We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot & history lesson”
Review of Spionkop Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spionkop Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Spion Kop Lodge and had a great time. It really is a beautiful spot and the hosts, Lynette & Raymond Heron were more than welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. The battlefield tour is an absolute MUST. Extremely interesting even if you are not big into history but it's something everybody should know about. Only a tiny bit of criticism for the dining room and choice of background music. It's a little bit sombre and dark and does not invite to linger, but I guess once the summer gets under way it will be brighter anyway. In any case, I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TinaNice_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Spionkop Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 291 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely stay. Great hospitality and food. Excellent battlefield tour and amazing location. Game viewing nearby. Big rooms with good facilities. Need televison in the rooms and not all doors locked properly.



  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gaylyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We didn't stay at the Lodge, but booked two Battlefield Tours with Alistair.
We spent two most interesting and enjoyable days(apart from the weather) with him,
learning a bit more about our country's history.
Alistair conveyed his knowledge in an informal manner which we found very refreshing.
Thanks for a wonderful experience!
We'll be back

Koos and Anel Conradie

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Koos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were looking for a peaceful break midway through our two weeks in SA. This provided it. We were the only couple there as it was low season, so a TV in the room would have been useful. The room was spacious and as on the tin - a restored 1900's lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent one night and were superbly looked after by Raymond, Lynette and the family team. Alistair took us on a Delightful lake cruise to spot wildlife and Raymond led us up and around Mount Alice, and Spion Kop itself, key points in the January 1900 battle. Raymond's expertise as a military historian is well known. His judicious summary of the background to the conflict was exemplary. We were welcomed with a delicious light lunch and fed more copiously but with equal quality in the evening. Our room was spacious and full of traditional charm. This is a high-class billet, fit indeed for any military enthusiast, wildlife buff or any lover of warmn hospitality

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Travelling from Johannesburg to Durban, we made a very late decision to break our journey. Called Lynette Heron at Spion Kop Lodge, and surprisingly, got a booking on a Friday night. She even called the staff back to make supper for us. Excellent home-made soup, steak, fresh veg and a tasty creamy garlic sauce, followed by malva pudding and ice cream, and a decent cheese board (very rare here in South Africa unless you're at a five star restaurant or hotel). Decent wines, good choice of beers from the quaint bar. Comfy beds, plenty of hot water, peace and quiet. Perfect eggs for breakfast too! We'll be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Allison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a most enjoyable stay at Spionkop lodge. The accommodation was a charming cottage in the grounds of the larger farm compound. We ate excellent home cooked south african food in the main dining room which was very reasonably priced. Our guide, Raymond Heron, was highly knowledgeable and went to great lengths to bring the history to life for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladysmith
3.8 mi away
Three Trees at Spioenkop
Three Trees at Spioenkop
#1 of 11 in Bergville
265 reviews
6.8 mi away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
5.2 mi away
Dalmore Farm Guest House
Dalmore Farm Guest House
#1 of 13 in Bergville
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
Kwaggashoek Game Ranch
#5 of 11 in Bergville
43 reviews
18.4 mi away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#5 of 16 in Winterton
102 reviews
32.8 mi away
Nambiti Plains Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spionkop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spionkop Lodge

Address: R600 | between Ladysmith and Winterton, Ladysmith 3370, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ladysmith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ladysmith
Price Range: $129 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spionkop Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by low hills that slope up to the towering peaks of the Drakensberg and Free State Mountains. Spion Kop Lodge is the ideal place from where to explore the battlefields, set on an echo farm in Kwazulu-Natal. General Buller’s headquarters during the relief of the Ladysmith campaign, Mount Alice, is located on the farm. The beautifully restored, 8 bedroomed colonial-style farmhouse, is set in tranquil, secure grounds with superb views. Added to this there are two cottages, offering self-catering accommodation in an out-of-Africa setting. There is a library with an excellent collection of historical books, a dining room, cozy pub and a swimming pool. The owner and registered guide, Raymond Heron (F.R.G.S), guides guests to the many historic Battlefield sites, as does his son Alastair. We have 250 different bird species, hiking on the property and Sunset Boat Cruises and horse riding amongst the rhino, giraffe and various other animals. "Arrive as guests, leave as friends." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spionkop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing