We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The big 5, at home”

Nambiti Game Conservancy
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The big 5, at home”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Seeing large animals in their natural habitat is a wonderful experience. We were able to see a breeding herd of elephants, with babies. White and black rhino. Majestic male lions. A herd of buffalo. The leopard were very hard to find. And naturally there are many other animals.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndreP247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kwa Cheetah - Excellent experience”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a wonderful opportunity to get up close to cheetahs and to hear more about the project. First class destination. And there is a good burger available at a reasonable price!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feb 2014”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

There was so much to see and such beautiful scenery. There was a variety of terrain and so around every corner was something spectacular!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank vickymaeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Kwa Cheetah Rehabilitation Centre”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

If you want to get up close to cheetahs - this is the place. You enter the gates of Nambiti and aremet by the guard who will check if you have made a telephonic booking for the cheetah interaction. Booking is essential so it remains an experience with limited numbers. As you drive into the parking area you eyes pop as a cheetah hops out of an open Land Rover accompanied by a couple of domestic dogs. A tiny meerkat called Zulu comes to greet you and cuddle. The baby warthog called Basil is busy being enticed back to his sleeping area before the cheetah who hopped out of the Land Rover may find him an attractive snack.

When visitors who have booked for the experience have all arrived you are given a short talk by the ranger on the work of rehabilitation and are made aware of the precarious position of leopards and cheetahs in the wild. Many of the animals were rescued or brought to the centre after their mothers had been killed and the cubs found abandoned. Others are bred for re-introduction to the wild, to sustain the dwindling numbers of cheetahs.

Then it is time to take a walk to the large open enclosures where you can see the animals in natural habitiat. The young leopard is magnificent yet scary in his power. Visitors may touch him on the back but not go into his enclosure.

The best part is the cheetah interaction where one goes into big enclosures first with the young cheetahs, then the Serval cats, then the mature cheetahs. The cubs that have been hand-raised are very tame and will purr when you stroke them. The rangers are with the group at all times to ensure safety - yours and the big cat's as people can sometimes do silly things which can upset them! The important part about this is that it is not a rushed experience as there is plenty of time to interact with the animals instead of observing them only from a car window in a game park or being rushed through on a tourist trap experience where one has a minute or two with the animals. It is also an opportunity to get some magnificent close up shots in relaxed and natural surroundings.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“We saw 4 of the big 5”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

It was my first place that I visited for Safari and I wasn't disappointed at all. During our first evening safari we and saw 4 of the big 5. We were very lucky with a lions, so the were really shoving themselves off. I liked the landscape in the reserve, that it's not entirely flat. The rangers were really doing their best and trying to find all possible animals and show them to us. The reserve is not big and not overcrowded, and all the roads are dirty, that supports the genuine spirit of the place and activity. Because, for me driving concrete roads during safari feels like I am in a big zoo.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nambiti Game Conservancy also viewed

Ladysmith, KwaZulu-Natal
Ladysmith, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ladysmith, KwaZulu-Natal
Ladysmith, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Nambiti Game Conservancy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing