We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Hidden Gem!”
other travelers have booked this property
Rock Cottage is chocolate-box cute!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rock Cottage is chocolate-box cute!
Rock Cottage's hand-built wooden kitchen with easy to use range cooker Generous squashy leather sofas with sheepskins, cushions and blankets to snuggle into.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Rock Cottage is chocolate-box cute!
Rock Cottage's hand-built wooden kitchen with easy to use range cooker
Generous squashy leather sofas with sheepskins, cushions and blankets to snuggle into.
Stay connected: unlimited wifi, large HD LCD TV, digital recorder, DVD & films, Hi-fi with iPod dock
Rock Cottage's spacious living-dining room
Every room at Rock Cottage enjoys views into the woods
Murmuration of starlings over Leighton Moss RSPB which is near to Rock Cottage
View of Rock Cottage from the front garden steps
Rock Cottage's modern country style bathroom is squeaky clean - a soak or a shower?
Rock Cottage is in an area with limestone outcrops. Climb the naturally occurring 'Fairy Steps'!
A king size iron bed with comfy mattress and high thread count cotton bedding awaits.
The main bedroom also boasts the same woodland views that all rooms at Rock Cottage enjoy.
Bluebells in the woods near to Rock Cottage in the Arnside-Silverdale AONB at springtime
Little guests love sleeping in Rock Cottage's bunk bedroom
At Rock Cottage's front door
Welcome to Rock Cottage! Will you have tea and biscuits or dive into the vino?
Rock Cottage's original wooden sash windows have been renovated
Rock Cottage is decorated with artwork inspired by its beautiful surroundings
A  sunset walk on the Arnside-Silverdale coastline. Rock Cottage is a short stroll to the coast.
The coastline at nearby Silverdale.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Arnside, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hannah28x
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hidden in the back lane of Storth, Rock Cottage is a picture perfect getaway! Really well equipped, lots of thoughtful touches, the cottage has everything you need! It's incredibly warm and cosy, the log fire is the finishing touch! There's just the two of us and our Dalmatian, we found the size of the cottage to be ideal for us, and would be great for a family with small children! It's perfectly located with plenty of walks on the doorstep. We took the dog to the local pub (The Ship Inn) - everyone was friendly and welcoming. All in all, we had a very relaxing, cosy weekend in the woods! Definitely intend to revisit Rock Cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave D
Alresford
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Lovely cottage, superb location. Very nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and very quiet. Perfect base for Cumbria, Lancashire etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very warm and cosy cottage in a lovely area.”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family consisted of me, my husband and adult son. Unfortunately it was obvious that the maximum guests should be two adults and two young children. The second bedroom had bunkbeds and boxes of toys and children's books. My son who is over 6' found it rather difficult. The website said the cottage would sleep four, but if 4 adults stayed it would be rather awkward, as to get to the bathroom you had to go through the second bedroom!! We loved the cottage, but I think it should be made clear about the number of people staying. Also because of the steep and slippery steps, it would not be suitable for elderly people unsteady on their feet. I just think the website should be made clearer.
Our security deposit is due to be returned to us on the 4th October.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property and the cottage itself
Liked least: The bunkbeds for an adult, and the steep and slippery steps up to the front door.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH A
1 review
“BEUATIFUL COTTAGE IN SUPERB LOCATION”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely cottage with all amenities in a peaceful location. We thoroughly enjoyed our short break COTTAGE WAS IDEAL FOR THE BREAK WITH OUR SMALL DOG.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the locality of the cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apersson1
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful peaceful location”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

So quiet at this lovely cosy cottage - all you hear are the birds (and a very noisy pheasant!), saw a deer on the outcrop opposite, no passing traffic. However just around the corner the benefits of the small village, a pub, walks along the estuary to Arnside ... just the right mix! As the cottage has only recently been refurbished everything is in top condition - an attractive eclectic mix of modern and traditional.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rach8600
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hideaway in wonderful location..”
Reviewed February 19, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot rave about Rock Cottage enough. It is situated in a beautiful village with lots of lovely places to walk straight from the door, with gorgeous places to visit nearby. The cottage was perfect and we very much enjoyed our stay there. I would recommend Rock Cottage to anyone looking for a tranquil retreat. Huckleberry (our Cocker Spaniel) enjoyed the stay too :)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words. It's lovely to hear that you had a great stay as we try hard to make the cottage a comfortable and restful place. I hope we can welcome both you and Huckleberry Hound back to Rock Cottage one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne w
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed December 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Lovely, comfortable and well equipped country cottage in a beautiful woodland location, ideal for walking holidays with or without your four legged friend. Easy access to the lakes and with the weather on our side we managed a lot of miles amongst some beautiful scenery. Would definitly return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing