We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of her way to help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The INN Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 St. Mary's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here on our walking holiday. Perfect guest house with a most obliging owner. We'd left a unique adaptor in our previous hotel in Kirkwall and the the hostess took the bus back to Kirkwall and recovered it for us. Exceptional. Rooms were bright and clean and the breakfasts overwhelimng. Wonderful views of Scarpa Fllow. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 169 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Lovely room, extremely clean, comfortable, modern facilities, free wifi and an outstandingly kind and generous owner. She got on a bus and travelled back into Kirkwall to collect the plug adapter I left in St Ola Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiaoraNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were mystified by the rave reviews of this B&B. We spent two nights in September. The cramped room at the top had a lovely view but the bed was overly soft and the room smelled of old cooking oil. We asked for suggestions about places to eat - St. Mary's is pretty remote and the sun sets early - and got no help at all. The breakfast was fine but nothing extraordinary. It was close to the ferry at St. Margaret's Hope and the hosts kindly accommodated our request for coffee and toast early in the morning but we would not rush back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calicocatlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and it was perfect! We had a warm welcome and the room was perfect.
The location is just so beautifull with the views over the bay. If you want to visit the island, it's a perfect location.

The breakfast is just so large, that you can't eat for a whole day! You just choose from the menu and they will prepare it for you.

Recommended by friends and we don't regret staying there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FemkeVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a slightly belated review, but my good memories of The Inn will last a long time. Simply how a B&B should be - a wonderful, warm, friendly and local host who genuinely cares about her guests' happiness. Clean, well equipped rooms with wonderful views, and a great location for exploring the major sites of the island. The food was perfectly cooked and abundant, with lots of choice and special requests handled wonderfully.

If there's a room available when you want to visit, then book it quickly before somebody else does!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lidongni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

its a real shame our visit wasn't longer here because we found the perfect place for a Orkney visit.
We will be going back to stay at the INN as soon as work allows, wonderful people, fantastic location and a top quality breakfast, what more is there to say? cant fault the rooms, they wanted for nothing.
We wont hesitate to recommend the Inn to everyone we know and we do know what we are talking about as we run a guest house of our own.
thank you Shona & Mike for everything

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great location- handy for Gils Bay/St Margarets Hope Ferry and Kirkwalll, watch seals swimming in the bay from the bedroom window. Immaculately clean and tidy in an IKEA kind of way. All mod cons (including Sky TV and WIFI. Great breakfasts (plus snacks and lounge. Welcoming with sound advice for good visits and meals out. Returned from birthday dinner to find chocs and a bottle of fizz... so also kind and considerate. Book today!

Room Tip: Pick a room facing Scapa Flow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItsBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mary's
0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
0 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
0 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Graemeshall House
Graemeshall House
#1 of 1 in Holm
6 reviews
0 mi away
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The INN Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The INN Guest House

Address: The Inn St. Mary's The Inn | Holm, St. Mary's KW17 2RT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > St. Mary's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mary's
Price Range: $103 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The INN Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New en-suite guesthouse located on the waterfront with sea views. Ideal location for sightseeing, fishing, walks or business trips. On main bus route with restaurant and bar 10 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The INN Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing