We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The INN Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 St. Mary's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice owners, spacious and clean rooms, good shower facilities, excellent breakfast and a quiet location with a nice view. Not for those who needs city life in the evening. Stayed for 4 days and enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aerona72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 169 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights and can't find the slightest fault. The decor is light and modern, my room was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished with a lovely view over Scapa Flow to the south. I've certainly stayed in worse rooms in big, expensive hotels. The food was well cooked and plentiful and nothing was too much trouble for Shona, the hostess.

I don't know why some people write reviews and complain about the weather or the fact that it gets dark early in Orkney in the winter - that's hardly the fault of the accomodation (although I visited in midsummer and the weather was lovely). This review is about The Inn Guest House and I really can't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Great location and the rooms were clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast was good and a big selection was available. Shona our hostess was very welcoming. Not much choice for eating close by so is necessary to drive to get a meal. Would definitely recommend this Guest House.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Fay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I "met" the host on the phone a month or so before we arrived and by the end of the conversation we were already fast friends. The room was spotless and provided everything we needed, including a place to put our bags and adequate power outlets for charging phones etc. (both pet peeves for me). The breakfast and conversation were both plentiful and delightful. The island is not very big, so this makes an ideal place for a base while exploring Orkney.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very nice and room and bathroom, quiet and modern. WIFI working perfectly.
Breakfast very nice and very warmfull owner : very helpfull to start earlier service to ensure that I have breakfast going to work.

A place to stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebDBS16JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had 8 nights with Shoona and it was great. Though from the outside the pictures will show another grim, pebble-dashed Orkadian building, inside it is light, clean and modern. Downstairs a large breakfast room and sitting room has great views over both a freshwater lochan full of diving birds and of the sea towards Churchill Barrier No 2 and The Italian Chapel. Upstairs are various rooms most with a sea view. Rooms 1 and 2 are best. Great showers, comfortable beds and clean towels and linen make for a good night's rest. Both underfloor and radiator central heating and vast quantities of hot water made our stay warm amd pleasant.The main road from Kirkwall to St Margaret's Hope is directly outside, but as 'traffic' on Orkney means something rather different to 'traffic' elsewhere, do not fret! Breakfasts were HUGE and after 2 mornings we sunk back to restraining Shoona from yet another coronary inducing gut-buster. Masses of choice for all and nothing was ever too much trouble for our hostess who was great fun and enjoyed the craic. We plan to return for another stay....enough said.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnatPales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here on our walking holiday. Perfect guest house with a most obliging owner. We'd left a unique adaptor in our previous hotel in Kirkwall and the the hostess took the bus back to Kirkwall and recovered it for us. Exceptional. Rooms were bright and clean and the breakfasts overwhelimng. Wonderful views of Scarpa Fllow. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mary's
0 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
97 reviews
0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
387 reviews
0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
0 mi away
Graemeshall House
Graemeshall House
#1 of 1 in Holm
6 reviews
0 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The INN Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The INN Guest House

Address: The Inn St. Mary's The Inn | Holm, St. Mary's KW17 2RT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > St. Mary's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mary's
Price Range: $116 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The INN Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New en-suite guesthouse located on the waterfront with sea views. Ideal location for sightseeing, fishing, walks or business trips. On main bus route with restaurant and bar 10 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and getaroom.com so you can book your The INN Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing