We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed (and still are staying) in this very pleasant hotel. There is not much I can say that is not perfect about the hotel. The staff is very attentive, every detail is well thought of. The rooms are very spacious . One lesser point is that Prices are on the high side for food and drinks.

The only downside we experienced was that when i booked through Expedia (including flights and hotel), I paid extra for a junior suite with seaview. When we got here we got a room with mountainview. I realised only after 2 nights later when I looked at my booking confirmation again that it said seaview and that I paid extra for that. I spoke to the reception and they said they don not even offer that type of room and that it was a mistake of Expedia. They would contact them. But so far I have not heard anything back. That is a shame I find. The few hundred euro paid extra for nothing could have been well used to pay our extensive restaurant bills in the hotel. Nevertheless I can recommened this hotel and will go back to it in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fun-in-life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FincaCortesin, Gerente at Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa as your preferred destination on your last visit to Spain.
We have investigated the source of the problem and unfortunately it was a glitch in between our system and expedia system, therefore the information provided in the website was not completely accurate.
As I mentioned on our last conversation at the resort, I will be delighted to offer you a complimentary upgrade to an Executive Sea Suite on your next visit to the resort.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and I look forward to welcome you back in the near future. I remain at your disposal for any further assistance you may need.

Your sincerely,
Rene Zimmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 476 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent four nights from 3rd - 7th October at Finca Cortesin to celebrate my 60th birthday and I have mixed views. It is lovely when you arrive on the driveway to what is a beautiful Spanish villa and entering the reception area is just perfect. We were shown to our room - a gorgeous suite overlooking the adult only swimming pool. The suite was enormous with a kitchen area, a cloakroom, a large lounge with beautiful furniture and French doors overlooking the pool, a bedroom with 4 poster bed and again French doors onto a terrace and a bathroom with two basins (not next to each other which is a really lovely touch as it gives you space) and a shower area which was just ENORMOUS.

The only down side to this hotel is that it is on a golf course so you obviously get lots of golfers who can take over - especially at breakfast. Arriving at breakfast on our first morning we waited ten minutes to be seated, were then asked if we would like fresh juice and coffee which arrived fairly quickly. We then waited a further 10 minutes and were given a menu. In the meantime an assortment of breads, yoghurts cold meats and cheeses arrived - which we didn`t order or want. About 30 minutes from when we sat down we were then asked what we wanted from the menu. We chose fresh fruit to be followed by scrambled eggs. Our scrambled eggs arrived one hour after our arrival ! It is a lovely touch that everything is delivered to your table, no buffet at all, but the staff just cannot seem to cope. We did mention this to reception and during the morning the waiter from breakfast apologised to us for the lack of service saying that `they were busy`.

Our following breakfasts were much better, but we did get a bit tired of the same things arriving on our table that we didn't want.

Another downside is that the small outside restaurant (for breakfast and evening dinner) is tight into a corner of the patio area and appears to be a walkway to other parts of the hotel.

We didn't get to visit the beach club as we were told that we would have to get a taxi ! We did consider walking but were put off this as the road is very busy with no footpath.

A lovely long weekend away - but just not sure if I would go back.

Room Tip: We had a suite on level one overlooking the adults pool - excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EastSussex80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Where do I begin with this one?
From the moment you arrive in the courtyard followed by the warm welcome you receive from the staff you will understand your about to have a great time and experience at this Hotel. Our room was excellent very well decorated; the house keeping service was very efficient. Our balcony had a great view over the gardens which were beautifully manicured. Lunch by the pool was fantastic in fairness I am struggling to find fault. The Beach Club is a 5 minute Shuttle away a great location, plenty space and good atmosphere. All the staff we engaged with were very friendly and attentive. Golf Driving Range and Golf Course. I’m not a fan of Hillside ranges but the facility was well appointed with plenty balls and gave you the opportunity to loosen up before heading to the course. The Golf Course itself is exceptional a great test of anyone’s ability with plenty tee choices to suit everyone’s ability. For a 5 Star Hotel pricing was as you would expect a little on the generous side to the hotels advantage. If you want something special and wish to be pampered, Finca Cortesin will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in september and I did not want to leave. The hotel had the most tranquil atmosphere, with beautiful surrounding gardens. The rooms were stunning and extremely luxurious, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. The staff were friendly and attentive and yet not intrusive. The only downside being, it was on the expensive side particularly for drinks, having said that, you get what you pay for and I would highly recommend a stay if looking for true five star accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cfraserdevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolute paradise and has everything perfected down to the smallest touches.
The food is exceptional with all of the waiting staff being very attentive. We were given pashminas in the evening to wear at dinner time, our bags were placed off the floor on boxes and there were lovely entrees and dessert tasters with our meal. Drinks in the bar come with lovely bowls of olives and baked crisp snacks.
The rooms are absolutely Devine and feature many different designs which look wonderful and cater for everyone.
The spa is out of this world with all guests being able to have bottles of water and fruit along with flip flops, fluffy dressing gowns, body lotions and shampoos etc.
There is a fantastic snow room, plunge pool, sauna, steam room and a fabulous indoor pool which is very Grecian.
The outdoor pool along with the grounds are beautiful. There is an adult only pool with lovely cosy side loungers for couples and family wanting a private space and the main pool has comfortable loungers. The setting is truly fantastic with a mountain over looking the pool side in the distance. Staff are only too happy to help and even brought us out English papers to read and we were even given ice shots to cool us down.
The poolside restaurant is lovely and has a good selection of seafood.
There are lovely archways and rose gardens within the grounds which make the perfect viewing on an evening walk.
There are lovely candles, lanterns and bouquets of flowers all around the hotel which are a lovely touch.
I can't praise the staff and the facilities enough - absolutely fantastic!
I would highly recommend a visit to this hotel and would say its the best hotel in Europe I have stayed in. Luxury on another level!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carly182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We visited the Finca Cortesin Beach Club on a Tuesday, arriving at about 11a.m. when it was virtually empty. It filled up later but was still not at all crowded. It was very comfortable and of high quality, as it should be at a price of 55 Euros for adults and 18 euros for children for non-residents of the hotel. Our young daughter loved the soft sand that had been imported from the Atlantic beaches and also loved the swimming pool which was unheated and too cold for my wife and oldest daughter. The food was pricey but good and the service was impeccable. Worth doing for a special occasion of if you just want to splash out one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Addicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This part of Andalucia may on average be rather too busy for most peoples' liking if in search of a truly luxurious retreat, but Finca Cortesin is well worth a visit. Superb location in the hills away from the madding crowd just one hour's drive in the Gibraltar direction from Malaga. The property built in 2008 has had vast amounts of money invested to create a wonderful Colonial style building with palm tree filled courtyards and wonderful tiled and mosaic floors. Restaurant choice is great and food deserving of the high praise given by critics. Staff are absolutely top notch. Attention to detail all 100%. Big swimming pools....there are three outdoors and one indoor including the one at their privately owned beach- club just 5 minutes away. So if you have struck a line through Costa Del Sol, have a second think and give this one a go for a 5 day break or longer.

Room Tip: There are bigger suites facing the sea which are the best choice and king size beds very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casares
2.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
11 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
19.5 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#9 of 70 in Marbella
1,436 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Casares
Hotel Rural Casares
#2 of 2 in Casares
21 reviews
12.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: Carretera de Casares, s/n, 29690 Casares, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Casares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Price Range: $534 - $1,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Spanish Costa del Sol between Marbella and Sotogrande, overlooking the warm Mediterranean there is a place where nature gently vanishes into the deep blue sea. A private community that offers members a personal sanctuary in an environment not found anywhere else. For those seeking an emotional connection to where they live this is arguably the last great property available by the Mediterranean. This impressive resort is located in one of the most peaceful and upcoming areas of the Mediterranean coast in the municipality of the picturesque village of Casares, just 1.500m from the beach and within easy access, by motorway, to the international airports of Málaga and Gibraltar. Set on a 215-hectare estate, 150 of which is designated green belt area, the development centres around 5 extensive areas: Hotel, Golf, Spa and Sports Club, Beach Club and Residential Area. Hotel Finca Cortesin is designed to enchant every one of the senses. The hotel's fresh but grand design is inspired by traditional Andalusian architecture and gives every area a big, bright and luxuriously spacious feel that is so rare in Europe. Built around two principle courtyards with palatial proportions, the hotel has 67 large, luminous and exquisitely designed suites with lofty 4m high ceilings ranging from 50 to 200m². With 23.000 m2 of manicured gardens, luxurious spa, 3 pools, tennis and paddle courts, impressive 6.000 m2 beach club, exquisite cuisine and an ambiance of tranquility, elegance and refinement, it is a destination that invites you to return. Come discover why Finca Cortesin has been named the 'Best National Resort' in the country by Conde Nast Traveller magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf Hotel Casares
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing