We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seamless Service & Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seamless Service & Hospitality”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Second visit to this wonderfull lodge.Our first visit was perfect. This time it was even better. Attention to detail is outstanding. Hospitality of everyone was amazing and the food was overwhelming.Gamedrives was breathtaking and Stefs knowledge makes it all the worthwhile. Defenitly going back soon. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavetheRhin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
106
126
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The little touches like home made biscuits, candle lit baths, special chocolates on your bed, drinks and hot towels after returning from 3hr game drives and not to mention the muffins and Elephant Rock special hot toddy, make this a really luxurious experience. All the staff are very welcoming, knowledgeable and attentive and the lodges are lovely and secluded with a view of the waterhole. Our guide made a special effort to make sure we saw all of the big five.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumswarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at what turned out to be a fantastic lodge. From the moment we were welcomed by Stephanie our ranger, to the time we had to leave we could not have been made to feel more welcome. The lodge is intimate and you really feel special with only 9 of us there. The chalets themselves were very comfortable with stunning views across the reserve and the waterhole below. The game drives were brilliant with some great spots including 25 elephants on one trip. The food was very good and plentiful and the drinks very reasonable.
Overall we couldn't have had a better time, thank you Elephant Rock we will be back.

Room Tip: They are all good so no worries there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our wonderful ranger, Stephanie, came to collect us from the car park and from that moment we were looked after with personal care and attention that you don't find very often. The main lodge was so comfortable and our own accommodation was always perfectly turned out and stocked with refreshments. I know it's not always possible to predict what game you will come across, we were lucky to see everything we could possibly have put on our wish list although our ranger made our luck for us Stephanie was amazing. All our meals were everything you could ask for served up beautifully with such pleasant staff to serve your whims. I will certainly return to Nambiti it is very beautiful and dramatic and with Elephant Rock laying on the service I just cant recommend it enough without gushing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. We were welcomed by friendly staff. Very very impressed with Steph's knowledge of the animals and the surroundings. The food was sooooooooo good and the special treatment on the last night!! Guys, Elephant Rock rock!! We can only recommend this to friends and family and colleagues as we had superb treatment. And this is real value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElmarieRandburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Elephant Rock Lodge, more like visiting with friends than being with strangers for a weekend. The staff is great, warm and lovely people, all of them. The food was great and the viewing deck over the dam where the animals would roam around all added to a wonderful stay. On return from one of our game drives we found a warm bath with candles awaiting us.....such a special touch. I found the bedding of good quality and nice on the skin and the private viewing deck in front of the chalet added to an absolute wonderful weekend. Thanks to all the staff who became like friends to us, we really loved our stay there. We had a friend from overseas joining us on this trip and he thought it was an amazing stay and just want to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: We had rooms 4A & B with interleading door between the rooms. The view I think is the best of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I took my parents on a safari trip and we stayed at the Elephant rock lodge. We were welcomed by the friendly staff and taken to our rooms. Those were great! Spacious, a-ma-zing view and swing chairs on our deck overlooking the waterhole. Very nice.
The ranger (Steph) who took us on our drives was very friendly and told us a lot about what we saw. We almost lost an elephant (quite the achievement!) but we found it back, swimming in a waterhole with 2 friends. A wonderful experience.
The food at the lodge was good. We had wonderful meals and after every game drive we were welcomed by Steve with a nice hot towel and a drink.

The only thing that bothered us, was the fact that they never asked if it was ok to put a complete stranger (who did not speak our language) at our diner table. We were NOT pleased with that at all, it was very very awkward and unpleasant. We hadn't seen my parents for a year, so quality time was the goal here. Our request to not do that again was applied fairly quick, so that was nice.

Other than that: we had a great stay! Rooms are good, the lodge is beautiful (did I mention the lovely cold pool? I did not, but they have one!), the staff was very friendly and helpful, the game drives were a lot of fun, the food is good and we slept like babies in the lovely beds.

So all in all a wonderful stay. Will recommend this to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the waterhole. It's beautiful to just sit in your hanging chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladysmith hotels
2.0 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
0.6 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#4 of 17 in Ladysmith
226 reviews
8.0 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Umzolozolo Lodge
Umzolozolo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Ladysmith
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Springbok Lodge
Springbok Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ladysmith
202 reviews
27.8 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ladysmith
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge

Property: Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge
Address: Nambiti Private | PO Box 1707, Ladysmith 3370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge. Superbly sited overlooking a waterhole, Elephant Rock is a charming boutique safari lodge offering luxury accommodation for up to 10 people. Experience a home-away-from-home true bush lodge experience for the entire family including extraordinary game viewing, on game drives; exquisite cuisine; and high standards of service - all at exceptional value for money. Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge boasts five well appointed luxurious suites, including one family unit. All suites are well spaced for total privacy and include an en-suite bathroom, private deck and outdoor shower, and all have great views of the waterhole or the indigenous bushveld. Enjoy the magnificent viewing deck, relax whilst viewing the many species of game and birdlife or just cool off in the pool. Delicious meals are prepared by the in-house chef and can be enjoyed in the open boma, under the stars on the viewing deck, or in the comfort of the main lodge. The Big Five and other game are plentiful and roam freely over the Nambiti Private Game Reserve on which Elephant Rock is situated. Nambiti is a 10 000 hectare reserve of diverse wildlife habitat and includes the Big Five – lion, buffalo, rhino, elephant and leopard, as well as cheetah, hyena and many other species. Bird life abounds with over 250 recorded species. Nambiti is ideally situated, 3 ½ hours from Durban and 4 ½ hours from Johannesburg, in the heart of KwaZulu-Natal battlefield country, including Rorke's Drift, Isandlwana, Elandslaagte and Ladysmith. Activities: One on One Cheetah Interaction: Price From: R200.00 per person. Fishing: Enjoy some quiet time at one of the many well-stocked dams fishing for Bass, or Yellowfish. Fishing rods are available at the Lodge. Battlefield tours: For the history enthusiast, trips to any of the nearby battlefields, including Rorke’s Drift and Isandlwana, can be arranged. Golf: Golfing enthusiasts can book at a golf course in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing