We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous House for a get together”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Arnside, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous House for a get together”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Amazing, amazing, amazing.

Just back from a fantastic weekend at this lovely house. It is our second time here and we will be back again next year.

We are a group of three young families, the house is perfect for a relaxed chilled weekend of walking, playing boardgames, family fun and maybe a glass of wine or two. The house is amplesize for all twelve (without getting in each other's way). It has superb facilities and the well stocked kitchen makes cooking breakfast and meals easy. Set in a stunning location with a beautiful garden -I would recommend.

We have lots of fond memories in this house and look forward to making more next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRA1982
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thornfield exceeded our expectations. The photos don't do it justice! From the moment the 11 of us arrived it was clear that this was a spotlessly clean, fully equipped, nicely decorated house with lots of space so that we could all choose to be together, of have some quiet time away in another room if we fancied. The cosy lounge, spacious kitchen and tasteful master bedroom were the main bits that stood out, together with the lovely gardens and surrounding countryside.
A short walk away there are some lovely walks, shops, coffee bars & The Albion pub which serves excellent food.
We will certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is stunning
Liked least: the dishwasher is rubbish!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyEll...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab!”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just back from a long weekend staying here with our family. Excellent accommodation, very clean and tidy. The house is beautiful and the location was great to be able to walk into Arnside. Every chance we will return for another visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redflower...
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house for adults and kids”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just back from staying a week at this beautifully presented house. We were 6 adults and 6 kids under 5. Lots of space and lovely garden for playing / BBQing in. My 2 kids (3&4) had a blast staying in the attic bedroom which had lots of toys for them to play with. Short stroll to Arnside Knott with spectacular views across the bay/countryside. 15 mins walk to pub and tasty pie shop (The Bakehouse) and plenty to do for all in surrounding area - something tells me we may be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at Thornfield, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your time there. Having that fun attic bedroom for the little ones sounds fab - what a treat for them to have a bit of a holiday 'kid zone'! And with the pub and pie shop close by we don't think it could get much better! We certainly hope you return for another stay very very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALSimon19...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful House and adult break, would return in an instant”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

As a group of ten friends who meet up once a year (5 couples and a well behaved dog). We stayed for a long weekend, some the extended week minus kids. We had a brilliant time, the weather was wonderful and we managed to eat alfresco a few times. However even if the weather hadn't have been on our side the house had a wonderfully large dining table which was well used as well as the goldfish bowl sized wine glasses by us ladies.
Tetley, our dog, particularly enjoyed the beautiful garden and chased his ball and the odd peasant around. Non of the couples disagreed about the six bedrooms. With three bathrooms we never waited long. There are great walks in a wonderful part of the world, fablocal pubs and friendly locals. Claire the owner was super helpful before we arrived and the box of books, maps and blue bible was used extensively! As the previous comments made, visitors to Thornfield will not be disappointed, 5 stars all the way and all of us would come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Liked least: Nothingg
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2016
Thank you for sharing this thoroughly lovely review with us all, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your stay at Thornfield. It sounds like the property was a perfect fit for your yearly adults only (plus Tetley!) trip, and the area provided plenty to keep your group entertained - wonderful! We certainly hope that you return for another break very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super House”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

As a group of nine we stayed her for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. The large kitchen and dining room were a big hit , the kitchen is well equipped with decent sized glasses (we had the odd drink) large fridge and ice-maker.
The sitting room has lovely views over the garden and the estuary and is a nice place to relax. The bedrooms and bathrooms were very well appointed. The master bedroom is really impressive. The nearest pub (The Albion) is 0.7 miles away, serves well-kept beer and a good Sunday lunch. Visitors to Thornfield will not be disappointed. Recommended.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2015
Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback with us, we couldn't be happier that you had a great stay at Thornfield! It sounds like all aspects of the property were suited to your group and we just love to hear that! We hope to see you all again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amante1
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A fab place to stay”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We've just returned home after a weekend away at this property, there was ten of us staying in the house and you certainly didn't feel like you were tripping over each other, it was very spacious, lovely decor & great facilities inside and out. The property is perfectly situated on beautiful grounds with lovely landscaped gardens and patio area. It was a wonderful place to stay, it was like a home from home and had everything we needed. Arnside is a quiet village with beautiful walks and scenery which we got to explore due to organising a treasure hunt with Door 2 Door adventures, we would certainly recommend them. We would not hesitate to book this accommodation again and recommend it to friends and family. Good communication with the owner. Anyone staying at this property will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing