We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern take on old-world charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chimay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Adelaide Chimay
Ranked #5 of 6 Chimay B&B and Inns
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A modern take on old-world charm”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The decor is beautifully designed and executed. In some ways very modern, it complements the age of the building and sets off the original features perfectly. Our room was in the tower but not the one at the top - it was so well appointed and the bathroom was exceptional. There are wonderful tiles in the rooms and corridors. Breakfast was very filling with breads, home-made jams and local cheeses, all served in a dining room which still shows off some of the history of the house and reflects the local produce from the brewery of Chimay.
The hotel embarked on a new enterprise on the very night we were there - they opened a brasserie - unfortunately we weren't aware of it in time to book but it looks lovely. The 1st floor conservatory is 'being done up' and will look great when it's completed.
Be cautious if you are searching for it - the Villa Adelaide name appears only on the front door. Look instead for Le Grand Reyve or Les Jeunes Pousses (which I believe is the name of the brasserie).
It is within easy walking distance of the town of Chimay and only a few miles out from the Scourmont Abbey (home to the brewery of Chimay) and to the Auberge Poteaupre which is the Espace Chimay visitor center a mile or so from the brewery.
Which all makes for a lovely hotel in a superb region of southern Belgium.

Room Tip: Some rooms are described as facing the park - they are worth considering. The room which always seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localhero13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

In between booking and our arrival the name outside had changed to Le Grand Reyve which led to a deal of cursing after a fairly unpleasant drive from the Channel Tunnel, much of it in heavy rain. Only after parking the car with some difficulty and walking up to it did we spot a small Villa Adelaide sign. However, a pleasant welcome when we made it.

Our room, Alice, has lots of character but the odd challenge for the older visitor who needs to repair to the facilities during the night. The bathroom is down a couple of steps from the level of the bed which needs to be remembered when half awake. Also, the room has a fridge which comes on from time to time unless, as Matron did, you unplug it, which rather defeats the object!

The bed is very comfortable and the place generally very quiet at night though there was some early morning lorry traffic at the adjacent crossroads.

Breakfast was the best bit, lovely breads, Trappist cheeses and butter, plus homemade or artisan jam.

Would echo views about the staircases and those who are a bit dodgy on their pins. We are pretty robust for our age but needed to take care, especially with the large motorised cooler within which Bund keeps his cleansing ales!

Quite pricey I thought at €120 for the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorrieBund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronse, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lovely hotel, nicely renovated with a wonderful garden. Perfect overnight stop on a 'beer tour' of Chimay and surroundings. Friendly staff and good value! The town of Chimay has a wonderful castle which is a must - the theatre in the castle is a gem.

Room Tip: Try to get the suite in the attic or in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We only stayed one night in charming Villa Adelaide. We stayed in the Anatole and Augustin room which has three beds and 4 total rooms in the suite. There is no elevator so you have to cart your luggage up the very narrow staircases - beware if you have bad knees to ask for a lower floor. The breakfast was friendly with table service but not as elaborate as elsewhere in Belgium/Netherlands. mainly breads and fruits. Parking was included in the rate and easy to access right behind the house. The House is not near the Trappe by any means, but it is very close to the princes castle if you desire to visit the town. There are no taxis so we had to take it easy at the Augerge de Poteaupre because we had to drive home. Our friends stayed in the Alice room which was very cute. It is in the "tower" so to speak with exposed circular beams.

Room Tip: Get the Alice room if you are ok with stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimncris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a lovely small hotel very near the centre of Chimay with a lovely large quiet garden. We stayed in their best tower room and it was lovely room full of character and tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Just one small thing, the room could do with a fan as it was extremely hot weather while we were there and even with the windows open it was very hot at night making it very uncomfortable to sleep a fan would have made all the difference.
The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was good, croissants, pain au chocolat, & fresh bread with a selection of cheeses and jam, fresh orange juice & tea or coffee
I would recommend this hotel to anyone but especially couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prancer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

This was a great find for us. My partner is a huge Chimay beer fan and wanted to visit the Abbey and the Chimay cafe and gift shop so we decided to make a night off it and booked in here. It is a very large house which has 6 boutique bedrooms. It has been refurbished and decorated to a very high standard and is fairly modern while still keeping lots of original features. We stayed in Agathe which was just a standard double but was a brilliant size with a big bed and a huge shower. However, our booking did state that we would have a bath which we didnt but it was not a big problem for us. The young gentleman who works there was extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fairly basic, just continental but enough for a morning snack. thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakey0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Adelaide on our way to visit the Scourmont Abbey, where Chimay beer and cheeses are made. The abbey itself is just outside of town, and their guest-house isn't as nice, so we were fortunate to book Villa Adelaide, in the center of Chimay, closer to amenities, etc.
The nicest thing by far about our trip was the Villa itself. It is magnificently appointed (the interior decorator must've been some kind of genius) and there was a sumptuous, hand-prepared breakfast waiting for us in the morning, whipped up by the hotel proprietor, a kind man.
There were eight of us, however the place would be equally well-suited to a romantic get-away. In fact I'd even recommend it to my mother!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samuel_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paponpiv, Gérant at Villa Adelaide Chimay, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for this great advice. it helps us a lot. we just opened a few month ago and we really want to improve our services.

thank's again and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chimay
11.6 mi away
Chateau de la Motte
Chateau de la Motte
#1 of 1 in Liessies
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chimay B&B
Chimay B&B
#3 of 6 in Chimay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Petit Chapitre Chimay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Aux Gaietes de la Sabotiere
0.0 mi away
Le Grand Reve Hotel
Le Grand Reve Hotel
#2 of 6 in Chimay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Adelaide Chimay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Adelaide Chimay

Property: Villa Adelaide Chimay
Address: Rue de Forges 10, Chimay 6460, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Chimay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chimay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing