We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage De Casares
Ranked #3 of 3 Casares B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in August having found the place last summer when we stayed for one night. A very peaceful location with beautiful scenery all around, you feel you are miles from anywhere. To get to the hotel you have to drive up a single track road which does have the odd pot-hole along the way, it is worth the effort when you arrive the staff are very helpful we had a very nice bedroom with balcony, very clean. The breakfasts can get a bit boring but we ate in the evening a couple of times and the food was very good the views from the restaurant are stunning. The lunchtime menu del dia was said to be good. A nice pool which was kept very clean. You could use the hotel as a base to visit Casares only 5 mins away or you can get to the coast in 15mins a bit further but easily done is Ronda or Gibraltar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Very quiet nice and peaceful, small but very nice pool, nice food, excellent service reasonable priced. will go there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite nice, make sure you know how to get there, if you go towards Casares from the south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnBullGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We drive upto Casares and drove here with parents for the menu of the day. Having been last year were the food had been great we hoped it would be as good. We were not disappointed! The menu of the day was 14 euros for 3 courses. Very generous portions that after 2 courses husband and dad both didn't want dessert!! The food was amazing and we had no complaints at all. The view from the terraced restaurant was amazing so much that we could see Gibralter and the glass curtains sheltered the cooler afternoon. 2 visits and will 100% go back on our next visit and recommend to anyone coming to the area. The only very smal downside is the little road up but even my mum who doesn't do those roads overlooked that as the place was so amazing! X

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This hotel is so beautiful that I am worried that writing a good review may mean we have to share it with others ! It is set in a quiet location with amazing views, the rooms are stylish, simple and very well equipped and the staff are attentive and well advised on providing a fantastic service.
This last weekend was my 40th birthday and my friends and I booked 7 rooms in the hotel. We spent the afternoon by the log fire in the bar, and in the evening had fizz and canapes before moving onto the restaurant for a beautifully prepared three course dinner. We were then allowed by prior arrangement to take over the bar area for dancing and general frivolities !
I cannot express just how perfect it all was and would particularly like to thank Ana for organising everything and Alberto, the bar manager for being a fantastic host to us all in the evening. This is a place I will continue to visit and will recommend to my family and friends.

Room Tip: We had a good look at all the rooms and they all looked fab. Our suite was on the other side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights, which went by very fast! The road up to the hotel is challenging as others have said. However, that really is the only issue and you do get used to it! Nice rooms, friendly staff, decent good. The hotel is a couple of kilometres from the village of casares, in the countryside, so to get anywhere else you do need to drive (down that road!). However, you might find yourself spending more time round the hotel - very pleasant pool, nice lounging areas and fantastic views of the mountains. The staff were great. We arrived tired, hungry and really late from Malaga, yet the receptionist managed to rustle up some meats, bread and beer - which she brought to our room. Perfect! Would definately recommend as a nice retreat from the Costas. Also good for touring the area - e.g. Ronda etc. if you are up to the mountain roads - very spectacular.

Room Tip: The rooms are fine for two people, and the ones in the garden offer a very secluded stay. Suites loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gower, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night en route to Gibraltar and then to tour north of Saville area.
From the moment we walked into the Reception area, I knew I had picked the right hotel. You immediately had the feeling of peace and tranquillity.
Our room was in the garden (a suite), it had fabulous views, a large balcony, sitting room, fireplace, nice bathroom and a decent size bedroom with a large bed, which was very comfortable. Room was spotlessly clean.
As we arrived mid day, we had a light lunch and an evening meal at the restaurant. Both meals were good and nicely presented.
We didn't leave the hotel all day as we just enjoyed the views and pure relaxation, ready for our forthcoming busy tour.
To arrive at the hotel, yes, you drive along a concrete road and you do wonder where it's going to take you. But, once at the hotel, you realize it's worth it. After all, you are in the country and can't expect roads of main towns etc.
My advice is, stay in a suite in the garden and enjoy. We will most definitely use this hotel as a first stop in future after flying into Malaga. Next time though, we would stay for a few days and visit the surrounding villages in the mountains.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lighthouse2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We only stayed for one night and encountered just two staff, both a bit lacklustre and disinterested... Fine for a stop off but unlikely to be back. Nice views.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casares
2.1 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
865 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
0.4 mi away
Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casares Del Sol
Casares Del Sol
#3 of 8 in Casares
22 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Terrazas Costa del Sol
3.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Casares
Hotel Rural Casares
#2 of 2 in Casares
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage De Casares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage De Casares

Property: Hermitage De Casares
Address: Lugar Celima s/n | Carretera de Casares MA-8300, Km 10, 29690 Casares, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Casares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Casares
Hotel Class:3 star — Hermitage De Casares 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermitage De Casares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage De Casares Hotel Casares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing