We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kamena Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$118
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ark Apartments(Stobrec)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Split(Podstrana)
$159
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eden(Podstrana)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel More(Split)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$540
$196
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
66
5
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet villageperfect hostsother guestskrka waterfallssplit centrewithin walking distanceannpoolhosteldartspizzeriasupermarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 73 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I travel extensively every year and I must say that Kamena Lodge is the best lodging I have ever stayed in. It is a small, very clean, comfortable space. The owners, Ann & Glynn, go out of their way to make each person's experience comfortable and they extend themselves to ensure just that. Kamena Lodge is about 8 kilometers outside of Split's downtown area. There is a daily shuttle that runs you into town at 10am and will pick you up at 5pm. Less than 2 kilometers away is a shopping center with everything you might need, including a spa and fitness center. Upon arrrival to the ferry port, train station, or bus station, you will be picked up free of charge. The same courtesy is extended when you depart.

There is a bus just down the road into Split if you choose to head out for the evening. If you choose to stay in, Ann & Glynn will play cards or games with the guests. If you prefer a quiet night to yourself, that is respected as well. While Kamena Lodge is not in the city center, the pool, the hospitality, and the comfort more than make up for the distance. I received great recommendations from the owners of things to do and see while I was in Croatia. My favorite activity was a day trip to nearby Kirka Park. The scenery was amazing and the cost was half of what it would have been with a local tour operator. I cannot rave enough about Kamena Lodge and I highly recommend it to all travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileensiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Rarely do you find accomodation where you get the feeling that the hosts would pretty much do anything within reason to make your stay an enjoyable one. That's the feeling we got at Kamena Lodge.

We booked here because of a guidebook recommendation. Oddly enough, due to their policies Tripadvisor does not show this establishment as being located in the Split area, despite the fact that the drive from the hotel to the downtown core was around 10 minutes, so we didn't find it on a Tripadvisor search. Some policies just don't make much sense.

In any event, we booked in for the one night we planned to be in Split but wished we could have stayed longer. Really, although the room was comfortable, the pool was nice, and the rate very reasonable the star attractions of this place are the hosts, Glynn and Ann. Not just helpful, but welcoming in a way that you don't often see, such that after our half day of touring Split and arriving back at 10 pm, it seemed the natural thing to do to sit down at their communal outdoor dining area and enjoy drinks with them and several other guests who were staying there, even after we'd only just met and were leaving the next day. (Glynn's presence for several hours was remarkable because he had committed to drive two other guests, sound asleep in their beds, to the airport at 4 am.This seems representative of the extent to which they will go to satisfy their guests needs)

It's a really unique place in many ways-the kitchen is fully available for guests use, so had we not chosen the breakfast service option (a nice spread and good value) we could have made our own in the kitchen. Great for those on a tight budget.

Highly recommended, especially for those who enjoy the social aspect of travel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cannuckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Not ones for generally going anywhere more than once, we returned to Kamena Lodge in May, after 2 years, and were pleasantly surprised Glynn and Ann had made even more improvements to their property and we were welcomed like friends. With the current weakness of the pound, Croatia is is a very affordable place to go and Kemana Lodge offers incredible value for money. With daily free transfers to Split only taking about 10 minutes or so, it is a much better location than the centre of town; benefiting from its' quieter setting. Surprised really that it is not grouped under Split as it would do the place greater justice to be ranked against other accommodations in the popularity index which are in reality the same distance from the town centre. Anyway, certain to go back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteandLizSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Having spent a week on Ciovo Island how to get to Kamena Lodge. No problem for Glyn and Ann ,Glyn came and picked us up. On arrival we were greeted as guests, during our stay we were treated like family, and on leaving (sadly) we felt like we were leaving as friends. A 15 minute bus ride from the centre of Split but no problem, Glyn will run you in. No air conditioning, no problem fans are provided. Want to eat out no problem ,Glyn and Ann will advise you were to go. Want to eat in no problem Glyn and Ann will cook for you, marvelous mussels, brilliant barbecues and an honesty bar and a small swimming pool included. As you can read to these hosts nothing is a problem this place is fabulous and the best value for money place we have ever stayed in. Oh and this is the first time we have ever stayed in a hostel it was wonderful.We hope to be back

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyjwjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed in a private double room for 2 nights in Sept 2010. Room was very nice and clean - great value for money. We were only people there on first night but Ann and Glynn made us very welcome. 3 others arrived the next night and we all stayed for Glynn's homecooked chicken meal. Very tasty! And wine was included in the price! We had a hire car so didn't mind that we weren't in the centre of Split. There is a small convenience store 50m up the road, and a large supermarket a couple of miles away. We didn't get a chance to try out the pool but it looked inviting!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markcanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews