We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We fell in love with Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
“We fell in love with Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I recently went for a holiday at Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge (Nambiti Game Reserve), and we fell in love with the place. We have never felt so welcome and at home as we did at the Lodge. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was delicious, and the accommodation was stunning!! We were very impressed with our Guide Steven - he was very knowledgable and he made our game drives interesting and fun. We will definately be visiting the Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schlechter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
106
126
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We've been lucky enough to visit Elephant Rock on a number of occasions and probably take the experience for granted. We recently took our two teenage nephews for their first trip to a game reserve, and seeing how they reacted and enjoyed themselves, were reminded what a special experience it is. In terms of game viewing, we saw just about everything, including 3 hyena with a kill. In 6 years, my first sighting of the hyena. We saw lion twice, the elephant herd, the bull elephant, buffalo on 3 occasions, cheetah, rhino, giraffe and the rest. I kept reminding the boys how lucky they were to see so much on their first visit to a game reserve, and the Blackberries were going beserk with postings of all the sightings flying around the world! The rooms are beautiful and so in keeping with the entire experience - outdoor showers are the order of the day every time we go to Elephant Rock. Elephant Rock have a new chef, and the food was the best it's been - hope they manage to keep him. Steve, Inga and Dave were wonderful as always and thanks to Steve and Dave for taking all the "boys" fishing as well - they had a ball.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Our stay at Elephant Rock was a last minute add on to our trip to the battlefields and we ended up wishing we had planned to stay longer.
Inga was friendly and welcoming as were the staff. Our chalets were spacious and beautifully decorated, with a private veranda with swinging seats. Perfect for an afternoon snooze before the evening game drive.
The game drives with David were superb. He was knowledgeable and informative but also great fun. The cheetahs were a highlight and also watching Beefy the bull elephant taking his bath, then getting back to the lodge after the morning drive to find an elderly buffalo had invaded the garden, and Inga was having to drive him out.
Another highlight of the stay was after arriving back in the dark after the evening game drive, Inga greeted us and suggested a bath before dinner. We headed back to our chalets thinking well maybe a quick shower, only to find a scented bubble bath surrounded by candles waiting for us. Luxury!
We can not fault our experience at Elephant Rock and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jafra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We went to Elephant Rock wth two young children for two nights in April 2010. We had an excellent time and would definitely return there. The service and hospitality was excellent. The meals were tasty. The game drives were definitely the highlight. Steve and David were very knowledgeable and keen to share their enthusiam for the wild. We managed to see a lot of animals in 4 game drives - elephant (Beefy), cheetah, lion and lioness, zebras, giraffe, impala, kudu etc. The evening drives were quite an experience - spotting animals in pitch dark! Also, the morning and evening tea breaks during the game drives were among some fantastic views in the bush. The only downside for us was the children were too young to appreciate the animals but we will definitely consider coming back to this place when they are older.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kai10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed at Elephant Rock for three days. Our visit to Kwa Zulu Natal was mainly so my husband could tour the battlefields and the safari was my compensation. It turned out to be the highlight of his trip as well as mine. Steve was a really knowledgable guide both about the animals and the development of Nambiti as an ecosystem. The lodge is luxurious without being over the top and we got to see a variety of animals in a fairly non contrived manner. It was our first visit to a safari lodge so we have nothing to compare it to, but would be overjoyed to stay somewhere like Elephant Rock again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vetchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Went to Elephant Rock Lodge in Nambiti Reserve for 3 nights. Game Ranger Steve was excellent. Very informative and interesting. Nothing was too much trouble. Very likeable young man. Food was excellent. Accomodation was awesome. Only negative is that we did not see too much game for a big 5 resort but the hospitality made up for it. Well done Steve and Inga

Helpful?
Thank traceySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

We stayed here for a Valentines weekend "special", and requested Chalet no 3 after receiving advice.
The chalet was an incredibly wonderful surprise, extremely roomy with a gigantic Bathroom with bathtub and Shower, which leads to another outdoor shower with the same view of the valley below. The private deck extends off the bedroom with a grand view of the valley and beyond. We also had the whole place to ourselves for the first day and night so had the full attention of all the staff. This is how royalty must feel like?
Because they share the same owners at Springbok lodge we were collected and went to eat dinners there. The dinners were excellent and the valentine’s night was superb with gifts for the ladies and a lot of attention to the dining area and the tables

When we got back to Elephant Rock we entered our chalet to see paths of flower petals throughout the room and on the bed and leading to a bubble bath filled bath with lots of candles surrounding it. . It was simply magical.
Breakfast was adequate as opposed to being lavish, but after 3 days you wish you hadn’t eaten so much.
The game drives were great fun as we had the same 6 people on all our dives, and as it turned out, they were extremely knowledgeable about the bush and we learnt a lot from all the parties concerned.
The cheetah have been released and we sighted them on the last game drive , besides seeing the lions on 2 occasions and even a juvenile porcupine, which is a area sighting especially as they had good rains and the bush was quite severe.
It would be much better to go there in August, but then it would be much colder.
The only negative that I think needs mention is that the Swimming pools, both at Springbok lodge and Elephant Rock are too natural, and that ,means they allow a layer of slime and algae to settle which gets disturbed when you enter it. This is not everyone’s cup of tea. I would suggest that the water must be kept pristine especially if they are to appease fussy visitors.
All in all, a highly recommended experience and good healthy competition to the more established reserves in Northern Natal
Good luck to Wend and Brett, who are a wonderful couple that go out there way to assist.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ladysmith hotels
2.0 mi away
Nambiti Hills Private Game Lodge
0.6 mi away
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
Cheetah Ridge Lodge
#4 of 17 in Ladysmith
226 reviews
8.0 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Umzolozolo Lodge
Umzolozolo Lodge
#6 of 17 in Ladysmith
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Springbok Lodge
Springbok Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ladysmith
202 reviews
27.8 mi away
Spionkop Lodge
Spionkop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Ladysmith
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge

Property: Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge
Address: Nambiti Private | PO Box 1707, Ladysmith 3370, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge. Superbly sited overlooking a waterhole, Elephant Rock is a charming boutique safari lodge offering luxury accommodation for up to 10 people. Experience a home-away-from-home true bush lodge experience for the entire family including extraordinary game viewing, on game drives; exquisite cuisine; and high standards of service - all at exceptional value for money. Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge boasts five well appointed luxurious suites, including one family unit. All suites are well spaced for total privacy and include an en-suite bathroom, private deck and outdoor shower, and all have great views of the waterhole or the indigenous bushveld. Enjoy the magnificent viewing deck, relax whilst viewing the many species of game and birdlife or just cool off in the pool. Delicious meals are prepared by the in-house chef and can be enjoyed in the open boma, under the stars on the viewing deck, or in the comfort of the main lodge. The Big Five and other game are plentiful and roam freely over the Nambiti Private Game Reserve on which Elephant Rock is situated. Nambiti is a 10 000 hectare reserve of diverse wildlife habitat and includes the Big Five – lion, buffalo, rhino, elephant and leopard, as well as cheetah, hyena and many other species. Bird life abounds with over 250 recorded species. Nambiti is ideally situated, 3 ½ hours from Durban and 4 ½ hours from Johannesburg, in the heart of KwaZulu-Natal battlefield country, including Rorke's Drift, Isandlwana, Elandslaagte and Ladysmith. Activities: One on One Cheetah Interaction: Price From: R200.00 per person. Fishing: Enjoy some quiet time at one of the many well-stocked dams fishing for Bass, or Yellowfish. Fishing rods are available at the Lodge. Battlefield tours: For the history enthusiast, trips to any of the nearby battlefields, including Rorke’s Drift and Isandlwana, can be arranged. Golf: Golfing enthusiasts can book at a golf course in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Elephant Rock Private Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing