We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home in Magical Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher
Ranked #1 of 3 Nantgaredig B&B and Inns
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Feeling at home in Magical Wales”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We arrived on a rainy afternoon to be welcomed by two charming hosts. We enjoyed a cozy dinner and awoke to beautiful view from our room. The next few days were magical for us as we discovered Wales. What a pleasure to wake up and know we could go downstairs to breakfast (our hosts even ordered in cranberry juice when I asked for it!) and then go out and play all day, coming "home" to a Ty Castell and a lovely dinner. A perfect concept I think. We enjoyed talking with our hosts and I'll tell you - I missed them when we left after our 4 night stay. Every meal was great and our room was very comfortable and quiet with a pretty view. Tea in the beautiful garden was a treat in the late afternoon sunshine. We also enjoyed meeting Billy who was attentive when we ventured outside. I fell in love in several ways - Wales is a very special place. We will definitely be back - We have some special plans in our future and Ty Castell is where I want to return to each year.

Room Tip: We loved our Heron Room. In warm weather, the Kingfisher room would be wonderful with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Your comments and feedback are very welcoming. We enjoyed your company very much too and if it pleases our guests to tailor any requirement the best we can within reason we will. It was great to here the term "Magical Wales" as it really is a wonderful place to visit with so much to see, Merlin would be thankful of your comment ! Join us again sometime as we would love we welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
89
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Best B and B I have ever stayed in. Stunning surroundings lovely hosts.wish I could of stayed longer. I will definitely be back at the earliest opportunity. Nothing was to much trouble, breakfast was superb with a veggie option which was very appreciated.our room had the best view I have ever had from a bed and breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbristol2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments and scores, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return visit. The best B&B ever ! well that's' been our goal over the past ten years or being here ! See you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights over St David's weekend. We received a very warm welcome. The room was very nice and the breakfast was a very good start to the day. Our first night however, was a little disturbed due to heavy severe snoring in the next room! The area was beautiful and we had plenty to do. Carmarthen was a surprise as it was not the quaint little village we expected. We visited Aberglancey a lovely house and on the way home Pendine sands. Apologies for the late review. We highly recommend staying at Ty Castell it is a good base for seeing Wales and our host were very nice people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0uthSea_C0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the great review. There are many surprises in West Wales and it would seem that you had a great time with us. Thank you for your highly recommendation statement even though you had a disturbance on the first night. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ty Castell another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We booked to stay at Ty Castell as we wanted to be near a local restaurant , as long as it was ok we were happy! What a bonus to our weekend , warm welcome , lovely room very very clean ,our room had a balcony over looking the lovely garden and the river , superb breakfast ,reason in its self to go, restaurant was good but Ty Castell made it special , the establishment is run in a very professional way , adding to our enjoyment , we would highly recommend it .

Room Tip: lovely room with balcony over looking the river Towy , and garden , called The Kingfisher room , do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank knittingnanny52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We like to believe that we can add something special to our guests stay with us, thank you. We offer the best four star B&B with evening meals available (by advance order only) in West Wales without the added unnecessary expense others may charge, however our standards are high. We look forward to welcoming you both back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We only stayed for the one night at the end of Jan. Was a LOVELY stay peacefull and relaxing. Hosts were very welcoming and inviting. Already decided to go back for a weekend when the weather warms up to enjoy the scenery and wild life.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Owner at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We look forward to your return and hope to welcome you back to this wonderful part of West Wales. Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you wish to return and that you enjoyed your stay. Hospitality is our priority. Lets hope that the 2014 weather brings us all a kind spring and summer worth sitting on the riverbank for ! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A lovely little Bed and Breakfast in a very quiet area, although still within easy reach of the main A40 into Camarthen. Rooms are very well laid out and there is a guest lounge downstairs which leads into the conservatory where breakfast is served over looking the garden and River Towy. The hosts Paul and Steve are very welcoming and great conversationalists, stopping to ask us about our day, offering advice on places to go, to eat etc.Would definitely recommend for a peaceful stay at a place offering easy reach to many of Wales favourite places.
Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taff4452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Owner at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hospitality is what we do best, as well as make beds, cook breakfast and evening meals, dust now and then, weed the garden and feed the cat plus more (most mums will tell you). It is hard work but very rewarding when you get reviews such as yours, we are very grateful for your kind comments. Happy New Year to all and off we go with 2014, come and see us soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A lovely little Bed and Breakfast in a very quiet area, although still within easy reach of the main A40 into Camarthen. Rooms are very well laid out and there is a guest lounge downstairs which leads into the conservatory where breakfast is served over looking the garden and River Towy. Evening meal is also available although we did not eat there. The hosts Paul and Steve are extremely welcoming and great conversationalists, stopping to ask us about our day, offering advice on places to go, to eat etc. Only 5 minutes drive from the National Botanic Gardens of Wales so ideally situated. Would definitely recommend for a peaceful stay at a place offering easy reach to many of Wales favourite places.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janbomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your informative review, one that will be useful for potential visitors. We welcome your kind comments and do our best to please. Our location is perfect for touring in what you have said is a quiet location on the riverbank but in reach of some of the best places to visit. Happy New Year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantgaredig
4.8 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
449 reviews
5.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
418 reviews
8.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
87 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glangwili Mansion
Glangwili Mansion
#1 of 1 in Llanllawddog
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher

Property: Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher
Address: Ty Castell Station Road, Nantgaredig, Carmarthen SA32 7LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen > Nantgaredig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nantgaredig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Castell (Welsh for Castle House), sits on the door step of the National Botanic Gardens of Wales in the heart of the Carmarthenshire countryside, in a small hamlet village called Nantgaredig just 4 miles from Carmarthen Town. Ideally situated with good road links for cross county explorations of Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and beyond. West Wales boasts rich culture & heritage shaped through major periods in history. Explore narrow gauge railways, castles, caves and much more. With an abundance of activities and attractions all year round and for evening meals try the popular local Y Polyn public house which has two AA rosettes and is featured in the Good Food Guide. Also on the doorstep in walking distance is the recently renovated Railway Inn Country pub serving bar meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing