snacks. The game ranger, Stephanie, went out of her way to ensure guests saw their preferences - we had close encounters with 4 of the big 5, only missing out on leopard, but its not just about the big 5 - being out there in the fresh breeze, smelling the vegetation, seeing the jackals, warthog etcetera all contribute to the experience. We saw a large flock of vultures at a lion kill that we have never seen live before. You leave feeling like you are leaving good friends, and curse the next morning when you wake up to your daily work pattern wishing you were back on that game drive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janray2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We have just returned from three amazing days at Elephant Rock for a family reunion. It was wonderful to have the exclusivity of the ten bed Lodge all to ourselves. The ages in our party ranged from 6 to 92 and Steve, Leanne, Rene and all the Lodge staff went to great lengths to ensure that we did not want for anything. The rooms are very well appointed and the food delicious. Special dietary requirements were accommodated with ease. Our ranger, Steph, was extremely interesting on our game drives and interacted beautifully with the kids by getting them to collect pods, leaves and animal dung. The swinging chairs on the deck overlooking the dam are a real treat. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeenzDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous 3 day weekend at Elephant Rock Safari Lodge. The service was faultless and a nice touch was the full, hot double bubble bath run for us on our last night. 2 game drives a day with 4 of the big five spotted (they have all five but the Leopard eluded us). 3 Gourmet meals a day and friendly staff to cater to all your needs in comfort and style and only 10 guests at a time is all you need for a perfect get-away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A big thank you to the team at Elephant Rock for making our stay one that we will NEVER forget.

We never thought we would be able to get to a Private Game Park with such special service and people. We spent 3 memorable days/nights at Elephant Rock during April 2014. From the moment of our arrival to when we left we were made to feel very special.

Thanks to Lee-ann, Steve, Steph and the rest of the team. We do feel we got the best team. Steph is the best guide giving us interesting facts during the drives and making sure that we got the best views of the animals. Also makes a wicked 'Special Morning Drink' you must ask for the 'special' when you stop for the morning drink and muffin.

Accommodation was first class and felt just right for a small and intimate African Safari.

Once again a very special time that we will not forget. Already looking at how we can save for another trip.

Sam and Lawrence

Ps: If you have time, a trip to the Kwa Cheetah project is a must. Interacting with these beautiful creatures is life changing experience.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a great view of the waterhole from the swing chairs on your very own veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just wanted to thank you guys for a magnificent stay lovely game drives exquisite food we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will be back.
Thanks to all the staff members who treated us like royalty from arrival till departure keep up the good work team Elephant Rock!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 751Penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladysmith hotels
2.0 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
0.6 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#4 of 17 in Ladysmith
226 reviews
8.0 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Umzolozolo Lodge
Umzolozolo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Ladysmith
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Springbok Lodge
Springbok Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ladysmith
202 reviews
27.8 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ladysmith
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge

Property: Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge
Address: Nambiti Private | PO Box 1707, Ladysmith 3370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge. Superbly sited overlooking a waterhole, Elephant Rock is a charming boutique safari lodge offering luxury accommodation for up to 10 people. Experience a home-away-from-home true bush lodge experience for the entire family including extraordinary game viewing, on game drives; exquisite cuisine; and high standards of service - all at exceptional value for money. Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge boasts five well appointed luxurious suites, including one family unit. All suites are well spaced for total privacy and include an en-suite bathroom, private deck and outdoor shower, and all have great views of the waterhole or the indigenous bushveld. Enjoy the magnificent viewing deck, relax whilst viewing the many species of game and birdlife or just cool off in the pool. Delicious meals are prepared by the in-house chef and can be enjoyed in the open boma, under the stars on the viewing deck, or in the comfort of the main lodge. The Big Five and other game are plentiful and roam freely over the Nambiti Private Game Reserve on which Elephant Rock is situated. Nambiti is a 10 000 hectare reserve of diverse wildlife habitat and includes the Big Five – lion, buffalo, rhino, elephant and leopard, as well as cheetah, hyena and many other species. Bird life abounds with over 250 recorded species. Nambiti is ideally situated, 3 ½ hours from Durban and 4 ½ hours from Johannesburg, in the heart of KwaZulu-Natal battlefield country, including Rorke's Drift, Isandlwana, Elandslaagte and Ladysmith. Activities: One on One Cheetah Interaction: Price From: R200.00 per person. Fishing: Enjoy some quiet time at one of the many well-stocked dams fishing for Bass, or Yellowfish. Fishing rods are available at the Lodge. Battlefield tours: For the history enthusiast, trips to any of the nearby battlefields, including Rorke’s Drift and Isandlwana, can be arranged. Golf: Golfing enthusiasts can book at a golf course in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing