We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem!”

Review of DDG Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
251 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Casares, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 251 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Liebsterm...
Toronto-ish
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

At the top of the mountain, in a private cabin overlooking incredibly beautiful views. Outdoor bathtub option - what a luxury! The food and wine were delightful. I could feel the stress just leaving my body as I lay by the pool! Had a great massage too. DDG is a very private, luxurious retreat, just right for an intimate get away with style.
Highly recommend it. The folks there are lovely too.

I'll come back!

Getting there was an adventure --- good thing I got an automatic rental car. Steep climb!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the privacy, sense of peace
Liked least: n/a this time
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynedan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise across the border”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

DDG retreat is simple paradise
The design and layout is magnificent .
I stayed at casa pino
This bangolow cost slightly more , but is so much worth it
The views were amazing , the Hse is also located in a more private area .
The host are really lovely and make your stay feel like your at home,
We had a super relaxed weekend , and will definitely be magnificent there again

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimi7vert
Paris, France
2 reviews
“an idyllic setting to rest”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

DDG Retreat is the essence of the word luxury.
It is the ideal place to relax away from the world.
Each villa has been decorated with a unique taste for mixtures of African, Asian and Russian. cultures. Everything is designed and authentic.
The villa was very quiet, with a beautiful view of the region on our own terrace.
We feeled in complete harmony with nature. Olga and Alex are very caring, the food was excellent. We will definitely return!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: To be quiet in harmony with nature
Liked least: Not being able to have a real cooked dinner on our own terrace
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopkris
1 review
“Breathtaking hotel”
Reviewed May 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderfull vacation at the DDG retreat. Unique location, breathtaking views, beautyfull hotel, good service. A total recomandation for everybody who wants to relax and enjoy peace, rest and quietness. We will certainly go back.

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniellel...
Gibraltar, null, Gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“DDG Retreat”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

If you want a peaceful, tranquil environment for a break - this is it. Family run retreat, warm welcome, beautiful rooms, fantastic private and large pool. The food is excellent cooked by the awesome Olga. Nothing is too much trouble to make your stay a true pleasure. Individual private Casa's set amongst beautiful scenery.

Thank you Daria, Sasha and Olga for our wonderful weekend, just not long enough!

Casares is a white painted Andalucian village in the hills. I highly recommend this gem of a retreat and can't rate it highly enough. Try it and you will agree!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roni L
Roni L
2 reviews
“Amazing getaway, little paradise...”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent 4 nights at the DDG in April. It was a dream we can't wait to relive, complete tranquility without a touristy feel. Unbelievable location and warm hospitality. Thanks!!!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, pool, food
Liked least: no wifi in rooms (I know you want us to relax but also reading/entertainment is on wifi...)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysed123
La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unbelievably romantic retreat”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The DDG retreat is by far the most beautiful and private place that we have ever stayed and it feels even more special because it is a small family run business. The family are very nice and attentive and made sure we had everything we could possibly need or want. We stayed in Casa Bambu which is fantastic. It has a private hot tub on the terrace with the most stunning views of the mountains (and Griffin Vultures!). There was also an outside shower which is completely private and plenty of nice places to relax. Complimentary fresh fruit and refreshments each day is a lovely touch. Right outside of our Casa is the communal pool area, which again has stunning views and the pool is perfect. We also enjoyed the steam room and sauna. If you stay here, you must have dinner at the retreat at least once. Olga is a fantastic cook and the portions are enormous, plus you won't find a more romantic setting. We will definitely be back as soon as possible. Truly an oasis hidden in the mountains!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: No answer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing