We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real 5 star, finally!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A real 5 star, finally!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This resort is amazing, everything is perfect, from the furniture, to the service, the food, the spa, the room etc.
A real 5 star with the kindness and the high service required.
The golf course is the best I've played in in my entire life. Well done, wish you all the success you deserve!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAnn111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    37
    9
    5
    9
See reviews for
82
206
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My friends described this hotel as a ghost town and I see that another reviewer thought it creepy.. Personally I like the feeling that I'm the only guest around and the sense of peace and space was wonderfully tranquil- you could hear the birdsong rather than your fellow guests . I'm not a golfer, but I needn't have worried as the staff made me feel very welcome. The breakfast deserves a rating all on its own. I'm now converted to whipped yogurt and the truffle-scented ham was delicious. I had a room in the Moroccan courtyard on the ground floor, Room 11, i think, which had a private terrace and a view over a hedge of mountain peaks. I loved the spacious bedroom and the bathroom, great shower, separate from the bath. Penhaligons toiletries, scented with Blenheim Bouquet. At 6 Euros, the room service pot of tea came with delicious home made biscuits. I look forward to returning - it's a little retreat from the outside world.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tixall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The tour I was on somehow got conned into booking the group into this hotel. We were told that the hotel was busy and that reservations would be necessary for the restaurants. However, it did not appear busy and was, in fact, so empty that it was downright creepy. When I tried to use their adaptor plug to charge my laptop, I was rewarded with a shower of sparks and a slight electrical shock. The place is isolated so that anyone with a tour group is left with no other options than go with the group, even if the activities are not something in which you are interested. I ended up leaving after one night and returning to Madrid a day early. I have no interest in ever returning to this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KyRose5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FincaCortesin, Director General at Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments and feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your short stay. Our maintenance department has checked again all electrical installations in your suite to ensure that we do not have any further incidents. The rest or your group did apparently enjoyed our resort and after the request of the organizers we are looking forward to welcoming them back next year. Kind regards,
René Zimmer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We love this "FINCA CORTESIN" and everything about it. Last night we dined at "EL JARDIN" and the experience was extraordinary..the food was superb and the baby roasted monk fish with garlic, chilli and olive oil was perhaps the best piece of fish my wife and I have had anywhere in the world in the last 5+ years. Superb service, great wine list and tremendous value for money. Everything at "FINCA CORTESIN" juts gets better & better...it's an incredible place !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dspencerstripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A great experience all around at the Finca Cortesin hotel. Suites facing the sea boast a private terrace with small pool, a real luxury. We loved the high ceilings and the completely renovated bathrooms. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are great, especially those with a terrace and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OliveFromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Finca Cortesin Hotel is certainly one of a kind, a place for special occasions for sure.

Having travelled up from Gibraltar, I wanted to find a quite private location which offered views of the Atmosphere Ambience, away from the hustle and bustle of lots of tourists and holiday makers. This was just the place.

On arrival being greeted by smiling faces so friendly and helpful was a real treat in its self.

The atmosphere and ambience surrounded by this superb golf course makes it a place my wife and I will always enjoy going back to for sure.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the side elevation with views of Andalusia Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronda
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Probably the best hotel close to the coast in southern Spain. The food was top notch and I couldn't find fault with my room. The hotel is a triumph of both design and décor.
An expensive treat but worth every euro - wish I could afford to stay more often.

Room Tip: No need to book a suite...the doubles are spoiling enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuillermoIngles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casares
2.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
17.9 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
19.5 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
12.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
3.2 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#8 of 36 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carretera de Casares, s/n, 29690 Casares, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Casares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Spanish Costa del Sol between Marbella and Sotogrande, overlooking the warm Mediterranean there is a place where nature gently vanishes into the deep blue sea. A private community that offers members a personal sanctuary in an environment not found anywhere else. For those seeking an emotional connection to where they live this is arguably the last great property available by the Mediterranean. This impressive resort is located in one of the most peaceful and upcoming areas of the Mediterranean coast in the municipality of the picturesque village of Casares, just 1.500m from the beach and within easy access, by motorway, to the international airports of Málaga and Gibraltar. Set on a 215-hectare estate, 150 of which is designated green belt area, the development centres around 5 extensive areas: Hotel, Golf, Spa and Sports Club, Beach Club and Residential Area. Hotel Finca Cortesin is designed to enchant every one of the senses. The hotel's fresh but grand design is inspired by traditional Andalusian architecture and gives every area a big, bright and luxuriously spacious feel that is so rare in Europe. Built around two principle courtyards with palatial proportions, the hotel has 67 large, luminous and exquisitely designed suites with lofty 4m high ceilings ranging from 50 to 200m². With 23.000 m2 of manicured gardens, luxurious spa, 3 pools, tennis and paddle courts, impressive 6.000 m2 beach club, exquisite cuisine and an ambiance of tranquility, elegance and refinement, it is a destination that invites you to return. Come discover why Finca Cortesin has been named the 'Best National Resort' in the country by Conde Nast Traveller magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf Hotel Casares
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing