We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Alet!”
Review of Les Marguerites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Marguerites
Certificate of Excellence
Fayence, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Alet!”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

A chance comment brought us to this charming little medival town, steeped in history and nestling by the river Aude high in Haute Vallée as a centre for our excursion into historic Languedoc but the real result was finding Les Marguerites where Antoinette and Keith Fairhurst made sure we had a beautiful base to return to each evening.

Relaxing in their wooded gardens and savouring Antoinette's varied and thoughtfully prepared menus, shared both "alfresco and en famille" under the massive Wellingtonia tree, was an escape from reality in its own right. As one of our fellow guests commented, "It's a good job the bedrooms are so comfortable and inviting or we might just sit here sampling these local wines all night!"

I travel to every corner of France for me work and thought I'd experienced it all, I now think I might have done!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callumg303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
90
112
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2010

A beautiful house in a beautiful village. We had a huge bedroom with great bedding, a great bathroom, really great hosts - what more could we have wanted?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruelonguepaziols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We loved our long weekend at Les Marguerites. The house is amazing, the rooms are gorgeous, and the beds are ridicolously comfy (it cost us £230 on our return as we just had to buy a feather duvet to try to match the one at Les Marguerites!) The service is fantastic, they cannot do enough for you. We have gorgeous memories of sitting in the beautiful garden, eating yet another of Antoinette's fabulous meals.
Alet le Bains is a really pretty little village and we had a wonderful day in Carcassonne which is about half an hour/40 minutes away. We can't wait to return for an away from it all, totally relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Arrive in Alet-Les-Bains over the ancient bridge and absorb the scene: the fast-flowing River Aude, the surrounding wooded hills which are nearly mountains, the quiet, the cleanliness of the air. Further in, the village feels old in a peaceful way; the villagers offer smiles, or conversation, the atmosphere is unhurried. At the far end of the village Les Marguerites stands in a tumbling garden with car parking, alfresco dining, a veg. patch and toys amongst the flowers, shrubs and trees. Inside is the warmest of greetings; nothing is too much trouble, every request is promptly attended to. This is a happy house, full of life when all the children are at home, but offering a private sitting room for guests with free wi-fi. The bedrooms are large, new, clean and cool, the beds very comfortable. The meals are flexible and delicious. You will like this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2010

My husband and I discovered Les Marguerites in Alet les Bains after watching ‘Build a New Life in the Country’ on Channel 5 and booked several nights there as part of our touring holiday. It was an absolute delight to discover this wonderful, painstakingly restored property situated in the pretty, peaceful old spa town of Alet les Bains little changed over time. Well located for the Pyrenees, Cathar Castle trail, vineyards and many tourist sites yet still easy to get off the beaten track.

The welcome we received from Antoinette and Keith was warm and friendly with nothing being too much trouble. The house has really come to life after decades of neglect and has a wonderful atmosphere. Our room was spacious, beautifully furnished with big, big windows that when opened seemed like the outside was inside. Beautiful views of the village one side and the yellow broom covered hills on the other.

On our last evening we had aperitifs in the village at La Buvette, a walled tranquil garden haven of repute and not far from the house – a relief to aching limbs after a long hike. This was followed by a first rate home cooked cordon bleu evening meal taken with our hosts at the house and served in the wonderful garden. It was a truly memorable ending to our last day as we relaxed, ate well and enjoyed the warm and genial company of Keith and Antoinette.

I just loved it and it was a wonderful tonic to end our holiday on. It is absolutely a place to return to.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenfordyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We recently had the pleasure of spending a night at Les marguerites. We were greeted with a warm welcome by our hosts Antoinette and Keith, a lovely young couple who have spent the past year lovingly restoring this beautiful guesthouse to it's former glory. The guestrooms are tasteful, spacious and spotlessly clean. Les Marguerites is an elegant guesthouse situated in a quaint village outside Limoux.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stkenny20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We have recently returned from a short break in the Languedoc region and stayed at Les Marguerites in Alet les Bains. Our English hosts Keith and Antoinette could not have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Les Marguerites is a newly renovated Chambre d'hote which we discovered after watching Channel 5s 'Build a New Life in the Country'. The house has been lovingly restored and we were impressed by the size of rooms, the high ceilings and all the original features. Our bedroom was tastefully decorated and the bed was supremely comfortable, and our bathroom contained a big deep bath and a separate powerful shower.
We took our breakfast in the big family kitchen and rather gorged ourselves on the delicious French bread and pastries which Antoinette bought fresh each morning. Antoinette also supplied us with a delicious dinner each evening which we generally ate outside in the garden.
We really appreciated the warm, friendly atmosphere and would definitely recommend this as the perfect place to stay. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BROSE20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alet les Bains
3.4 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
0.2 mi away
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
#1 of 1 in Alet les Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
9.1 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
13.9 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Marguerites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Marguerites

Property: Les Marguerites
Address: 57 avenue Nicolas Pavillon, 11580 Alet les Bains, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Alet les Bains
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alet les Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Languedoc, in the medieval village of Alet Les Bains, we offer you all year round luxury bed and breakfast accommodation with the choice of evening meals. Surrounded by tree lined mountains this idyllic rural setting is an ideal base to unwind and savour the many delights of France! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Marguerites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Marguerites Hotel Alet Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing