We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Richmond Villa B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richmond Villa B&B
Taplow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We booked in to stay with Mary for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed for longer. Mary is a true Orcadian hostess, welcoming, warm and kind. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here as she is also a font of local knowledge. We had our best meal in Orkney due to one of her recommendations and she has wonderful knowledge of the local area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweedledumdedum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Wow
What a find we had taken a last minute trip with my mum who is original from Orkney , I had managed to book a room for our first night but all hotels booked out for the following couple of nights so getting off the ferry was concerned with a wife who likes her comforts and an elderly mother who deserves her comforts well long story short ( yes thanks to the wife ) we ended up at the Richmond what a Gem Margaret the owner made us feel so at home the rooms were perfect with on suite I may add could not have been better and the breakfast was awesome she even made porridge for my mum who has a problem with swallowing after throat cancer , to sum up I travel and stay in many hotels 5 star included but to be honest for the money you cannot fault this bed and breakfast , do yourself a favor save a heap off money and stay here wish I had stayed the first night also , a big thank you to Margaret from all off us also for the bottle of wine from Oz where we live

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murdkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Myself and 2 friends arrived at Richmond Villa while touring on motorbikes.
Right away, Margaret and Duncan made us very welcome and had an evening meal ready for us.
Rooms were very nice, had Shower,Tea and Coffee,TV and very good WI-FI.
Food was fantastic with plenty tea and coffee on offer.
Price was very good and Margaret and Duncan even let us secure our Motorbikes at the back of their hotel behind secure gates.
All in all a fantastic place to stay and would have no problem recommending the Richmond Villa B+B.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Margaret and Duncan are the perfect hosts. Staying with them at their B&B some time back (was earlier than date stated as this is the earliest we could post here) was probably the best experience of our trip to Orkney, and the attractions in Orkney are well worth a visit.

Margaret cooks delicious meals and dining with them is a pleasure, especially when they treat you as one of the family.

Everything about Richmond Villa, especially the warm and very comfy bed, meals and the Cromarty family leave one wishing they could stay longer.

We highly recommend staying at the Richmond Villa B&B when you choose to visit Orkney (if you are lucky enough to find a vacancy)

Room Tip: Have a wee dram with Duncan..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyaztec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

When you're travelling 5,000 miles away from home, the last thing you need is to stay somewhere you feel uncomfortable. If you stay at Richmond Villa B&B in St. Margaret's Hope on South Ronaldsay Island in the Orkney Island chain, you will never feel that way.

My wife and I stayed two nights in Margaret and Duncan's B&B a couple of weeks ago. From the moment Margaret met us and showed us to our room, to the morning we left, we were made to feel right at home. The hospitality is genuine and unforced. There is an obvious desire to make your stay as perfect as possible.

The room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The bed was so comfortable that even the Orkney winds could not rouse me from my sleep. They also offer a very nice lounge for guests to sit in and watch TV or read books or just laze around. Given all there is to do in the Orkneys you are not likely to be spending to much time doing nothing however.

Margaret cooks up a mean breakfast. There is cereal, fresh fruit and juices as well as a full Scottish breakfast. When we had to leave early to catch our ferry back to mainland Scotland, Margaret insisted on getting up to make sure we had at least fresh juice and tea before our journey...once again going out of her way.

The house is located very close to the ferry dock so we were able to leave a mere five minutes prior to needing to be at the dock...and still had a couple of minutes to spare.

Thanks again, Margaret and Duncan, for a wonderful stay. We will be back!!!

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Toofpik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Richmond Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Villa B&B

Property: Richmond Villa B&B
Address: Richmond Villa Church Road, St. Mary's KW17 2SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > St. Mary's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in St. Mary's
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing