We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome find”
Review of Venta Garcia

Venta Garcia
Ranked #6 of 31 Restaurants in Casares
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Martinique
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A welcome find”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Welcome as it is in the hills away from the sea side crowd but not too far of a drive. The decoration is modern but keeping in the Spanish white village atmosphere. Mid-day menu del dia is 12.50 excellent value for 3 course, evenings not the same price! Simple but good. Service efficient and the boss adds a little lightness,humor and character to the place, which is much appreciated. The outside bar is very pleasant with comfortable seating to enjoy drinks before or after your meal.the Venta is on the road side as most Ventas are but no cars on it. Run by Spanish but has a very international modern desig touch . Love it! There are live musicians some evenings at no extra cost, you just have to book and eat there to appreciate. Must book as very popular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    130
    46
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Made it there at last what a big let down”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have drove past this place
times and this year we made an effort to go. We opted for the lunch special menu as many of the things mentioned were already on the al a carte and I think it gives a restaurant a chance to let you see what they have to offer. One of the waiters recommendations was the pasta salad which had avacado ham and egg through it although the menu given was a generic one makes you wonder how long it would take to rustle one up and photocopy it or have a blackboard with them on it. We had the shellfish soup which was tasty although it had tentacles from langoustines still in it. Pasta salad had no ham in it and was just ok mains of duck was passible sole ok and fried fishes which was all same kind of fish unlike the discription. Waitresses were dressed like they worked in a nursing home and had the manners to match stretching over to put plates on table and whipping plates away without waiting till everyone was finished. The place itself is funky and has a really chill out vibe pity food and service did not match.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Having previously written a very good review I felt compelled to say how disappointed I was on a return visit. For some reason it felt as if I was in a completely different restaurant. The service was inattentive and slow. As for the food.... Oh my goodness. It was awful. Chicken in a champagne sauce consisted of two soggy legs served with school dinner style vegetables. One of our drinks was served in a chipped glass. I had a piece of grilled fish that was swimming in oil, school vegetables again and not even a slice of lemon.
We couldn't wait to get the bill and leave. At least try to serve the bill nicely in a wallet or box. It was just dumped on the table as if I was in a fast food chain!
I am afraid I will not return here due to the hit and miss nature I have experienced. If its a miss, it's an expensive miss. It would be interesting to see if the day of the week ( different chef etc) is a factor? This was a Tuesday night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank higgy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Returned again this year, only to find the menu is even better than before, have visited many times and never disappointed . Fabulous staff and just a wonderful place to spend an evening. Have taken many friends and all can't wait to visit again. Food is of a high standard and fabulous outside bar and seating area to relax in before and after your meal. Looking forward to our return. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niki25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis de Sabinillas, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great lunch time venue”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

An excellent range of dishes is usually available on "Menu del Dia" and the a la carte menu is also interesting. The value for money is really good for the quality and quantity of the menu del dia selection. The staff are friendly and attentive. Everyone who we have taken to Venta Garcia is impressed by the ambience and location. The outside bar is comfortable and a pleasant place to have a drink before going to your table. I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venta Garcia also viewed

Casares, Costa del Sol
Casares, Costa del Sol
 
Casares, Costa del Sol
Casares, Costa del Sol
 
Casares, Costa del Sol
Casares, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Venta Garcia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing