We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem and just what we needed after Sail Croatia - I'll be back!”
Review of Kamena Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kamena Lodge
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My friend and I (two 23 y/o girls from Australia) stayed at Kamena Lodge in July 2010. We loved every minute of our stay and wished we had booked for longer. We'd done a 7 day Sail Croatia tour, then travelled up north, so when we got back to Split all we wanted was a relaxing, homlely and comfortable place to stay - Kamena was all of this plus more.

Glynn and Ann have made this place a real 'home away from home'. They are so friendly, willing to give you great advice on the town and make you feel like you're visiting long lost friends. It was fairly quiet when we were there, but we hear the BBQs and drinks in the courtyard are a really great night.

The pool, kitchen and cosy outdoor area were facilities we didn't come across much in Europe, so it was lovely to be able to make our own breakfast in the morning.

As it's probably obvious from other reviews, Kamena Lodge is not in the main town of Split, but rather about 10 minutes drive up the mountain. Glynn picked us up from the bus station, and there were regular public buses into town so it was no problem at all being a little way out - in fact we enjoyed the peace and quiet, and change of scenery. If I was going back to Split, I would book this place again in a flash, and will reccommend it to all my family and friends planning on visiting Croatia.

Thanks Glynn and Ann - let us know if you come again to Australia :) - Tenille and Kat.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 73 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2010

The best thing I can say about this place is that I found the owners very nice, very welcoming.

But !

At first, it showed on Google map that this hotel was near the harbour that is why we chose this place. We thought price/location ratio was really good. But finally, when we found the place was located about 10 minutes away from the center of Split by car it was a little bit late for us to seek for another place because we were only there for an evening. Bottom line, it cost us the room fees and 80 Kunas per person to get a taxi service from the airport to the lodge. For approximately the same price, we would have chosen a hotel directly in Split.

If you are looking for things to do in the evening, know that there is only one restaurant in the area, nothing else.

Nice little room although when we were there, there was no hot water for the shower in our room. There are no A/C either but sleep was okay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dukejagger88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamenalodge, Owner at Kamena Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2010

Hi Duc. Thank you for your comments but we are little suprised by what you have said. "Too late to seek another place.'" You had already cancelled after I alerted you to the fact that we were out of town and then 2 days later you resumed your booking in your words from an email dated 21st June "I discussed about it with my girlfriend and we'll maintain our reservation" We clearly state on our website that we are out of town. We are sorry that you did not read all the information provided as to where we are located.
There WAS hot water in your room, each room has its own boiler, which in the summer is normally adequete for 2 or more showers. We are sorry this was not enough for you.
Mravince has 2 cafe bars, 2 mini markets a bakery and a restaurant plus Kamena's own hospitality!
Bottom Line......We would love to hear of any hotel in Split that is cheaper than us and provides airport pick for less than 80 Kuna per person!
Regards
Glynn and Ann
Kamena Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Staying with Ann and Glynn was like staying at relatives' summer home (with relatives you like, that is!) They are both lovely and will give you as much or little advice as you want. Breakfast is excellent and only 35 HRK (7 USD). The location in the hills overlooking Split originally made me apprehensive, but their property is nice and the views are gorgeous, and it's nice to get away into the countryside at the end of the day. Glynn makes a trip into Split in the morning around 10am and a trip back in the evening around 5pm to pick up guests, and he will transport you around to other sites for a nominal fee. There's also a bus that runs every 1-2 hours until 10:30pm.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imadethis1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Kamena Lodge was perfect! It is in a village outside of Split, but between Glynn and the excellent bus system, you can access Split as much as you want. We shared the private room with twin beds, so it was nice to be able to have our own space. Kamena is the perfect balance between a hostel and a hotel -- it's cheap and easygoing, but also clean with privacy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Stayed at Kamena Lodge in mid May, and it was nice to be outside the main city for a different glance of what Croatia has to offer. Up in the hills above Split, and tucked away into the hillside, the shared room was nicely presented with a library/sitting room with internet available as well. Glynn and Ann had excellent advice and good conversation, particulalry on expat life and travels. A little convenience shop and a great pizza restaurant close by added to the experience of being part of village life.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaz_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Kamena Lodge. The owners, Ann and Glynn, are very helpful and really made our stay as good as it was. Glynn came to pick us up (free of charge) from the ferry in Split and drove us to Kamena Lodge, which takes about 15 minutes. On arrival our room was ready and wonderfully clean and comfortable. There is a pool at the accommodation, which we didn't use as it was a bit chilly when we were in Split, but it looked lovely.

Ann and Glynn are very knowledgeable about Split and the surrounding area and are happy to suggest excursions if you'd like them to. Whilst we were there Glynn took us and another couple to Krka National Park, which is a stunning place to go and only about 40 minutes from Kamena Lodge by car. It's definitely worth booking excursions with Kamena Lodge as it was much cheaper than the travel agents in Split.

Finally, although Kamena Lodge is not in Split itself, it takes about 20 minutes by bus (Ann and Glynn provided us with a timetable), so we didn't find this a problem. We would recommend this lovely place to stay near Split.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lozzarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

The couple that run this place are really warm and welcoming. They are very friendly and make you feel very much at home. The rooms were nice and the altough it is outside of the city, the little village it's in is lovely. There are buses which connect the village to spilt so it's really not a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kamena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamena Lodge

Address: Don Petra Perosa 20, Mravince 21209, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Mravince
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mravince
Price Range: $54 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamena Lodge is set just outside of the main town of Split. We offer free mini bus service daily. Collection and drop off at Split airport can also be arranged if required for a small fee. The property has recently undergone major refurbishment. Plumbing, electrics, kitchens, bathrooms and bedrooms have all been replaced so you can be assured of a clean, comfortable stay, where nothing is too much trouble and the welcome is always warm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kamena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing