We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher
Ranked #1 of 3 Nantgaredig B&B and Inns
weston-s-mare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was clean quiet and a great refuge for a weekend . When we opened the curtains the view was excellent with the lovely river and lovely garden. Having been touring in Australia and New zealand the freshly cooked breakfast was super and would certainly recommend Steve and Paul as great hosts. Lyn and Keith.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
It was our pleasure to welcome you to Wales and thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate them. The garden is starting to come together now as the wind and cold air has moved on (for now anyway). The views from the Kingfisher balcony room and the Heron room are improving day by day as the garden comes to life at long last. Thank you for choosing Ty Castell for your stay in Wales. Steve appreciated the breakfast comments - Super ! Hope to see you both again if you are passing this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
89
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Everything we wished for and more! Clean and comfortable room and comfortable bed.
Approachable friendly hosts. Great Breakfast. Good advice on walks and attractions in the area.
Highly recommend this guest house to anyone. from Jim and Trish Mclean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Great news, thank you for your review and your company, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to a return trip? In the mean time stay healthy and don't forget when things get too stressful come back to see us, sit on the riverbank. raise a glass and say good bye to your stresses as it flows down the river Towy as you munch on your tuna baquette !!. Keep an eye out for the otter and kingfisher ! Very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at Ty Castell on a Business Trip. Wasn't sure what to expect and arrived late at night so wasn't aware of the gorgeous location till In opened my curtains the next morning. Steve and Paul were so warm and welcoming the next morning at breakfast. What a surprise to see the amazing view over the river from the Conservatory where Breakfast was served. I didn't want to leave!!
Breakfast was piping hot, well presented, and delicious!! Excellent service. I spent only 45 minutes with them at Breakfast but it was long enough to know I would be returning there with my family for a long weekend where I could explore and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere.
Steve and Paul made me feel like I was a VIP and I am certain that a return trip will not disappoint. I would recommend Ty Castell to anyone, for any trip or purpose. You will be very well looked after and it will exceed your expectations!!

Room Tip: The Kingfisher Room by all accounts is excellent and advised to stay in there next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
It was our pleasure, VIP treatment is the basis of our hospitality and we try our best to ensure our guests feel special, welcome and at home with good company. We look forward to your return trip and hope that we have the opportunity to look after your family, book early though for the Kingfisher room as it is very popular, more so as the weather improves for sitting on the balcony enjoying full sun all day. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Have stayed with Paul and Steve twice in the last month while on business in Carmarthen. The location is peaceful and idyllic overlooking the river and fields. I chose this guest house partly because they provide evening meals - I wasn't disappointed. The food is great, a good choice and well-presented. The charming small restaurant overlooks the gardens and river. I was travelling by myself and they made sure I was properly looked after. The rooms are a good size and well-equipped. They were flexible about breakfast time so I wasn't late for my business meetings. Very good all round.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayceeHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that evening meals was a priority and a success for you. Business travelers are welcome at Ty Castell and we do what we can as far as flexibility is concerned. Your kind words are very encouraging and you came back twice !! You busy business people work very hard but don't forget to stop, relax, unwind and start the day with the best Welsh breakfast in the area (at Ty Castell of course!) Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was our first visit to Paul & Steve's great guest house but I don't think it will be our last. There were 4 of us in our party and we occupied the 'Swan' & Otter' rooms, which represents half of the accommodation as there are just 4 rooms.
The welcome from the boys was warm & friendly with a tea & coffee on arrival in the elegant and comfortable guest lounge. You have the feeling of being part of the 'family' and Paul and Steve join in the friendly banter at meal times.
Breakfast is very good using local produce where possible (great sausages and welsh bacon); the evening meal is ordered in advance so Steve is able to buy in the necessary produce. The menu is adequate not expansive and the food simple rather than exciting, but it is well cooked and more than adequate. The wine list is small but this is understandable for a 4 room guest-house.
The rooms are average size with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and tea, coffee and biscuits provided, although the shower in the 'Swan' room wasn't very powerful and a bit on the cold side.
The guest lounge is a normal house sized room with comfortable seating and modern flat screen TV where guests have complete freedom to do as they please.
The gardens are a credit to the boys and I can imagine when in full bloom must be beautiful and the location on the river bank would be ideal for long summer evenings sipping wine watching the herons swooping down the river.
The overriding impression left is of the friendliness that Paul & Steve convey and I'm sure this is the real reason why people return.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We were very pleased with your kind comments, thank you very much. We feel that over the nine years we have been here that we have got most things right and are now directing some of our time to promote the garden under The National Garden Scheme with view to raising money for cancer charities and others. We look forward to welcoming you all back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked this for my elderly parents (80+) and Paul readily gave advice as to which room would be the best for them since they are not that mobile. My parents returned home singing the praises of their stay. Paul and Steve were extremely welcoming and accomodating, the setting was lovely, the rooms were very clean (and according to my mother tastefully decorated). They were booked in for Bed and Breakfast but had an evening meal (Cottage pie and welsh lamb with fresh local vegatables) on one night which was nice homely food well cooked.
Both parents have expressed a wish to return during the summer when the weather is better so that they can enjoy the scenery, garden and the location a little more. They even wanted my wife and I to visit.
Top marks to Paul and Steve for impressing my mother as that is not an easy task. Thank you

Room Tip: There is a ground floor twin bedded room which is good for elderly or less mobile people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewis_ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased that your mum and dad enjoyed their stay. The ground floor room is popular with our senior guests for the reasons you mentioned but also as all rooms off it such as the lounge and breakfast and dining room is level floored too. We hope you all come back as a group and experience our new menu. It was our pleasure to look after your mum and dad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just arrived home after a fabulous weekend away staying for the third time with Paul and Steve at their great guest house . We found this place by default about four years ago and were so impressed that we returned two years ago with friends to celebrate my 60th birthday . This year it was our 35th wedding anniversary ( Sorry boys didn't mention this ) so where better to celebrate than somewhere that is friendly, clean ,comfortable and with food that many restaurants would find hard to equal . All this at very reasonable 'rates' too. Thank you for your warm hospitality boys . In the last four you have gone from strength to strength . The standard of quality all round remains high . The garden is lovely and although it was our third visit it will not be our last ! Can't praise it enough -go see for yourself -I am confident you will feel the same . Jill & Pete

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and well presented . The Kingfisher room is my favourite as it has a large decke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JILL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Firstly Happy past 35th wedding anniversary, you kept that quiet ! Thank you again for your kind words of support, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and more importantly came back for a third time. That's always good to see. We look forward to welcoming you back for a fourth time ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantgaredig
4.8 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
5.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
8.7 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glangwili Mansion
Glangwili Mansion
#1 of 1 in Llanllawddog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher

Property: Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher
Address: Station Road, Nantgaredig, Carmarthen SA32 7LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen > Nantgaredig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nantgaredig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Castell (Welsh for Castle House), sits on the door step of the National Botanic Gardens of Wales in the heart of the Carmarthenshire countryside, in a small hamlet village called Nantgaredig just 4 miles from Carmarthen Town. Ideally situated with good road links for cross county explorations of Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and beyond. West Wales boasts rich culture & heritage shaped through major periods in history. Explore narrow gauge railways, castles, caves and much more. With an abundance of activities and attractions all year round and for evening meals try the popular local Y Polyn public house which has two AA rosettes and is featured in the Good Food Guide. Also on the doorstep in walking distance is the recently renovated Railway Inn Country pub serving bar meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing