We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
30
28
5
0
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
30
28
5
0
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mark life reviewer culture thrill opportunities privilege
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 70 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Great experience at Bird Safari Camp up river! Fascinating boat trip over the Gambia (hippos!), bird-watching with an experienced guide, friendly visits to neighboring villages, evenings with music and dance, good food, and much rest. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating and there were many hidden perks, such as free internet, free laundry, and guides and kora player included in the price.
This is not a luxury destination, but comfortable enough (yes, I slept very well on the concrete bed in the hut!) to give the lover of nature & wildlife, and of spontaneous encounters with the locals, a wondeful stay in a wonderful spot.

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank groengras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We booked the trip through Hidden Gambia, and were taken by their two boats from the coast to the camp near Janjangbureh. The journey was magical. The bird guide Backs was keen and knowledgeable. We were followed by dolphins, many exotic birds were seen, as were chimps., baboons, hippos, and one crocodile.
There was an overnight stop at Tendaba Camp, a bit run down but by no means desperate. It is worth the stay to experience the boat trip around the mangroves. A must for any nature lover.
The welcome at Bird Safari Camp was greatly appreciated. Our hut was comfortable and afforded us many nights of sound sleep. Best to have ear plugs if you want to avoid the incredible dawn chorus.
We enjoyed many of the free excursions and the ever informative guide kept us up to scratch. We are not bird watchers, but the animal life is so colourful and varied you soon become involved. If you want the sedentary life you are at liberty to just chill out.
The camp staff are extraordinary. Sometimes late, or in need of occasional friendly reminders, but they can never do enough for guests. The fact that they are paid during the wet season, when other places lay off staff, may be something they appreciate. We were more than happy for our holiday to help support over a hundred dependents living in a very poor community.
We hope to return and inspect the never ending improvements.

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We travelled up-river by boat with the Hidden Gambia to stay here. The boat rides were really amazing. Beautiful wildlife and scenery. The location for Bird Safari Camp is similarly beautiful and remote.

BUT there were a lot of elements of the trip which really spoilt it:

1) The levels of hygiene in preparing the food were terrible. Food prepared early in the day and not properly re-heated. Cigarettes dangling over cooking pots. Hand-washing involving cold water and nothing else. Everyone on our trip got food poisoning at various points.

2) The guide, whilst knowledgable about birds, was extremely inappropriate in his behaviour to one woman in our group who was travelling on her own.

3) The rooms were in a really really terrible condition. The other reviews aren't over-exagerrating the experience of the concrete beds and the dribble of water.

This is not to say that there weren't some good things about the camp. The evening musical entertainment was great for example, but it felt very much like the place could be something very very special, but that complacency had let it deteriorate too far.

Date of stay: November 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller789England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Tripadvisor Member
wales
610
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We enjoyed the friendly staff, idyllic location, good food and an away from it all atmosphere. Just what we wanted, a visit to real Africa, and comfortable enough for me, a seventy year old.
The twenty staff are paid throughout the year, and this camp makes a considerable contribution to the local impoverished community.
The infrastructure is being constantly upgraded, a difficult job when almost all items have to be brought up river. An organisation worth using and therefore putting money where it is needed.
If you want to mix with real people in real Africa, this is the place.

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A Tripadvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

For a two week holiday booked with Hidden Gambia at 795 sterling, which includes all excursions by river and road, all accommodation and almost all the food , this has to be the best value holiday of it's kind.

We stayed at at Bird Safari Camp for 6 nights, all the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was plentiful and good, and the location was fantastic. The bird guide, Ebrima, was amazingly well informed and good company.

As with any 'eco' lodge, the accommodation was very basic, and you need to overlook the occasional glitches, like a cold dribble of water from the shower, or a loose basin! If you are expecting chocolates on the pillow, power showers, and air conditioned transport, stay in Europe or pay a fortune.

Oh - the wildlife - I'm not a birdwatcher, but they have to be seen to be believed in this country. We came home totally relaxed and happy. Mike and Kathy

Date of stay: February 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeedmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews