We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Janjanbureh
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
30
28
5
0
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
30
28
5
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mark life reviewer culture thrill opportunities privilege
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 70 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Bird Safari Camp belongs to Mark Thompson, owner of the excellent Hidden Gambia travel company. Bird Camp Safari is a haven of peace and tranquility; the perfect place to relax and to catch a glimpse all kinds of bird and animal life. Mark and his staff are very welcoming and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The food is tasty and plentiful and served canteen style. There are boats available to take you on a water safari to see hippos, chimpanzees, red colobus monkeys, pied kingfishers… Bird Safari Camp is the least luxurious of the accommodation available on Hidden Gambia website but this should not put you off. Pleasant and welcoming but five stars it is not. The accommodation is more than satisfactory for a few days up country and for the opportunity to get a feel for the real Gambia. The journey to get here was worth the long but very interesting trip by boat and minibus. We would certainly consider visiting Bird Camp Safari next time we are in the Gambia.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaundersGodalming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

A hidden gem, an insight into the real Gambia where time was able to stand still......

Date of stay: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingnuthereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed at the coast for a couple of nights at the Safari Garden which was fine and did some good birding on the golf course with a good guide picked up at kotu bridge. Our first trip to the Gambia. But the best was yet to come! A great trip up river by boat and a rather overworked van and then another boat trip in the Lady Hippo- Meals laid on. The safari bird camp was great everybody extremely willing and helpful. We chose a round hut which was fine - a hot shower in the evening a suprise! Good birding. good company and we even cooked a couple of meals with the help of the staff over an open fire! We are no youngsters- average age 61 - but did not find the holiday unsuitable. We saw monkeys , hippos and a crocodile up river and dolphins on the way down! Thanks Mark and Hidden Gambia for a very memorable holiday!

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookyLeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

This was our second visit to BSC and it was equally enjoyable and memorable. Well organised, relaxing, great food, excellent staff, but perhaps the best thing about it is the range of free activities on offer - cooking trad style, drumming, bird watching, walking, visiting Janjangbureh - as well as enening entertainment in camp. This is a very special place with a character of its own thanks to Mark and his staff. Try it!

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We really enjoyed our 6 nights at the camp. Especially when you consider how far away you are from the developed areas on the coast the facilities are absolutely fine. We stopped in one of the tents which was comfortable and quite spacious. Best shower in the evening as a morning shower is surprisingly cold and remember to fill the tank in the morning! Mark and all of the staff were very helpful and all of the guests quickly get to know each other and eating together in the evening proved to be a very sociable experience. Arranging our trip primarily through Hidden Gambia was a great choice as despite expecting lots of hitches everything worked out well. When we asked for a change to our plans for the last part of our trip Mark could not have been more helpful and this was soon sorted. The bird guides we met were all very knowledgeable and we certainly saw species we would have missed without them.

Hope to go back in the future.

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FalcoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews