We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a relaxing holiday”
Review of Sina Villa Matilde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sina Villa Matilde
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Romano Canavese
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Our family ( 2 adults and a 11vyears old daughter) spent 5 nights at this hotel. I made the reservation via e-mail, and it was easy and correct, We booked a deluxe a room, and got a nice suite in the main building with 2 rooms and stunning view of the garden and the surrounding area.
The hotel is a large property with main and connecting buildings and a pool, it is close to Romano Canavese's small centre but

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Enaabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 184 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

This pretty 18th C. house is set in its own park in the village of Romano Canavese 35 minutes from Turin. It is an oasis of peace and calm and very attractive. It has a huge drawing room taking up most of the ground floor with french windows out onto a terrace where you can have a drink. The bedrooms are spacious, ours which was a standard room was more like a suite in that it had a seperate sitting room and a large bathroom with both bath and shower. There was a delightful breakfast room which had its original 18th c. painted decoration and a restaurant in the converted stables. There was a small but good menu. Villa Matilde was turned into a hotel in 2004 having previously been a private house and still felt as if it was one, having been very well converted with lots of space to escape and read your book in private! There is a modern swimming pool area with a gym, sauna and conference center and additional bedrooms but given the choice I would definately recommend staying in the main house. It is a good place to explore Turin from and it is lovely to return to an oasis of calm after a day in the city. The only glitches are that the approach is off a rather dreary street and the surrounding village is'nt that exciting. The entrance is'nt very well signed and it is quite hard to find, I recommend google mapping it before you go.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Etta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Relais Villa Matilda for 3 nights, taking advantage of a special rate that gave us the third night free. The room was large, well appointed, with beautiful wood floors and a small stone balcony looking out over the hills. The bathroom was immaculate. The extensive grounds of the hotel as well as the public rooms are also well maintained. We enjoyed the tennis court but the pool, eventhough it was rather cold. And we thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant, although we were disappointed at the room service. We ordered a full meal in the room one night, but the hotel could not find a table to roll inot our room so that we could dine in comfort. Rather than eat on the bed, we ended up having to remove our laptop from the one small desk in the room and use that as a table. For a 4-star hotel, this made no sense and really detracted from our overall impression of the hotel service.
There were some other detractions to this otherwise wonderful property. The most important point is that the hotel is not ideal for visiting Turin, as it is more than a half hour away. And while most of the staff was accommodating and friendly, there were one or two mild exceptions. We went to breakfast about 9:45 a.m. and found all of the meat and cheese already removed and a waitress who wanted to ignore us. She was somewhat perturbed that we wanted breakfast. Nevertheless, we requested and got hot eggs and bacon so all was not lost. Upon leaving, we had another mildly unpleasant experience. The gate to the hotel grounds would not open. After an estimated 15 minutes of desperate attempts, it finally opened, allowing us to rush off to the airport in Turin.
Overall, a nice experience, with some qualifications.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank jdavis11007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Federica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marzia G, Direttore at Sina Villa Matilde, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alberich1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marzia G, Direttore at Sina Villa Matilde, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 36 mycket stort och ljust en trappa upp
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marzia G, Direttore at Sina Villa Matilde, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank s_hoenisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marzia G, Direttore at Sina Villa Matilde, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romano Canavese
4.5 mi away
Villa Soleil
Villa Soleil
#1 of 1 in Colleretto Giacosa
199 reviews
3.4 mi away
Castello di Pavone
Castello di Pavone
#1 of 1 in Pavone Canavese
658 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Gardenia
Hotel Gardenia
#1 of 2 in Romano Canavese
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banchette
117 reviews
5.1 mi away
Villa d'Azeglio
Villa d'Azeglio
#1 of 1 in Albiano d'Ivrea
63 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Villa
Hotel La Villa
#1 of 3 in Ivrea
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Villa Matilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Villa Matilde

Address: Viale Guglielmo Marconi 29, 10090 Romano Canavese, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Romano Canavese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Romano Canavese
Price Range: $140 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sina Villa Matilde 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sina Villa Matilde is an historic villa, a family residence and a jewel in the Piedmont countryside. It still maintains the charm of a bygone era and offers guests welcoming and unique atmosphere. In a splendid position in the Piedmont countryside – a land of great wines and ancient traditions - the entire villa has been preserved as it was over three hundred years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sina Villa Matilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Hotel Romano Canavese
Sina Villa Matilde Italy/Romano Canavese, Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing