We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamena Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kamena Lodge
2 reviews
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here at the beginning of our island hopping Croatia holiday. There was no better place to start off our holiday, we loved it so much we went back for a couple of nights at the end! Glynn and Ann are so lovely, they make you feel at home as soon as you step through the door. We went and explored split one of the days which is only a short bus ride from kamena. We also went to the krka waterfalls which was amazing! The best thing about this hostel though is you don't have to go anywhere it's so nice to be able to just relax by the pool and go for dinner at the local restaurant - which does the BEST pizza! No bette place to stay in Croatia than kamena lodge!
Thankyou Ann and Glynn! We will be back, Alice and caddy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caddy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
25
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Me and my friend stayed here at the beginning of our island hopping Croatia holiday. There was no better place to start off our holiday, we loved it so much we went back for a couple of nights at the end! Glynn and Ann are so lovely, they make you feel at home as soon as you step through the door. We went and explored split one of the days which is only a short bus ride from kamena. We also went to the krka waterfalls which was amazing! The best thing about this hostel though is you don't have to go anywhere it's so nice to be able to just relax by the pool and go for dinner at the local restaurant - which does the BEST pizza! No bette place to stay in Croatia than kamena lodge!
Thankyou Ann and Glynn! We will be back, Alice and caddy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caddy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Kamena lodge for 3 nights prior to a sailing trip. We were very impressed with the hostel which has all the facilities that you could possibly need. Very pleasant en-suite bedroom and superbly equipped kitchen and eating area not to mention free computer access and off course the pool. The hosts Glynn and Ann were extremely welcoming picking us up from the airport and even allowing us to use their facilities on our last day whilst waiting for our flight and then taking us back to the airport. The village is very quaint with a supermarket, coffee bar, restaurant, bakery and church and also a regular bus into Split. We couldn't have asked for anywhere nicer and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The couple that run this place Ann and Glyn are really warm and welcoming. They are very friendly and make you feel very much at home. The rooms were spotless and we had our own bathroom (with towels provided) and fan for when we got hot. There’s also the added luxury of the pool out the back is which is amazing!

They will, upon request, cook a BBQ or traditional peka meal for 100kn per person (good value for money as it is delicious and there’s plenty of it!!). This is usually accompanied by some night activities in the form of hilarious board games and cards, a great way to socialise.

FREE Wi-Fi, an honesty fridge of cold beers, a book swap, iPod dock in the kitchen/dining area where all at hand. Easy connection to town, if you don't want Glynn to drive you down on set times, just take the bus, super cheap and easy! Added bonus is the laid back village with local bar, bakery and restaurant plus great views (day AND night) of split.

Overall a first class stay which I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8ELM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We chose to stay at Kamena Lodge for our two week holiday as we wanted to be away from the busy centre. It was a good decision, as the weather was so hot, and the pool at Kamena Lodge was a welcome relief! We loved the quiet surroundings with a beautiful mountain backdrop, and a lovely local village location.
Glynn picked us up from the airport, and Ann had kindly turned the twin room into a double room for us. We felt welcome straight away, and they are a lovely, friendly couple. Ann and Glynn have lots of advice and tips on what to see and do, and really work hard to make their guests have a fantastic stay. It is a great place to meet fellow travellers - with BBQ or Peka evenings, followed by a game of cards/darts or board games!
The accommodation is lovely and very clean, nice outdoor seating areas.
There is a nice bakery, small convenience store, café, and fantastic pizzeria in the village - all very close by.
Glynn kindly offers lifts to the bus station which is only a short walk away from Split's attractions, or to the ferry terminal. There is a bus which takes exactly 25 minutes into Split from Kamena Lodge and runs fairly regularly and always on time - remember to take the bus timetable out with you. Or a taxi costs approx 130 Kuna from the centre back to the accommodation.
We highly recommend Kamena Lodge, and thank Ann and Glynn for making our stay an enjoyable and memorable one!

Rachel & Les

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our second time staying with Ann and Glynn, and what fantastic hosts they are .We were here for 5 nights in July, and it was just so relaxing. Glynn became our guide for a trip to Krka National Park and took some super photos for us, and then dropped us off for the white water rafting in Oris with recommendations of where to eat etc. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and whilst there is no air con, remember it is away from the city and higher up and with fans it was just fine. There is a little shop up the road for basic provisions if you want to self cater and a bakery. There's also a good bus service to and from Split (think twice an hour) with the last bus being about 1030pm-after that its a taxi for 130 Kuna. And their pool and outside eating area is such a haven after the busy city of Split. Our daughter and her boyfriend were staying elsewhere in Split and Glynn made sure they knew where to go when he picked us up from the airport and when they joined us on days out, he picked them up on the way-just so helpful. So, have no hesitation-book yourselves in to Kamena Lodge, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms available from a dorm to doubles en suite-all in good positions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayandPeter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Kamena Lodge for three nights, in a double room. It is so much fun to meet other travellers and hear their stories, this is what Kamena is about for me. Playing poker, darts, watching football and BBQ'ing together with other guests and the kind owners Glynn and Ann made it a wonderfull stay for us. Glynn and Ann are more than happy to provide elaborate intell on the surroundings. For us the guesthouse was perfectly situated; only a ten min drive to Split Unesco centre (or 20 min by bus), yet it has the feeling of staying in a small rustic village with a bakery and small supermarket around the corner. This is a place we will surely return someday.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kamena Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamena Lodge

Property: Kamena Lodge
Address: Don Petra Perosa 20, Mravince 21209, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Mravince
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mravince
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamena Lodge is set just outside of the main town of Split. We offer free mini bus service daily. Collection and drop off at Split airport can also be arranged if required for a small fee. The property has recently undergone major refurbishment. Plumbing, electrics, kitchens, bathrooms and bedrooms have all been replaced so you can be assured of a clean, comfortable stay, where nothing is too much trouble and the welcome is always warm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Kamena Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing