We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect destination for honeymooners :)”

Review of DDG Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
249 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Casares, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 249 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Clairebnc
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect destination for honeymooners :)”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Recently, my husband and I celebrated our honeymoon in Spain. We visited many areas and regions in Spain, we spent 2 days in DDG Retreat by the end of September. It was a great experience, though the weather was not that good. We spent two days in the wonderful Casa Bambu, with breathtaking views and eagles flying in the sky. Casa Bambu is very-well equipped and the whole setting is very romantic, with soft music and charming decoration. Many items of the mini-bar were free as well. The greatest thing about Casa Bambu is the Jacuzzi outside, with Cava. We tried to sit in the Jacuzzi at night, under the sky, gazing at the stars. It was a very nice experience, though it was cold. Right next to the Jacuzzi tub, there's a nice outside shower. Casa Bambu is located near the Infinity Pool which is very relaxing.
Olga and Alex welcomed us very well, and we will never forget that the best Paella we have ever tasted was prepared by Olga. We would have wished to stay more than 2 days, far away from the city noise, that's why we hope to go back one day and try the other casas as well. It's a great place where you can dream and feel the magic of love.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil H
Lonodn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sublime relaxation and wonderful hosts in near paradise.”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our own self-imposed rule has been to take care when reliving perfect memories. All too often a return trip can fall short. We broke our rule and thank heavens we did! DDG was every bit as beautiful as last year but felt that much more homely and familiar. The position is exceptional and the views stunning. On some days we were less blessed with the weather but this did not hinder us one bit. We have had a busy year and needed to unwind. There is nowhere quite so blissfully suited to that than in the quiet solitude of our casa looking forward to Olga's magnificent dinners. I am prompted below this box to answer whether I would recommend this holiday to a friend. I would have to say yes, a thousand times yes....but in a very very quiet voice. If the secret gets out we will not be able to break our rule again next year! Thank you all so much x

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and attention to detail. No kids!
Liked least: Arrogant and ill-educated French couple
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisanne...
2 reviews
“Amazing, relaxing and just wow!”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My husband surprised me with a 2 night stay for my birthday, and it was just amazing.
They make u feel welcome and comfortable and it's the perfect location to get away and just relax. Will be back again for sure! Xx
Highly recommened

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcuskil...
Gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The tranquility is awesome”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Do you want peace and quiet? Do you want a private chalet overlooking the beautiful Andalucian countryside (see the photos if you don't believe) ? Do you want to take a dip in an infinity pool or have a quick sauna or steam? Maybe a superb massage or facial? How about a choice of wonderful home cooked food? Maybe just excellent service? How about sitting quietly, reading you favourite novels with only the distant sound of the occasional dog far away in the valley or a solitary eagle soaring in the sky above to interrupt you?

If none of these appeal this is definitely NOT the place for you. If you are sensible, and they do, then look no further.

Date of stay: October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniellel...
Gibraltar, null, Gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Serenely Beautiful”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

If you want a relaxing retreat in lovely surroundings, this is it. Family run, lovely food, peaceful and very comfortable. Highly recommend this retreat will definitely return.

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“perfection does exist”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

this was the second visit to DDG retreat and my expectations were exceeded yet again. it is now my default holiday home and one that can clearly nourish the most cynical and exhausted of people. I have never visited a place where every visitor i spoke to describes the place with such a level of hyperbole that i feel uniquely my assessment is an act of unparreleled understatement. let me state for the record that ddg retreat is the best holiday destination i have ever had and i will return again and soon

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellesol
Cumberland, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at DDG Retreat for a week of our honeymoon and a birthday as well.
It surpassed our expectations for service, sanctuary and divine location with stunning vistas and peace. The DDG retreat and its owners are a hidden gem in Spain.
If you are seeking a romantic getaway off the beaten path with service that is gracious and kind, this is the place. Food is made for you and by request from their menu and it is truly sumptuous. The casas have small kitchenettes in the back for a "self-service" if needed and if you are organized, Olga and staff will ensure your tummy is delighted beyond belief.
Thank you to Olga, Alexi and staff for a most wonderful and memorable stay. We look forward to coming back in the future!!!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location, serenity and service.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing