We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay in Mainland Orkney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The INN Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 St. Mary's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent place to stay in Mainland Orkney”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Inn Guest House cannot be faulted. Shona is a friendly land-lady and very welcoming. She noticed that my wife has difficulty climbing stairs, and immediately suggested changing our room from the top floor to the first floor without our even asking. Our room was very clean, comfortable and colour coordinated with lovely views across the Bay of Ayre and beyond. The breakfast menu is comprehensive and portions very generous. We opted for the packed lunch which again was varied and plentiful and proved to be a good idea as we saw few cafes while touring the island.
This B&B is a convenient place to stay, easy to find, only 10 minutes from Kirkwall and with straightforward access to all parts of Mainland Orkney and South Ronaldsay. Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
91
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2014

i stayed at The Inn duirng a short (3 day / 2 nights) visit to Orkney. The room was immaculate, a twin room with a view over the water. Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice as healthy (or unheathy!) as you could want.

A good quite nights sleep, with only the wind outside for company.

The location is very good, easy to find and good for getting about - mainland Orkney is a small place. I'd definitey stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank kevinrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Shauna our host was very obliging, nothing was too much trouble. The room was absolutely spotless and extremely comfortable. We had breakfast each morning and the cooked breakfast was delicious. The rooms was kept warm and had all you would need to ensure your stay on the Orkney Islands was enjoyable.
I would not hesitate to recommend this accomodation to any couple who wanted to meet others in the dinning area/ TV area or if you wanted privacy.
The location was good for us as we had a car to explore but if you had no car the local bus does stop outside the front door.

Thank you Shauna for a hassle free stay.

Room Tip: Book early because I think this accomodtion will be popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
if1918
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This cosy, friendly, clean, B and B, is simply the perfect place to stay when visiting Orkney. The owners can not do enough for you, and have thought of all the wee things that make it feel like home from home. The communal living/dining room has a host of things for you to utilise and the breakfast is so filling, lunch is not necessary.

Room Tip: No tips, all the rooms I saw into had beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank if1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a pre-planned set of B+Bs to allow us to tour from Stromness around to South Ronaldsay and from there off by Burwick. St Marys is a really useful place to stop over. Beautiful, quiet village with tranquil views.
The B+B was great . We were allowed to put bikes in the outhouse which kept them dry/out of sight. The room was fine. The bathroom was quite tiny, but saying that, the shower was really good, and it was all very clean. Shona the host cooked a great breakfast, and was happy for us the night before to bring in somethings to eat in the dining room (as there is no eatery in the village open during the weekdays)
Definitely would consider coming back here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

An ideal base from which to explore the main sites.
Cosy rooms....as we were two adults and two teenagers we were given adjacent rooms...one double, one twin. Good bathrooms. Clean and well appointed. Fabulous breakfasts.
Parking across the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roozin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton Upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Perfect rooms, spotless and clean. Great location and the lady that owns the B&B cant do enough. Such good value for money.
We had the room on the top floor looking over the sea, perfect view!
We were able to check in really late as our ferry docked at midnight. Great parking and the breakfast is great too.
Overall I cant fault any bit. Wish it was more local to go back to again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missjenniboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mary's
6.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
366 reviews
14.3 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
206 reviews
6.3 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
125 reviews
5.9 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
252 reviews
16.5 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The INN Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The INN Guest House

Property: The INN Guest House
Address: The Inn St. Mary's The Inn | Holm, St. Mary's KW17 2RT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > St. Mary's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The INN Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New en-suite guesthouse located on the waterfront with sea views. Ideal location for sightseeing, fishing, walks or business trips. On main bus route with restaurant and bar 10 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The INN Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing