We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Small Piece Of Heaven nestled in the Spanish...”

Review of DDG Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
249 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Casares, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 249 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
RobbieCro...
Croydon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Small Piece Of Heaven nestled in the Spanish Mountains”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If you have a busy lifestyle , long hours at work , stuck in rut , dont spend much quality time together as a couple then the DDG Retreat is the place for you. Do not look any further just book.

We are fotunate enough to have stayed in many top resorts throughout the world and the DDG retreat is certainly there with the best of them. Without spoiling to much of the experience , from speaking and booking with Daria , immediatly you know that this place is all about you and ensuring you get the personal treatment.

The owners Olga and Alex have opened up there home so you can enjoy what they have created. Think Asia and Morroco and the tranquilty and relaxation of any 5 star Tailand resort this delivers in bundles.

We stayed in Casa Bambu and allthough the most expensive the view alone is worth every penny agaian just book it i promise you will not be dissapointed.

The outdoor Restaurant area is superb and the setting is intermate and romantic. Olga's cooking is highly recomended the ingrediants Fresh and food so tasty.

We tried the Forge restaurant down the road which was equally as good again highly recommend it.

Alex and Olga and 2 of the nicest people we have met on our travells , they are hard working and not greedy ( drinks and food are very well priced ) considering you are so isolated they could charge what they wanted but dont. Everything they do is to ensure you have the best possible experience, this couple are a classy act and there resort is an extension of them.

Dont look any further , i iwould have given 6 stars if possible just book up , relax and enjoy this experience.

Thank you so much team DDG

P.S

The SPA is well worth a visit the lady certainly knows her stuff and again up there with the best ive had.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everythi ng
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarahmc25
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning place to relax and recharge”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The retreat is a fantastic place to truly relax. Our Casa was beautiful and very comfortable. We really appreciated the extra touches to make it special. The fact its really private was great too you could not see anyone else for a few days if you chose not too!
The cooking facilities were perfect although it advertises its not really for making proper meals we managed very well with the electric non stick hot plate thingy and the cord reached outside onto the patio table so we 'barbequed' local fish, shrimps and chicken. We also dined at the local beach bar and restaurant- La Sal which was lovely.
The bed was very comfortable with lovely soft duvet and pillows in fact it was hard to choose which of the many private lounging areas to nap on! We had a lovely day bed outside, a sofa and two lie down deck chairs. As a busy working mum of two small children I haven't lay down in the day for 4 years!!!
The pool was stunning and perfect to cool down in. My sporty hubby made good use of the gym facilities and appreciated the steam and sauna rooms (I forgot my shoes Ha Ha). The drive up to the retreat is not for the faint hearted but lots of fun once you got over the fear of driving over the edge of the mountain! Its worth it for the stunning views. I will return as soon as I am able maybe sooner then I thought as I've just found out they have a villa suitable for taking the children! Perfect!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely and private
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility and how staff really respect guests privacy
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LIZ187510
Gibraltar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Private Luxurius Perfection”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

DDG Retreat is like a dream come true and definitely what the doctor ordered!

The privacy, luxury, location, peace and quiet, ambience, bird life, the casa, the pool, spa.... oh the spa..... the food is delicious, the wine chilled to perfection, the attention to detail is amazing.

I would recommend DDG Retreat to anybody seeking a luxurious peaceful holiday and I challenge you to switch off your phones, IPads and IPods and listen to the silence, it's truly incredible.

Thank you Daria, Olga and all the team. I will be back! :)

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Privacy and Peacefulness
Liked least: Having to Leave : (
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
830robm
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute gorgeous haven for couples”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just come back from one of the most relaxing short breaks of my life. DDG is an absolute dream!!
We stayed in Casa Oliandre which was an amazing split level apartment. 4 poster bed, private plunge pool, terrace with views to the sea and Gibraltar, it was delightful. The casa has been brilliantly designed and decor was well thought out and too many nice touches to list them all, but here's some: coffee machine, robes, fresh juice on arrival, free wifi, the best infinity pool, free DVDs, great music selection, honesty bar etc etc. the time, energy and passion that has gone into this place is clear to see.
The hosts, Olga and Alex are very welcoming, knowledgeable and adaptable to your needs. The casa's are far enough apart so you feel like you're the only ones there!

If you want peace, tranquility, relaxation, fantastic views and with a feeling of being in a far off place (Caribbean / Asia / Africa) while enjoying the closeness of the Costa del Sol, I highly recommend. This is not a place for the usual costa English crowd, this is pure decadence, peace and love.

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing