We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Willowfield

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willowfield
Ranked #2 of 4 Arnside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The owners really know what is meant by customer service. I stay here often when visiting relatives and my partner and I are always given a genuine warm welcome. The breakfasts are also wonderful. Ask for a room at the front because the views across the bay are stunning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
83
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We selected Willowfields on the strength of Trip advisor reviews, the best set of reviews that I have ever read. I booked over the phone and we have just enjoyed a superb 3 night stay at, without any doubt, the best B & B we have ever stayed at.
Spotless room, with every facility one would expect at at 4 star hotel, exceptional choice for breakfast, well stocked honesty bar and superb views of the Kent estuary. (And the weather was exceptional too!?)
The owners were friendly and welcoming, serving tea and biscuits as soon as we arrived and did their best to make our stay memorable.
A good selection of eating places within minutes walk and fine beer too.
We will return!

Room Tip: All front rooms have good views across the estuary. One has large bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLADMAN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
565 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped for one night on the way to the Lake District and were sorry we had not booked for longer! The house is near the end of the Promenade so it is quiet with no traffic. We were promptly offered tea sitting in the front garden. The room faced the beautiful view and really well thought through. The information booklet about the guest house and the area is actually the best we have seen anywhere in the world. Bed was comfy. For breakfast there was a lovely spread: fruit compote, cereals, and huge cooked breakfast if wanted. The price was really reasonable.

On the next corner is a great pub with good food and there are other restaurants in town. There is a train station in walking distance so could easily do this without a car and nice places to walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

View from the window was great! We could listen the sound of the sea. The owner was friendly and helpful. very clean room and we felt comfortable during our stay. There're not many shops and restaurants around the hotel but we enjoyed the walking in the meadow and beautiful scenery. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olinori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Arnside is a very pretty small town and it was a delight to find a welcoming B&B that overlooks the estuary. Secure storage for our tandem and warm rooms to dry clothes make this a great choice for those arriving by their own efforts.

Also important is that it is a short walk to the Albion for excellent food and a pint ( recommend booking a table).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisHesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was a really wonderful place to stay. We had a warm welcome and this continued with great service (e.g. tea/coffee served outside in the garden) there is a lovely guest lounge and then there were wonderful breakfasts, fabulous views - it was all just excellent.

Room Tip: It was well worth booking the room with the view, in our case the twin room on the firdt floor. From...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Posh_Cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hosts who remember kids names each breakfast. Lovely rooms ,communal sitting room with books, working piano and games and delicious breakfasts in conservatory. Will visit again as only downside no evening meals. kids 15, 9 & 6 loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesmondP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnside
2.3 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grange Hotel
Grange Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
#1 of 2 in Milnthorpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willowfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willowfield

Property: The Willowfield
Address: 53 The Promenade, Arnside LA5 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Arnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arnside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willowfield 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run guest house in the quaint village of Arnside. Situated within an Area of Natural Outstanding Beauty. Most of the 11 rooms have spectacular views across the River Kent Estuary towards the magnificent Lake District fells. A combination of Double, Twin & Family rooms, they are all tastefully furnished and comfortable. A relaxing lounge, with an honesty bar, and a superb conservatory dining room. An ideal base for walkers, cyclists (including secure storage) or tourists. We offer private parking for several cars at the rear, where we have our 'Electric Vehicle Charging Point'. A few minutes walk from Arnside train station. A warm welcome and a hearty English breakfast await you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willowfield Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing