We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spionkop Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Ladysmith)
$96
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Zinzanathi Guesthouse(Ladysmith)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Buller's Rest Lodge(Ladysmith)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$292
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Umzolozolo Lodge(Ladysmith)
$525
$415
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$519
$500
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$892
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$462
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveler rating
219
92
9
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
92
9
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspion kopbattlefield tourraymond heronsouth african historyboer warexcellent tourdrakensberg mountainsliverpool football clubbattle fieldthe cottageshis sonwinston churchillkind regardsnature reservecomfortable roomspeaceful placeself catering
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 331 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent one night and were superbly looked after by Raymond, Lynette and the family team. Alistair took us on a Delightful lake cruise to spot wildlife and Raymond led us up and around Mount Alice, and Spion Kop itself, key points in the January 1900 battle. Raymond's expertise as a military historian is well known. His judicious summary of the background to the conflict was exemplary. We were welcomed with a delicious light lunch and fed more copiously but with equal quality in the evening. Our room was spacious and full of traditional charm. This is a high-class billet, fit indeed for any military enthusiast, wildlife buff or any lover of warmn hospitality

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Travelling from Johannesburg to Durban, we made a very late decision to break our journey. Called Lynette Heron at Spion Kop Lodge, and surprisingly, got a booking on a Friday night. She even called the staff back to make supper for us. Excellent home-made soup, steak, fresh veg and a tasty creamy garlic sauce, followed by malva pudding and ice cream, and a decent cheese board (very rare here in South Africa unless you're at a five star restaurant or hotel). Decent wines, good choice of beers from the quaint bar. Comfy beds, plenty of hot water, peace and quiet. Perfect eggs for breakfast too! We'll be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Allison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a most enjoyable stay at Spionkop lodge. The accommodation was a charming cottage in the grounds of the larger farm compound. We ate excellent home cooked south african food in the main dining room which was very reasonably priced. Our guide, Raymond Heron, was highly knowledgeable and went to great lengths to bring the history to life for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It is seldom that you find that a accommodation venue does all the right things, and also that they do the things right. An absolute pleasure!
I would love to have a book on the history as it was told.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 77Fred1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Spion Kop Lodge was my home away from home during a 5 week volunteer project at the near by school where I taught English with 5 other university volunteers.

my whole time in South Africa and at Spion Kop was truly anazing and one I will not forget.

Upon arrival to Spion Kop we were greeted by both Lynette and Raymond and I remember Lynettes extremely comforting words 'for the next 5 weeks I am your South African mother and Spion Kop is your home.'

The Setting:
Spion Kop is idealic! The mountainous back drop is breathtaking and the stunning array of cottages really add to your African experience. Just close to the entrance lies the Spion Kop nature reserve which homes giraffe, rhino and zebra to name but a few! The setting of the lodges provide privacy still with a sense of safety and comfort. Waking up to 'Kudo' grazing on the grass and roaming the grounds was a natural occurrence!!

The Accomodation:
The cottages range from self catering to catered. My time there was spent in the self catering cottage, we did however recieve a free complementary breakfast on arrival with sandwiches pre prepared in the lodge for us!
The lodge itself was traditionally decorated and had numerous beds to choose from. There was 6 of us staying together and we had the choice of 3 rooms. The lodge had a kitchen/dining area and lovely huge showers in the bathroom!

The lodges were cleaned daily and any washing that was left out was taken by the maids and returned promptly the next morning! The lodge was always spotless!

On evenings we would venture to the main lodge to socialise with Lynette, Raymond and the rest of the Heron family and guests.
The lodge itself hosts a cute and intimate bar area with a choice of drinks, a greeting/lounge area and a dining room that overlooks the stunning views!

The Hosts:
The Heron family can only be described as loving and welcoming. During my time at Spion Kop I was treated as a daughter by Lynette and Raymond, even being invited to attend their daughters wedding that took place at the lodge itself. Raymond was what can only be described as a gentleman during our whole visit and Lynette, the second mum that everyone longs for. Hester and Allister were so extremely helpful and Ashleigh and Sarah where always around to brighten our day with their adorable daughter Jemimah. Nothing was ever too much trouble.


All in all my stay at Spion Kop was amazing and leaving was extremely emotional. The Heron family did so much for both myself and the other volunteers in our time spent there and we owe them a great deal. For anybody wanting a true African experience with trustworthy, welcoming hosts that provide an idealic retreat Spion Kop should be you number 1 choice. Thank you Lynette, Raymond, Hester, Allister, Ashleigh, Sarah and all the Heron's for welcoming me into your family and ensuring that I had the experience of a life time! Xxxx

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilyrjeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews